Google+

Singularity review

Great
AT A GLANCE
  • Manipulating time is awesome
  • Plenty of terrific weapons
  • Great boss fights
  • Shooting often feels iffy
  • Archaic health system
  • Dated and uneven visuals

From the get go, Singularity has widely been portrayed as a low-rent BioShock, but after a few hours of play, its true inspiration becomes more readily apparent: Half-Life 2. While your female buddy is admittedly no Alyx Vance, the TMD knocks Gordon Freeman’s gravity gun into a cocked hat. Better still, it’s only one facet of this game’s extraordinary arsenal.

Singularity’s narrative is sub-BioShock, hokey sci-fi fare. You’re heroic US Air Force pilot Nate Renko, trapped on the Ruski isle of Katorga-12 – home to all manner of nefarious experiments with the element E99. When a brutal dictator pokes his nose in, things go a bit Island of Dr Moreau, a devastating time-continuum cock-up occurs and the 50s Cold War timeline gets royally messed up. Cue sole responsibility for manipulating time and saving the world falling on Renko.

The manipulation involves a combo of basic puzzling mostly involving using the TMD to rewind time and restore rusty gear, though look out for massive alterations and dazzling shootouts. We’d need ten pages to detail them all, but whether you’re aging a Russian trooper so his skeleton crumbles, devolving him into a blind savage who turns on his comrades, creating a temporal field bubble and pumping the frozen foes within it full of lead before watching the bubble disappear and them explode, or simply gorily gibbing nearby baddies with a burst of temporal energy, the blasting is fresh, exciting, dynamic, and never afraid to mix things up.

So what if the shooting’s often spongy, the health system frustratingly archaic and the visuals dated and uneven? Terrific weapons, powers and boss scraps mean the good times come thick and fast with this cult classic.

Jul 6, 2010

More Info

Release date: Jun 29 2010 - Xbox 360, PS3, PC (US)
Jun 25 2010 - Xbox 360, PS3, PC (UK)
Available Platforms: Xbox 360, PS3, PC
Genre: Shooter
Published by: Activision
Developed by: Raven Software
ESRB Rating:
Mature: Blood and Gore, Intense Violence, Strong Language
PEGI Rating:
18+

24 comments

  • insidiousFox - September 6, 2011 10:25 a.m.

    Came here to say, I got this game a month or 2 ago for $15 and it was a steal. This isn't perfect, but it is great fun and hugely underrated. Within the first couple hours, I was clearly seeing/feeling the BioShock and Half-life 1 & 2 influences, so it's cool this review specifically mentioned them as well. I also felt a strong influence from LOST, even before there is a subtle reference to it in a level in the middle of the game (which also has a not-so-subtle nod to Metroid hidden in the same level), and then an easter egg directly referencing LOST in one of the final levels. The gameplay is fun and varied, but the entire thing starts to feel a bit rushed toward the end, and there could have been a few more battles to let you play with your gradually evolving weaponry and skills. On each playthrough, I was already so powered up by the last few levels, that it was not even a remote challenge, and there is really no final boss battle to speak of. The final encounter is devoid of action and is anticlimactic in that sense. Upon beating it on Normal and seeing 2 endings, I immediately replayed it on Hard to catch all plot-specific time-travel elements that hit me at the end of the game. It is a clever story, but at the same time, I feel that a lot more could have been done with it. That said, the game has 3 endings in total, and a nice after-credits sequence, all of which add a very cool recursive element to the theme of time-travel and to the nature of simply replaying the game multiple times. In short, this is a very fun game that has some flaws, but definitely deserved more attention than it got.
  • insidiousFox - September 6, 2011 10:44 a.m.

    I forgot to mention in my mini-review: The weapons in this game are extremely fun, even the "standard" FPS stuff like the shotgun and assault rifle have a good, solid feel to them, not to mention you can upgrade each weapon in your inventory multiple times. That said, I always found myself falling back on the maxed-out assault rifle as my do-it-all gun. There are a few standout weapons though which make use of the time-manipulation theme and really separate this from most other FPS's. The sniper rifle is actually useful in situations other than typical long-range sniping stuff, because instead of simply holding your breath to steady your aim, as in Call of Duty, you slow time down and can actually aim more precisely. The Seeker rifle is awesome, giddy-laugh-inducing fun, it also slows time and gives you direct control of each individual bullet, as you fly it around the level. The Time Manipulation Device you wear on your hand is also super powerful on its own, offering multiple ways to directly kill enemies, or to supplement your guns, and the controls are easy and quickly become second-nature. On top of weapon and TMD skill upgrades, you also collect a form of currency during the game that can be used to buy perks for yourself like extra health, extra TMD energy, better aim, and more. The weapons, multiple upgrades, and the story, all give this game enough fun to play it at least twice. Again, this game isn't perfect, but it has enough charm and unique, fun elements to separate it from the pack. I was a few hours into Dead Space 2 when I got bored of it and frustrated with a particular level, and Singularity was more than enough to make me forget about that. It is easily worth the current $15 asking price.
  • Busiertblan - July 15, 2011 1:42 a.m.

    I am stuck in a place in the Game, called "Go To The Docks" this is where you are on the train and it is stoped by a big type monster thing, you have to defeat this monster who is on the flat car of the train you are on, I have tryed to defeat this monster about a 100 times with no luck.has any body got any comments on this part of the game?
  • insidiousFox - September 6, 2011 10:10 a.m.

    Assuming you haven't beaten this yet... I just finished the game the other day. How are you having problems with this boss? You just shoot all the glowing orange spots on its body as they appear, and shoot his glowing orange mouth when it tries to charge at you. I found the best weapons for this to be the Valkyrie and the Autocannon, but the Spike Shot is great too if you have good aim, and I guess the sniper rifle could work well also. After you take it down, there is something else you have to do, but it is pretty straightforward...
  • majormoses117 - April 25, 2011 11:21 p.m.

    BUY THIS GAME! seriously I got it new yesterday for 20 bucks! loving it so far.
  • Misterscaryface - September 25, 2010 11:01 p.m.

    Shortest game review ever for an 8? wow. Thought you guys would have had a bit more than 250 words to write about this game. Kinda disappointed.
  • stormofdantess - July 18, 2010 6:07 p.m.

    Any positive feedback for the my favorite game of 2010 is good. But I really especially like the multiplayer. It's fun, a lot of fun. Creatures versus Soldiers is an awesome, crazy, unbalanced in a good way, fun time. And the campaign is really good, and is challenging on the hard difficulty.
  • Hobogonigal - July 15, 2010 4:22 p.m.

    sorry, nadrewod999 already said what the health was like.
  • Hobogonigal - July 15, 2010 4:21 p.m.

    I thought this game was going to be brill after reading a preview somewhere. I guess its not as great as expected then... Maybe I'll give it a play when it comes down in price. Review was a bit too short, what do you mean by archaic health system?
  • HonestGuy - July 8, 2010 4:56 p.m.

    GAMERS PLAY WITH TIME FIRST, ASK HOW "UGLY" VISUALS ARE LATER...BUY!!! i think that wouldn't be a problem now since most i've read care less about graphics. :)
  • nadrewod999 - July 8, 2010 4:15 a.m.

    This game has a health system kind of like ODST: the devs wanted the player to explore the world they created, so they used a health-pack system. Also, the unmentioned multiplayer is kind of like L$D2's Versus mode, where it is humans with TMDs versus hideous creatures created by exposure to E99.
  • Samael - July 8, 2010 2:35 a.m.

    I was already intending to try out this game, but if I wasn't, this review wouldn't have helped at all. Way, WAY too short. I was really hoping this would be in-house and Houghton would review it. Oh well *in Brettbot voice*.
  • GangsterJew92 - July 8, 2010 12:04 a.m.

    I'll definitely rent this game
  • JamesT - July 7, 2010 11:24 p.m.

    No offense but this review is terrible. It lists pros and cons but doesn't give examples or even explain what the hell the terms mean. Seriously, can anyone tell me what an archaic health system is? Health pickups? When you write a review you're supposed to try to give the reader a bit more to go on; otherwise its kind of useless.
  • rainbowbrite - July 7, 2010 7:53 p.m.

    I thought this game was great. I had a great time with the time manipulation and found the story to be intriguing enough to keep my attention. It did remind me a lot of Bio Shock and sometimes had a Dead Space feel to it. I also enjoyed some of the unique weapons. I liked shooting at enemies from a distance away and then directing the bullet at them or into a barrel. Also it was nice that the games auto save areas were spread out pretty well so when I did die I didn't have to start very far back. My biggest complaints would be that the game was short. Some of the coolest guns had to be dropped in order to use your normal weapons. Also I was bugged that Russia appears to be just like America only the people speak with a slight accent and occasional use small Russian letters on English signs and letters.
  • Palitroke - July 7, 2010 7:50 p.m.

    @ImAliveOMG.....I kind of agree with with the review being short and not enough in depth but that's as far as I go, Fuck Gamespot! and if they are doing so good in your opinion wtf are you doing coming back to GamesRadar? fuck off and make an educated critique or complaint or take your filth back to Shitespot. You can prove a point and be educated at the same time, on top of that you might be taken more seriously, with your piss poor english and your not so well founded comments all you sound like is an ASS!
  • frmonth - July 7, 2010 6:39 p.m.

    Gamesradar DONT WRITE THESE REVIEWS, the only in house reviews they do are the super reviews (with the exception of the Green Day: Rock Band review. Look at the top of the review where it says the authors name and you will see that it has been imported from another Future publication. (In this case Gamesmaster)
  • Gahmah - July 7, 2010 6:29 p.m.

    Good boss fights in an FPS has me intrigued certainly.
  • Darthspud - July 7, 2010 6:28 p.m.

    @ImAliveOMG I'd like to see you try.
  • CH3BURASHKA - July 7, 2010 5:32 p.m.

    I'll give it a shot when I have nothing else on my plate. It'll probably be cheaper by then, too.

Showing 1-20 of 24 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.