Google+

Red Steel 2 review

AT A GLANCE
  • The engaging, intuitive combat
  • Strong visual style stands out on Wii
  • Smooth, responsive controls
  • Occasional hiccups in those controls, though
  • Lots of repeating missions
  • Loading screens can really drag

The Old Future West of the East

The first Red Steel was a generic, ugly shooter with a bit of clumsy swordplay thrown in to placate Nintendo’s motion mandate. Red Steel 2, in direct contrast, is a gorgeous cel-shaded take on a futuristic Wild West with a bit of feudal Japan thrown in. Ubi’s learned that you can’t do “real” graphics on Wii, so it chose a style and played to Wii’s strengths. The result is a clean, smooth game that’s possibly the prettiest on the platform, and definitely one that’s been given a lot of thought.


Above: Though you’re always in some kind of desert, there are still moments of color and genuinely impressive architecture

That said, no more than 10 minutes into the game and we couldn’t help but draw direct comparisons to Borderlands (for the sci-fi, cel-shaded desert) and Firefly (for the space Western-meets-Asian-influence angle). Even Steel’s music is invocative of both properties.


Above: Red Borderfly 2!


Above: Oh, huh, yeah those do look alike


Above: Yikes

We don’t mean this as a knock against Red Steel 2 – these are favorable comparisons, as we love both Borderlands and Firefly. The look and feel is so similar that we’d dare say Steel 2 is Borderlands if it had a single-player story, something it could have really used.


Fine, here’s the bit about the story

You’re the last Kusagari. Some bad guys have killed your people and now you, as a former outcast, must take up your sacred sword and exact your revenge on the evildoers that made you extinct. There ya go!


Above: Here's the bad guy. You are now motivated

You’ll stab, blast and slash your way through 8-10 hours of hyper-violent (yet T-rated) vengeance, most of which is handled through missions acquired on various bulletin boards. There’s no persistent overworld or hub area, so it’s totally linear – each area has its own board with its own missions, so once you leave an area there’s no going back. You have to fulfill the story missions to advance, obviously, but there are also several side quests that are great for filling your pockets with cash for the upgrade stations. Sadly, most of these optional missions are repeated in each area (tear down “Wanted” posters, fight gangs, find X hidden items), but they’re laid out in such a way that you’ll complete them all without much extra effort.


Above: Take a mission, kill some guys, come back etc

Normally we’d deduct points for a game relying on such simple tasks over and over, but again the combat is so engrossing and always evolving that we loved the chance to use new abilities or earn money to buy upgrades for the far-less-interesting guns. It’s true that everything boils down to “kill some guys, find some stuff,” but the same could be said for every other FPS on the market, and at least here there the fights are engaging enough to make us forget how linear and plain the arc really is.

But it’s not like there’s no excitement in the story – the tale does set up some honestly enthralling moments, like scrambling across a speeding train while ninjas jump all over your ass, fighting a boss with a lengthy QTE as he tries to buck you off his truck or the tense one-on-one duels with rival clans. The first-person view, range of moment and shaking camera reminded us a bit of Mirror’s Edge, though you’re not nearly as nimble.

More Info

Release date: Mar 23 2010 - Wii (US)
Mar 26 2010 - Wii (UK)
Available Platforms: Wii
Genre: Action
Published by: Ubisoft
Developed by: Ubisoft Paris
ESRB Rating:
Teen: Animated Blood, Violence, Mild Suggestive Themes, Mild Language
PEGI Rating:
16+

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000
  • guiarherodrummer1998 - September 5, 2010 1:31 a.m.

    finally. This game makes me proud to be a Wii owner. Even better. I'm renting this on Sunday!
  • Kuraik767 - September 2, 2010 5:09 p.m.

    As uch as I liked the first one, this one is a let-down. better motion controls doesn't make up for cartoony graphics, futuristic cowboy samurais, and only five guns.
  • fartinapot - June 18, 2010 6:59 p.m.

    Me again. You know the part on the bottom that asks you to type in two words? I made a mistake and tried to post my comment, then this came up: "Ooops- that's not what was written in the image. You may be a robot. Try again" If you think I'm lieing, try it for your self. "You may be a robot." Whats up with that??
  • fartinapot - June 18, 2010 6:54 p.m.

    I got this game 5 days ago. It is so awesome! The graphics are great. The story line could be a little better, but who cares. It's good enough. I just like using special attacks and blowing up trucks. There is also this one cool part where this guy named payne tries to kill you. I'm not going to tell you how he tries, but it is so cool to watch and play. this game is fun and I think that a 9 is a correct judgement.
  • fartinapot - May 12, 2010 9:21 p.m.

    I can't wait to get this game. I don't have a wii yet, but I'm saving up for one. This will be one of the first games I will buy.
  • fartinapot - May 10, 2010 9:21 p.m.

    This game looks awesome. I am going to get it for sure
  • DrJanitor - April 22, 2010 9:18 p.m.

    Bought this from GAME (online) at bargain price of £20 - it's awesome! Played only about an hour so far but the combat seems limitless in its originality. Very impressed - and it's only the second brand new game I've bought for Wii in the past year (NSMB being the other)
  • AyJay - March 25, 2010 8:26 a.m.

    I think they kept the Red Steel name because, face it, Red Steel is a fucking badass name.
  • mdiaz033 - March 24, 2010 7:53 p.m.

    recaptcha 113-112 cells :/ anyways, i thought this was going to fail but congrats to wii
  • leemass21 - March 24, 2010 5:19 p.m.

    godofps3 the only reason it doesnt have multypaler in is because they didnt have time to put iin and i no what you mean i was wondering why aswell untill i say an interview with thier creative director.
  • leemass21 - March 24, 2010 5:07 p.m.

    i completed mirrors edge in less than 8 hours an that was on normal and devil may cry 4 took me 8 aswell u must b a pritty crap gamer videoman. aliens vs predator is 5-6 hours long and the only game iv had for the 360 thats took me longer than 10 hours is ff13 and lost oddesey.
  • leemass21 - March 24, 2010 5:03 p.m.

    to vigeoman what are you complaing for 8-10 hours is good most 360 games your lucky if you get 8 hours owt ov it, iv already preorderd redsteel 2 can't wait to play it bin waiting for this gaame since a heard it was being made.
  • philipshaw - March 24, 2010 3:38 p.m.

    Great review Brett, you just gave me my first Wii game to go out and buy in like a year
  • Blackout1881 - March 24, 2010 10:51 a.m.

    YES!!! I was really banking my decision of buying the damn system on this game. I may very well purchase one sometime soon. Honestly if a Wii game is called great by Brett Elston it's probably pretty good, just sayin.
  • n00b - March 24, 2010 2:15 a.m.

    @vigeoman isn't god of war 3, Brutal Legend, Dante's Inferno, Devil May Cry 4, Mirror's Edge,etc with in the 10 hour mark? most games now a days are within 10 hours with that said i don't like to pay full price for a game that is that long (with out no multiplayer) im definitely getting this, but when it gets a little bit cheaper. Plus I can get motion plus in time for when the next zelda comes out.
  • CH3BURASHKA - March 24, 2010 12:43 a.m.

    Didn't expect it to be THIS good. Very interested to play this... on my friend's Wii.
  • Cyberninja - March 24, 2010 12:32 a.m.

    i am glad to say i am looking forward to more wii games than ps3 games this year this is the start of the takeback where nintendo stops having the caual image and gets the hardcore image back just in time to fill the hardcore void that move and natal will leave i love irony
  • Tyboy - March 23, 2010 11:45 p.m.

    DAMMIT! i was depending on this to get a bad score so i wouldn't have to buy it... why do all the good games have to come out when i have no money?
  • Triton7K - March 23, 2010 11:02 p.m.

    Ok, now I'm REALLY happy I got a Wii in February! The game looks amazing, but does the Wii MotionPlus come in every Red Steel 2 box, or do I need to get the crappy Wii Sports Resort to get it?
  • QWERTYCommander - March 23, 2010 10:45 p.m.

    @GodofPS314 I agree. They're almost nothing alike. But a 9!? Wow. I've been looking forward to this, and it actually met my expectations. Most of the games I look forward to get 6.0 or lower.