Google+

Saints Row: The Third review

Astonishing
Back to Article

94 comments

  • suicidali - November 11, 2011 12:12 p.m.

    10/10? Fuuuuu... I had a lot of fun with SR2 (Never actually completed the story), so I was gonna buy this anyway, but... Perfect? Hot damn. And to anyone complaining it doesn't deserve it: Creativity. Something your average "Modern Battle Shooty Kill 7" severely lacks.
  • IceBlueKirby - November 11, 2011 11:45 a.m.

    Ye gods I want this game, RIGHT NOW. I kept playing SR2 for years after I finished the story just because it was so much fun, so I imagine I'll be playing this game right up until the next SR game comes out.
  • XanderGC - November 11, 2011 11:44 a.m.

    I rather liked reading this review, SR won my heart and SR2 was a great improvement over the first so I'm happy to hear that the gameplay wasn't lost in all the wackiness.
  • SunnyvaleTrash - November 11, 2011 11:37 a.m.

    Never played any of the previous SR games, but this review has me curious about this installment. Maybe it'll be a Spring 2012 purchase when things are bit a slower. Great review, Grimm!
  • FoxdenRacing - November 11, 2011 11:01 a.m.

    GTA -Serious +(Exaggeration * 11)? Sold. Sadly, this will be a used purchase, as I still refuse to support the insipidly stupid "Online Pass" BS. I've already e-mailed Volition to ask if there's any other way I could show my support, and THQ to explain exactly why I'm not purchasing. Hopefully I can do something for Volition, and hopefully THQ listens.
  • spencertucksen - November 11, 2011 6:15 p.m.

    THQ doesn't 1/8th of a shit about one consumer. Lol, They don't even give a shit about entire consumer-bases.
  • kenshinelz - November 11, 2011 10:15 a.m.

    GR officially lost it. Giving this piece of shit a better score than Gears 3, Uncharted 3 and Skyward Sword is unbelievable, mind blowing; my brain simply can’t process this bizarre situation.
  • Zeokroe - November 11, 2011 10:26 a.m.

    Funny story, it's based upon the opinion of the reviewer, and from what it sounds like he had so much fun that he felt the game deserved the score. I'm sorry you disagree, but please, don't make a fool of yourself.
  • kenshinelz - November 11, 2011 10:37 a.m.

    Sorry, but the guy who wrote this review seems to have had so much fun with the game that he forgot to be partial about everything else. The game looks like crap, especially compared to other games released this fall Even GTAIV a game from four years old looks better. I guess my initial comment was a little bit harsh but I highly doubt that this game deserves a 10
  • Zeokroe - November 11, 2011 10:47 a.m.

    That's fair; I definitely respect that. I LOVED Saints Row 2, and so I am excited for this game. Do I think 10 is high? Yeah, I do; I could see a 9, but at the same time, I could definitely see how this doesn't appeal to a ton of people. I can't play GTA games because they take themselves too seriously. I don't want to feel like I'm actually stealing a car; I want to play a game where it's just stupid fun. I feel Saints 3 will fit that bill perfectly, but I definitely see your point. Thanks for respecting mine. :D
  • TheReaper24 - November 11, 2011 11:07 a.m.

    I could not agree with you more.The thing is, is that he is comparing this game to other sandboxes, and I agree with everything he has said in comparison. So I don't understand why those other guys are raging so hard about him giving this a better score than games like Gears, Uncharted, or Skyward. Those games are all different genres and if he was to be partial to the other games that are not in the same genre as SR3, then it wouldn't make sense to even review it at all.Those other games out there that are now major titles like Gears and what not, are being compared to the other big names like CoD if its an FPS, and then Gears is the pinnacle of third person shooters so they use that to compare other games to it. It is a very oddly balanced scale. Now I'm not saying that some of the scores of some games are a bit farfetched, I can agree with you there, but the reason why this got a 10 (in my opinion) is that its a breath of fresh air. How long has it been since you could smack a guy with a giant dildo bat??? Oh wait it hasn't been invented. So they took the initiative to make it. And another thing is that GTA is an amazing series but they decide to take the serious, story telling side of sandboxing. The Saints Row series felt that being like another serious sandbox would bore people so they took a completely different direction.
  • kenshinelz - November 11, 2011 11:15 a.m.

    You´re entitled to your opinion and I respect that. My problem is that I feel that the reviewer forgives to much of the game faults because of its entertainment value. I actually prefer substance over presentation but for me a score of 10 is a game that is the whole package, like Ocarina of time or Soul Calibur. It’s entertaining from a gameplay perspective and mindblowing from a presentation standpoint. And I just don’t see the later part on this game. But it’s nice to see someone that defends something with valid arguments these days. Have a nice day.
  • attilayavuzer - November 11, 2011 10:48 a.m.

    This game looks like crap? Wait...didn't you mention Skyward Sword in your original post? Yeah...
  • kenshinelz - November 11, 2011 11:18 a.m.

    Sorry but I actually think that Skyward Sword has a better presentation considering that runs on inferior hardware and in SD format.
  • Supermanoh - November 12, 2011 6:40 p.m.

    GTA IV looks better? Clearly, you've no eyes or something. I'm definitely appreciative of the cartoonic appearance. Any game trying to look realistic will inevitably look like ass in a few years (TES IV: Oblivion, Modern Battle Shooty Time), especially compared to a stylized game (Okami, Wind Waker). Aren't games about fun, anyway? When you get to it, Just Cause 2 was, at times, blockheadedly constructed. However, you're having so much fun strapping a tiny jet to a cargo jet and letting the NPC cargo jet take off that you no longer care that it takes half an hour to properly order all of the equipment for your symphony of destruction, only to lose it all because the police wanted to murder you without reason. Gears of War 3 had, at best, a slipshod campaign. Every idea the developers had ever had was uncomfortably stuffed into it; sometimes it worked, sometimes it didn't. It followed many much-overused tropes and had some of the most questionable plot turns and cliff hangers. Now, I haven't played Skyward Sword, but I have played Ocarina, so I'm sure that it's fairly amazing, but also over-hyped. It also suffers from the same sort of syndrome as Portal and Fight Club. Fans of it will never, ever fucking shut up. Originally, I was going to try and go to half the type limit, but suddenly, I'm bored. tl;dr SR3 does not look like ass.
  • kenshinelz - November 13, 2011 5:43 p.m.

    I may have eye problems but the presentation of this game still looks like crap. You mention Okami or Windwaker, well, newsflash they looked completely awesome a couple of years ago and they still look awesome today. This game doesn’t look awesome by today standards and probably never will. P.S. GTAIV still looks better IMHO and I don't even like that game.
  • Net_Bastard - November 13, 2011 2:23 p.m.

    Because that's a completely sane comparison, especially since SR3 isn't a cover-based TPS like Gears and Uncharted are, and not an adventure/dungeon crawler hybrid like Zelda. Jesus f**knuts people are dumb. It's amazing how you can compare games from different genres to each other. Also, you do know that there is more than one reviewer on this site, right? And that they all have *gasp* different opinions! OH NO! Get the f**king SWAT team! The mean-ass game critics don't have the same opinion as you! Jesus Christ. I would understand if this review was terrible, but this is a god damn super review.
  • kenshinelz - November 13, 2011 5:56 p.m.

    I was talking about presentation, PRESENTATION, not gameplay or genre. Come people, It´s so hard to understand it. And I compare them because every freaking game has a presentation factor regardless of the genre. Maybe If you stop being a douche for a couple of minutes you realize that I'm right. And I know that reviews are just opinions (its not rocket science) but reviewers should be more objective at some aspects of the game, and the presentation is one of them.
  • onetimebuster - November 11, 2011 8:34 a.m.

    Holy boner batman a 10.
  • ZhugeLiang - November 11, 2011 7:59 a.m.

    I WANNA BE A TOILET

Showing 41-60 of 94 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: Nov 15 2011 - PS3
Nov 15 2011 - PC
Nov 15 2011 - Xbox 360 (US)
Available Platforms: PS3, PC, Xbox 360
Genre: Adventure
Published by: THQ
Developed by: Volition
ESRB Rating:
Mature: Blood and Gore, Drug Reference, Intense Violence, Partial Nudity, Strong Language, Sexual Content
PEGI Rating:
Rating Pending

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.