Google+

Saints Row: The Third review

Astonishing
Back to Article

94 comments

  • wittynickname - November 11, 2011 6:58 a.m.

    Mr. Grimm, When you say SR3 abandons some of the stodgy elements of the sandbox genre that SR2 clung to, does that by chance include having to earn your way into continuing with the storyline missions with respect gateways? I abandoned the first Saints Row because I wanted to play through the storyline and not have to stop after every mission to go do a heap of insurance fraud or breaking & entering side-stuff in order to earn enough respect to continue. For that same reason, I never got around to trying SR2, fearing more of the same. Is that mechanic still in play here?
  • Zeokroe - November 11, 2011 9:17 a.m.

    No sir, it is not. From what I've understood, they've gotten rid of that shoddy mechanic. Now, side missions help progress weapons and earn you cash and such, but are not needed to progress the game! :D
  • TheReaper24 - November 11, 2011 11:08 a.m.

    I've been keeping up with the games updates and they said they took that mechanic out so you can either choose to play the storyline on its own or earn respect and level your character up to gain different things like weapons and other unlocks.
  • HamsterGutz - November 11, 2011 6:27 a.m.

    I was expecting this to get like a 6, just because it looked ridiculous. I might have to buy it now, and I don't even play sandbox games :D
  • ultimatepunchrod - November 11, 2011 5:29 a.m.

    I kind of wish this game wasn't being so well received. I don't think it's right to piggy back off of another franchise so blatantly and then get good scores and sales. BUT if it's deserved, then that's good.
  • samsneeze - November 11, 2011 7:51 a.m.

    What series is it piggy-backing?
  • ThatGuyFromTV - November 11, 2011 9:26 a.m.

    Right, except this is SR3's idea of piggybacking: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=86Fpd5HibiQ
  • attilayavuzer - November 11, 2011 10:50 a.m.

    I agree, it's never right to celebrate and reward innovation...
  • ichigoame - November 11, 2011 5:22 a.m.

    So I guess that trillion dollar Zimbabwean bill payed off XD so looking forward to this
  • pr0tostar - November 11, 2011 5:13 a.m.

    Lmao your introductory statement. Truer words have never been spoken.
  • lagcitylimits - November 11, 2011 5:04 a.m.

    So it got a 10 and is tied with GTAIV? *leaves to camp outside gamestop*
  • inkyspot - November 11, 2011 4:29 a.m.

    I really like the first 2, I am going to love this one. Skyrim and Saints. If I had the other systems I would be crying right now, Imagine, Imfamous, Uncharted, Skyward Sword, Saints, Skyrim, BF, Gears of War, God of War, COD. $$$$ Over 500 dollars $$$$ in games. Oh I didn't factor in the taxes.
  • boondocks50 - November 11, 2011 3:46 a.m.

    A 10! well done volition!
  • higgins78 - November 11, 2011 3:07 a.m.

    I almost just sicked up! I without having played Skyward Sword yet (I'm pre-ordered) will guarantee what we have here with Saints Row 3 is the same as what happened with GTAIV, that being on reflection and time the scores will drop and drop. Everyone remembers GTAIV receiving "perfect" scores at launch only for a couple months later the realization it was actually repetitive filler. Nintendo work hard to create a game which is actually innovative and what happens...Skyrim and Saints Row 3 score "perfect" scores while Zelda plays catch-up. Screw innovation and trying anything new, let the games industry and the "hardcore" (LOL) get served the same old tripe time after time!
  • birdro - November 11, 2011 4:07 a.m.

    I imagine the reason that Zelda would score a nine instead of ten has much to do with how the series, though very polished and engrossing, doesn't actually stray from the base formula too much. For every new Zelda, you're going to be dungeoneering as usual and mostly following the same progression. The only reason Skyward Sword didn't get a ten is because when compared to other "10" Zeldas, it will pale. Also, why did you mention you could tell that SR was bad without having played Skyward Sword? Not sure what you mean there.
  • Net_Bastard - November 11, 2011 7:58 a.m.

    "let the games industry and the "hardcore" (LOL) get served the same old tripe time after time!" Why is it the "same old tripe"? Because they're sequels to amazing games? I think you forgot that the Zelda series started 25 years ago.
  • GhostbustTyler - November 11, 2011 9:10 a.m.

    Jumping Jacks Batman! Looks like we have a pissed off Zelda fanboy here!
  • Net_Bastard - November 11, 2011 2:55 a.m.

    A10!? Also, I'm glad Volition took up porting it to the PC this time. Their RF:A port was so good that you would think the game was made with the PC in mind. And after the pile of crap that was SR2 PC, it's an even better outcome. Definitely picking this up on Steam.
  • keltar93 - November 11, 2011 2:19 a.m.

    I really liked what Grimm did with the comparison to GTA IV. A clever way to acknowledge the strengths of each.

Showing 61-80 of 94 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: Nov 15 2011 - PS3
Nov 15 2011 - PC
Nov 15 2011 - Xbox 360 (US)
Available Platforms: PS3, PC, Xbox 360
Genre: Adventure
Published by: THQ
Developed by: Volition
ESRB Rating:
Mature: Blood and Gore, Drug Reference, Intense Violence, Partial Nudity, Strong Language, Sexual Content
PEGI Rating:
Rating Pending

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.