Google+

Sniper Elite V2 review

AT A GLANCE
  • Every gory, detailed kill
  • Customizable difficulty
  • The satisfaction of being a good ghost
  • Feels unpolished in some points
  • Some checkpoint scarcity at times
  • The game, if you play it like a Gears-style shooter

However, even if you do find the right personal balance, it’s always not the most polished game. Even though it’s not meant to be a Gears of War-style shooter, popping in and out of cover (even with the rifle) felt cumbersome and our reticule didn’t often appear where we’d have expected. And even on the higher difficulties, AI could be exploited fairly easily, as you could silently headshot a queue of guards, each obliviously investigating a growing pile of corpses until you were eventually unopposed. In another instance, an editor took down a sleeping guard, then ended up backtracking through the same section five minutes later and encountered... a respawned sleeping guard. There’s some wonkiness at play here, though the core experience is solid, as long as you approach it, again, as a slow-burning, stealth-centric game.


Above: Spotting enemies with your binoculars beforehand ensures you remember their location

Aside from the campaign and single-player survival mode, there are four different online two-player co-op games. Having an ally with your through the single-player campaign changes everything, allowing for that true-to-life pairing of a spotter and shooter sniping team. It’s also fun to mow down any enemies trying to flank your friend’s sniper perch.

Kill Tally is essentially survival mode, where you attempt to entrench yourself as you fight off waves of baddies. We did experience some problematic enemy spawning here, but nonetheless, picking off foot soldiers as they funnel through doorways or booby-trapping roads and turrets was a fun way to mix things up. Bombing Run forces you and your partner to gather parts from the battlefield in order to repair your escape vehicle before your location is (further) reduced to rubble. An interesting concept, but the uneven enemy presence and sheer legwork required made this mode daunting, confusing, and even boring at times.



Above: You didn’t think one x-ray death screen was enough for this review, did you?


What really stood out was the fourth and final mode, Overwatch. Here, one players is the designated sniper unable to move from his nest, and the other player is on the ground, spotting enemies and sprinting to objectives. Since all of these multiplayer modes are so heavily dependent on cooperation, you develop a camaraderie with your teammate far beyond what you’d find in most multiplayer shooters.

Sniper Elite V2 is a prime example of how a streamlined take on a singular gaming concept can result in something great, even if it’s got a bit of clunk to it. The delivery of competent and enthralling gameplay was effective enough that the weaknesses we found were hardly roadblocks to enjoyment. It’s a gory title that’ll surprise you if you give it a shot. We still haven’t seen all the ways a bullet can kill a man yet, and we might just keep on playing until we do.

More Info

Release date: Sep 27 2012 - PC
May 01 2012 - Xbox 360
May 02 2012 - PS3 (US)
Available Platforms: PC, Wii U, Xbox 360, PS3
Genre: Shooter
Published by: 505 Games
Developed by: Rebellion Studios
ESRB Rating:
Mature: Blood and Gore, Intense Violence, Language

18 comments

  • Ichigo_Paris_Kurosaki - January 1, 2014 12:28 a.m.

    I kept seeing the game in gamestop ive looked at it, turnd away, looked at it again and said naw lol i wish i would have picked it up when i had the chance but i got MH3U instead wich is an awsome game so im not to disappointed
  • talleyXIV - June 14, 2012 10:03 p.m.

    Don't call me CoD fanboy but this game would be much better as an FPS. It would really help with the clunkiness and overall heavy feeling of the game. I really like it though. Good rent
  • Balaska - May 4, 2012 12:21 a.m.

    This pretty much my perfect game, loved the first one, played the demo to death, had it on pre-order for a while now, just off to pick it up :D :D :D. Weekend wasted, Girlfriend annoyed, better buy her a present...
  • SpiritTemple - May 4, 2012 2:05 a.m.

    That's the spirit ^_^
  • BaraChat - May 2, 2012 4:49 p.m.

    The gore is a big turn-off for me. I mean, I don't care about blood and the usual "violent" stuff. But to make breaking bones and organs in slow-mo one of your selling points (à la Mortal Kombat reboot)? That's crossing the line. Other than that, the game looks pretty cool/fun to play.
  • ObliqueZombie - May 2, 2012 5:08 p.m.

    But that's exactly what happens, so it's not entirely unnecessary or "too far."
  • Shadow Of Death - May 2, 2012 6:31 p.m.

    You can turn that off if it really bothers you, you know? Actually you can increase or decrease the frequency that happens. I have it on default and it happens most of the time when I get a kill (particularly headshots).
  • RedHarlow - May 2, 2012 6:51 p.m.

    Nothing wrong with a little anatomy and wound ballistics lesson.
  • patbateman17 - May 3, 2012 6:06 a.m.

    Sorry a sniping game offends your delicate sensibilities. I think there are a few Kinectimals games out there that would suit you better? Seriously, don't be such a puss. The ballistics and the damage are "realistic" (of course some exaggerations I'm sure) - so what's the problem? Don't play a sniper game if you don't like it.
  • lazer59882 - May 3, 2012 10:16 a.m.

    don't be such an asshole. maybe that'd help.
  • patbateman17 - May 3, 2012 12:13 p.m.

    Lazer, don't just stare at it, EAT it.
  • IceBlueKirby - May 2, 2012 4:24 p.m.

    I didn't think I had any reason to check out this game until I bothered reading the review. I'll have to play the demo, but it sounds like it would be a cool game to play, and it seems to offer something quite a bit different from most shooters.
  • KingDjango - May 2, 2012 3:24 p.m.

    You'll also love shooting Hitler in his one testicle ((capcha onproo Baldwin~One time I headbutted a T-Rex and it combusted))
  • patbateman17 - May 2, 2012 3:27 p.m.

    Not if you didn't pre-order :( Damn! Also - does it really show just one??
  • BladedFalcon - May 2, 2012 7:06 p.m.

    It might be a reference to the "Hitler has only got one ball" song. XD
  • DictatorStan - May 12, 2012 2:56 p.m.

    Nope! Fun fact: Hitler and Napoleon each had only one testicle! -The More You Know
  • patbateman17 - May 2, 2012 2:42 p.m.

    God I've been waiting for GR's review of this game. Most of the other reviews have been pretty shitty, but I just feel like GR captures what I like a little better than other sites do (Castlevania:LoS being the only miss on my end). The demo is fun as could be and seems like it could get stale, but ultimately was enjoyable enough to replay again and again just for the killshots and xray cams. It's about time to play a game just because it's fun...that's also why I bought Rayman Origins :)
  • smcgarvey - May 2, 2012 3:16 p.m.

    I played some of it, too. I liken it to a great B-movie that punches above its weight. There's definitely some clunk to it (wonky AI, doesn't handle great outside of sniping, so you're screwed, Splinter Cell-style, if you're caught), but it's really, really fun.

Showing 1-18 of 18 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000