NCSoft and AreaNet are hard at work on Guild Wars 2, which is shaping up to be one of the most anticipated MMO launches in the near future, but just because they're busy with the sequel doesn't mean they're done giving the original Guild Wars love. On the contrary, they're still coming out with regular updates to the popular game, which has been lauded since its launch for providing a full MMO experience without a monthly fee. The latest is the Winds of Change trilogy, which bridges the storyline between Guild Wars and Guild Wars 2. Today, the second installment has been released, and is free to download for all Guild Wars players.

The update adds 11 new quests and additional hidden scenes, helping to flesh out the game’s lore with missions involving the Jade Brotherhood and the Am Fah facing off with the Ministry. There are also a number of new respawn zones to choose from, including the Bukdek Byway, Shadow’s Passage, Shenzun Tunnels, The Undercity, and the Sunjiang District. This new content, when mixed with the 17 new quests from the first installment, makes for the “largest combined free content update for the Guild Wars franchise to date,” according to NCSoft – not too shabby for a game that has been out for over five years.  

You can check out a full gallery of screenshots below, which show off some of the new areas and characters you’ll be encountering in part two.

Sep 29, 2011


MMO update

1 comment

  • NanoElite666 - September 29, 2011 10:46 p.m.

    Damn, still gotta get off my lazy ass and get started on the Winds of Change stuff in the first place. It's great that they're fleshing out the transitional story stuff with free updates like this and War in Kryta.

Showing 1-1 of 1 comment

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000