Google+

Super Smash Bros. for Wii U review

Back to Article

140 comments

  • _--_ - November 24, 2014 7:30 p.m.

    --well --all the reviews are in(FINALLY) --either --1. EVERYBODY was paid off by nintendo --2.EVERYBODY is a nintendo/smash bros fanboy --or --3. Nintendo made 1 good game --like --seriously.. --what's wiiU's next game gonna be?(like not just a good game ~but a game period) --zelda 2017? --this game will sell a few wiiUs(around 2.6 million(extra) TOPS) --but at this point PS4 is selling around a half a million units a week --with xb1 trailing right behind --wiiU? around 45,000 units a week --whats this one game gonna do for wiiU sales? --well --my point is --lets compare 'what' this ONE game will do for wiiU(wiiU's ONLY FUCKING GAME) --to --'what' the dozens(if not hundreds) of games that are coming to the other consoles and PC~are gonna do for those gaming stations
  • shawksta - November 24, 2014 7:54 p.m.

    Tropical Freeze exists, Mario Kart 8 exists, Bayonetta 2 exists, Captain Toad is about to exist. The games from last year exist. Dont you think your overexaggerating? The Wii U's library is more than enough on its own, especially the amount of high quality well received games and the upcoming. Sales wise Smash is a big seller, if anything maybe going back on top of Xbone, but that's it, and honestly it doesnt need much. You seem too obsessed with sales buddy.
  • _--_ - November 24, 2014 8:06 p.m.

    @shawk --what's the point of making sure your games are great --if no one ever buys them?
  • shawksta - November 24, 2014 9:34 p.m.

    That's marketing's job
  • _--_ - November 24, 2014 10:50 p.m.

    --its the same company shawk --they are 'one' (nintendo) --and Bayonetta 2 has sold a miserable 340,000 copies(since release) --it is the highest rated game of 2014!(do you know how sad that is?) --and its sold less in a few weeks than ps4 or xb1 sales a week in console units alone
  • WadeSlade - November 25, 2014 7:34 a.m.

    Couldn't it be argued then that it's the consumer's fault for not wanting to buy these highly rated games? Nintendo has produced more than enough incredible games to justify the purchase of a Wii U yet people still rush out to buy Xbox Ones and Master Chief Collection even though a major component of that game is broken
  • _--_ - November 25, 2014 8:37 a.m.

    @Wade --the reason no one is buying a wiiU --is COMPLETELY nintendo's fault alone(not the consumer???) --nintendo doesnt make what the people want(with home consoles) --period
  • WadeSlade - November 25, 2014 8:52 a.m.

    So people want ANOTHER system just like the One or the PS4? If Nintendo didn't make systems then we'd have PCs and 3 vastly inferior home consoles with nothing to differentiate the 3 of them from one another. I personally don't want that
  • _--_ - November 25, 2014 10:26 a.m.

    @wade --people buy what they want --nobody buys wiiU --so --nobody wants what nintendo is pushing on wiiU --its simple --capitalism 101
  • BaraChat - November 25, 2014 9:03 a.m.

    I don't think that's exactly the case. I mean, Nintendo makes exactly what I want in terms of Zelda/Mario/other-Nintendo-franchises. But they kinda lost touch with large portions of the gaming community with that silly name (seriously, Wii U) and poor marketing. The stink of the Wii being labeled as "casual" and also NOT having countless high-selling third party games didn't help either. People's minds were made up before the Wii U even launched. It still has the two highest-rated games of the year (except for remakes) and both are exclusives. It also has the best exclusive line-up this generation. Will it help sales? I sadly don't think so.
  • _--_ - November 25, 2014 10:27 a.m.

    @bara "...But they(nintendo) kinda lost touch with large portions of the gaming community... --thats kind of an understatement there --ha --dont you think --and --it didnt start with wiiU --it started way back at the end of 4th gen
  • Mastanvx - November 25, 2014 10 a.m.

    There's no arguing the quality of the games on Wii U, unfortunately the average "consumer" nowadays just wants the same cookie cutter annualized FPS. I'm personally glad Nintendo doesn't just give us the same crap as the other consoles.
  • shawksta - November 25, 2014 10:17 p.m.

    It happens, Platinum games are never known for selling big, they are company that gets paid first, then develop a game. In fact, its been 4 years, FOUR YEARS, since the original Bayonetta and its collective score for Multiplat only barely reached a million. Regardless, its big games like Smash that need to push sales. If anything it will keep the numbers atleast above Xbone. Smash is already reported to outselling Mario Kart 8, so who knows how long this will continue and how much Wii U sales boost itll give.
  • _--_ - November 25, 2014 11:04 p.m.

    @shawk --smash will sell a few wiius(I predict 2.6 million gamers will buy a wiiu because of smash) --but ps4 is selling a half a million consoles a week --and --those numbers won't slow until well into january --there is NO DOUBT smash will do wiiu justice --but --the console has no other games announced ANYTIME soon --while multiplats are LITTERING the landscape for months(multiplats that will almost all exclusively bypass wiiu)
  • shawksta - November 26, 2014 5:46 p.m.

    Zelda U, Kirby's Rainbow Curse, Mario Maker, Star Fox U, Yoshi's Wooly World, Splatoon...
  • _--_ - November 26, 2014 7:42 p.m.

    @shawk --NONE of those games are ANYWHERE near being released --except splatoon --you really think splatoon is gonna 'carry' wiiU for the first quarter of 2015?(probably the first half)
  • Mastanvx - November 25, 2014 9:56 a.m.

    Wind Waker HD, Super Mario 3D World, Mario Kart 8, Bayonetta 2,The Wonderful 101, and Pikmin 3 would all like a word with you sir.
  • _--_ - November 25, 2014 10:35 a.m.

    --i own every single wiiU exclusive there is(even the stupid shit) --im a nintendo collector --nintendo has only dropped a few 'real' games this year --the rest of the consoles have had DOZENS of glorious releases --youre missing my point --my point is --nintendo doesnt 'get' enough games onto the wiiU --for it to compete --the bottom line is --wiiU is HIGHLY inferior to its 8th gen counterparts --and thats just sad --because --all they really needed --was a slightly stronger machine(with a lil less weirdness~the controller 'trips up' developers~they should have made a solid 'loophole' for developers to port to wiiU 'avoiding' the screened controller(if thats what the developer wanted to do) --for multiplats --and then add the games nintendo has dropped --instead? --wiiU looks like a 7th gen console --that only has 4 games for 2014(and you can argue all you want~but you know that statement is the reality)
  • Fro4show - November 27, 2014 3:28 p.m.

    What is even on the PS4/Xbone that's worth playing? Things that are not on PC, that is. Other than Destiny, I honestly honestly can't think of anything ^^; To me its looking like the only things worth owning beyond a PC are WiiU and 3DS. I still play my Wii most of anything with project m modded brawl, so that so far has been my greatest gaming investment even though I own everything that isn't new-gen.
  • _--_ - November 27, 2014 3:37 p.m.

    --yeah --this isnt a conversation about opinions --im talking about whats 'selling' --xb1 and ps4 are on course to sell a half a million consoles a week for a coupla months(with no exclusives 'pushing' these sales) --and wiiU is on course to sell 75-125,000 a week(for about a month or so~with its biggest exclusive of it's life cycle bringing those numbers up orm about 45,000) --as far as PC? --there is no 'PC' --you just buy parts and build your own --which is why most gamers use consoles --sure --sure --blurt out your generic typical PC elitism jargon right here____________blahblah___________etcetc__________blah --to feel better about the fact --that you paid 600-2000$ for an overpowered console --that has better graphic resolutions(jargon jargon blah blah ~everyones buying consoles at the moment)
  • 123trouble - November 29, 2014 12:27 a.m.

    Dude chill. People like different games than you apparently. There is no need for you to go through the comments and just argue with every single person. You don't like Nintendo, cool. nice opinion. Just let everyone else have their opinions too.
  • GOD - November 24, 2014 7:28 p.m.

    I bought my GC controller adapter the night it came out and picked in store pick up. Apparently this was a good idea because they ran out of stock really fast and everyone else was trying to order them to no avail. It definitely feels better than the 3DS version, although when I'm not using the GC controller it is kind of annoying that I constantly have to reselect my custom controller setup and can't make it the default for all gametypes. Also since I can't pick a custom controller profile for challenges because there isn't a character select, I basically have to play them with a GC controller. Not a huge problem, but it means that unlike other games that I would just play on the gamepad, I need to play this on my TV so I can use my GC controller. Also online feels much more stable than it was on 3DS. Strangely classic mode difficulty levels feel easier on the WiiU version, but level 9 CPUs in regular smash mode seem stronger. Perhaps this is to make the overall game harder, but make it easier for people to get to the exclusive to WiiU Master Core level at difficulty 8.0 and up.
  • Shyplay - December 2, 2014 11:02 a.m.

    If by Challenges you mean Event mode, select an event and instead of pushing +, push Y. It opens a menu in the bottom left that lets you choose your name, allowing you to customize your controls. Without the menu open, it blends into the background, so It's easy to miss.
  • Jackonomics2.0 - November 24, 2014 7:09 p.m.

    Holy shit An actual game this month that isn't plagued by bugs and rushed out the door like garbage
  • Mastanvx - November 25, 2014 10:01 a.m.

    That's most Nintendo games for ya, they actually CARE about the quality of their work.
  • winner2 - November 24, 2014 6:39 p.m.

    Amiibos not actually adding anything No fuckin' shit guys, like who actually gives a damn about the amiibos anyway

Showing 21-40 of 140 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: Nov 21 2014 - Wii U (US)
Available Platforms: Wii U
Genre: Fighting
Published by: Nintendo
Developed by: Namco Bandai
Franchise: Super Smash Bros
ESRB Rating:
Rating Pending