Google+

Super Smash Bros. for Wii U review

Back to Article

146 comments

  • GOD - April 8, 2014 10:55 p.m.

    I was gonna buy both versions inevitabley... so I guess it's good that they aren't coming out at the same time? I just really want it now.... Also, I do find it a little odd that they'd be putting out the WiiU version second, when that would seem to be the version that Nintendo as a company would want to get out first. What I really like though, is that unlike other games, this isn't a console version and a handheld port. They're making sure that each one is quality product with its own strengths and uhhhhhhh am I still not playing it yet?!
  • Vonter - April 8, 2014 10:26 p.m.

    I've just noticed Sheik took Snake's grenades and his Nikita missile launcher got turned into the Steel Diver gun.
  • shawksta - April 8, 2014 9 p.m.

    Guys, its 6, 6 newcomers, not 5, and you forgot little mac in the picture
  • shawksta - April 8, 2014 8:27 p.m.

    There was one point in the direct that really touched me I almost cried it was during smash run the enemies, there were KREMLINGS YES NINTENDO STILL REMEMBERS THE KREMLINGS AND K. ROOL IS HE POSSIBLY A CHARACTER!? AM I DELLUSIONAL? YES I AM BUT I DONT CARE, THIS HYPE AND TOMMOROW IS THE FULGORE UPDATE FOR KI MY DAY CANT GET ANY BETTER
  • Jason Fanelli - April 8, 2014 6:44 p.m.

    Lots of fantastic info today, but I think there's still a ton left to find out about. Hell, Greninja's gameplay showed a stage that looked like the Elite Four castle from Pokemon X and Y, and that wasn't on either stage list not twenty minutes earlier. What excites me the most is that the roster is now 29 characters deep, and we still haven't seen Captain Falcon, Wario, Falco, or Ganondorf, who are sorta shoo-ins, right? Makes me wonder what NEW combatants are waiting in the wings...
  • Chris_Danger_Donahue - April 8, 2014 6:21 p.m.

    I enjoyed this more than any e3. Bring on Mewtwo!
  • homestar99 - April 8, 2014 6:02 p.m.

    Every game that gets popular has all the cutscenes on the internet. Saying that there won't be a story 'cos of something that happens with anything popular is just being a pussy. Hey asshole, you know gameplay is on the internet too. Are you gonna just stop making the games then? I know this is kind of childish but so is removing a story mode for something bound to happen.
  • winner2 - April 8, 2014 5:19 p.m.

    Greninja should be pretty cool. Charizard, dunno. Hmm. I was seriously expecting them not to announce anything release related.
  • J-Fid - April 8, 2014 5:31 p.m.

    You can rest easy, the Riot Train will not depart tonight.
  • BladedFalcon - April 8, 2014 4:17 p.m.

    OSHIT GRENINJA IT'S HIS OWN PLAYABLE CHARACTER! :DDDDDD *SQUEEE!* And the 3DS version (The onyl version I care about and plan to buy) is coming this summer??? FUCK YEAH. Weidly enough, it feels as if this Nintendo Direct was made for me ^^ Even if it'll probably make a ton of nintendrones pissed and buthurt :P
  • J-Fid - April 8, 2014 4:23 p.m.

    As a Nintendrone (is that rude to call myself?) the only thing that bothers me is that I have to wait 8 more months for the Wii U version. I'm glad that the 3DS version is coming out earlier, but that's still a long wait. A minor complaint really, and it depends on when in the summer the 3DS version comes out.
  • BladedFalcon - April 8, 2014 4:30 p.m.

    I guess you could see this as them focusing on one first, and then the other, so both products are of quality and standing on their own, and if nothing else, the Wii U version coming later probably means it'll have more time to be properly polished and worked on, so it's not all bad. But I mean, you always seem to be fairly chill, even as a Nintendo fan, I was talking about those who will inevitably see this as bad news because it means they won't have Smash Bross as their defense card for the Wii U until way later :P
  • J-Fid - April 8, 2014 4:37 p.m.

    For your first paragraph, that's exactly how I see it. It's just a matter of patience with Smash Bros. No surprise really, we've all been through this before. For your second paragraph, I just found humor in your term. I know I'm not one of them, but the last thing I enjoy seeing is such a divide among Nintendo fans. I feel there needs to be unity, not senseless arguing. So, maybe I am one of them. But yeah, the Wii U doesn't have enough games. As an owner, I can say that first hand.
  • Vonter - April 8, 2014 7:18 p.m.

    I'm happy when non fans also give thumbs up to Nintendo. And yeah at least I suppose it is smart being constant with the system that's making them money. Also I wonder why they'll add to the Wii U version to top the 3DS one aside from graphics. (Especially since it has been hammered we can expect the 3DS version to have all characters). Also I wanted to read your reaction to the newcomer, glad you're happy since I don't really know what that Pokemon do, are those aqua shurikens one of his moves? Also brilliant putting a final destination version of each stage, no more looping the same tiring main theme song all the time, and also a better alternative than turning off hazards, since in hindsight some of them make the stages work.
  • BladedFalcon - April 8, 2014 7:39 p.m.

    Greninja is fantastic, and yeah, those aqua shruikens are actually his very own signature move, no other pokemon has that move but him. Indeed, all of those changes are pretty damn fantastic. I loved SMB Melee for the GC, but even being the "tightest" SMB so far, it still had a lot random shit going on taht got in my damn nerves. Don't forget though, best news of all? Tripping is fucking GONE
  • Vonter - April 8, 2014 8:58 p.m.

    Well that was one of the first things that was stated to be gone from this version. I suppose you don't play with items but I saw a glimpse of the blue shell on the Direct. Some old habits die hard.
  • BladedFalcon - April 8, 2014 10:53 p.m.

    I can play with items just fine if it's just for fun, but when you're playing for keeps or to show true skill, they definitely get in the way.
  • shawksta - April 8, 2014 8:23 p.m.

    Pissed and butthurt about what? Smash is Smash, Wii U or 3DS Seriously though that game mode, Smash Run exclusive for the 3DS? Sounds really fun and maybe we can all go a few rounds since Sakurai's words imply it has online.
  • BladedFalcon - April 8, 2014 10:50 p.m.

    At the fact that the Wii U version got delayed so far back into the year, suggesting that it might be a little barren between Mario Kart 8 and Smash Bross itself...
  • shawksta - April 8, 2014 11:36 p.m.

    Sucks? Yeah, big time as far as the Wii U is concerned, but Mario Kart is a long term game and even then, E3 is like 2 weeks after Mario Kart 8's release, and there's still a ton of games we need release dates for. Then again for all we know %75 of them will probably be pushed back till 2015 (we all know Zelda will, with Hyrule Warriors being the substitution). But still, Nintendo has been really scarce with their announcements given 2013 was filled with Directs every month.

Showing 81-100 of 146 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: Nov 21 2014 - Wii U (US)
Available Platforms: Wii U
Genre: Fighting
Published by: Nintendo
Developed by: Namco Bandai
Franchise: Super Smash Bros
ESRB Rating:
Rating Pending