Google+

Red Faction: Guerrilla review

AT A GLANCE
  • Makes the sandbox super convenient
  • Gleeful destruction is more than a gimmick
  • Smart AI buddies
  • World is a bit sparse
  • Could be prettier
  • Not much story

Arriving on the scene you’ll be faced with a choice – disembark and fight side-by-side with your comrades, or just flatten the structure around the EDF’s ears. Chances are you’ll favour the latter because you’re a cruel bastard, so you’ll keep your foot on the pedal and roll right on through a particularly load-bearing corner. You drive in circles splintering tables and bringing down the ceiling like an angry bull in any shop that sells fine dining wares, diving from your truck as the wear and tear finally takes its toll and blows it sky-high, bringing down the tower with it. “That was fun,” you’ll say. “Let’s do it again.” But you won’t. Not right away.

Guerrilla gives you too much to do. Just as you get bored with wrecking offices you’ll start rescuing hostages; once you’re done rescuing hostages you’ll be a shotgun-riding gunner; when you’re finished manning the gun you’ll defend a Red Faction base from an EDF raid. And once you’re done doing all that you’ll still have the story missions to tackle and mile after mile of sprawling smashable world to drive your honking great Tonka truck around. Red Faction: Guerrilla introduces the world sector by sector and offers stacks of critical targets and optional missions within each region, yet by introducing things gradually you never feel like you’ve become over-burdened or stretched too far.

It’s as if they knew. They knew you’d get bored with running into Crackdown firefights, soaking up ten thousand bullets and plowing on through to the big baddie, so they made every story mission unique. One is a cross-country drive through the middle of an artillery free-fire zone; another is a recovery mission deep within the Marauders’ Mad Maxian badlands; another is an escort mission protecting a Faction truck with a satellite-targeted cannon. Always something new.

They knew you’d soon tire of the same old Martian reds and oranges so they gave every sector its own theme, even going so far as to coat the sector of Oasis with grass and the higher peaks of Eos with snow. They knew the world they made was stark and beautiful in its way so they put the GPS right on the road in front of you so you could concentrate on the world and not the inch-high minimap. They knew you’d grow weary of a clunky GTA IV cover system and traditional FPS weapons so they built the best cover system any open-world game has ever seen – one which lets you snap to any piece of cover, no matter how ruined – and gave you the best gimmick weapons this side of the N64’s Turok 2 and its insta-lobotomising Cerebral Bore.

Some are based around brute force: missiles, remote charges, the mighty sledgehammer. Others are built for finesse: the arc welder which arcs lightning through crowds of enemies, the heat-seeking bullets which home in on distant targets, the nanobot-firing rifle which eats through steel. And within Red Faction’s arsenal is a world of options for customization and improvisation; every weapon can be upgraded using salvage recovered from wrecked buildings.

Remote charges can be used to turn any vehicle into a bomb. The arc welder can kill a vehicle’s occupants without so much as scratching the paintwork on the vehicle itself, leaving tanks empty and hijacked with ease. The singularity bomb will suck objects in before spitting them out – the explosion proportional to the matter drawn in. You’ll soon find your favorites but you’ll keep experimenting with others as new upgrades unlock new potential. Try attaching a remote charge to a Factioneer’s face and see what happens.

More Info

Release date: Jun 02 2009 - Xbox 360, PS3
Sep 15 2009 - PC (US)
Jun 05 2009 - Xbox 360, PS3
Sep 15 2009 - PC (UK)
Available Platforms: Xbox 360, PS3, PC
Genre: Shooter
Published by: THQ
Developed by: Volition
ESRB Rating:
Mature: Blood, Strong Language, Violence

24 comments

  • alex-roy-bristol - June 22, 2014 8:30 p.m.

    Playing this game right now, it never gets old. I literally just want a new Red Faction game. That's all I need. More like Guerrilla, less like Armageddon, but still a bit of both. Don't even improve much, do a Crackdown 1 to Crackdown 2, I don't care, just make it happen please <3
  • swagger21 - November 2, 2009 5:25 p.m.

    oh mannnn, if you like destruCCCtion buy this game, im still playing it and blowing shit up never felt so good. If your looking at this review your already one step closer to making your little pLMS SWEAT LMAO!!!
  • GamerTagsSuck - July 30, 2009 5:48 a.m.

    I got this game for the same reason I got Prototype. Some douche at the store messed something up and called my house saying the game we reserved was in. 5 dollar discount here I come.
  • shockolate - June 22, 2009 9:27 p.m.

    Micheal Gapper seduced me with his words.
  • redsolobird - June 7, 2009 6:45 p.m.

    This game is NOT good it is a game in which you can seemlesly barge through huge structure in a 'tonka toy' it is ridiculous the missions are repetative shooting is flawed and online is remeniscent of hell. 'nuff said'
  • TripleAD - June 7, 2009 11:30 a.m.

    one of my favourites soo... much fun but my only dissapointment is that things stay destroyed so when you finish the story theres not much else to do but then again I haven't finished it yet soo... who knows Personally from your review it sounded like you'll give it a 10 'cuz you said only a few problems ReCAPTCHA: $5-million craft... blimey that must be one hell of a craft
  • Fancy Rat - June 3, 2009 10:50 p.m.

    I've been FUCKING PSYCHED about this game for so long and no one gave it the attention it deserved. Now I get to say I told you so.
  • anubisduo13 - June 3, 2009 10:30 p.m.

    Oh, and it's very true about the lack of story. But the destruction factor is oh so amazing. Honestly, the lack of story doesn't bother me so much, because I love how much strategy, or lack of, I can put into destroying structures.
  • erreip199 - June 3, 2009 9:47 p.m.

    u know something what might be fun? coming back sometime later to ur destruction playground and see the NPCs building it back, so u can destroy it later or simply destroy what has been rebuilded so far with the npcs with it
  • FingeredPope - June 3, 2009 9:15 p.m.

    Argh the wait is killing me. APO shipping just takes too long. I want it now, and not in anotherr week!
  • DRILLERDUD - June 3, 2009 8:24 p.m.

    i still have red faction 2. I didn't like the story that much but I still kept it for the multiplayer with the bots. I want this game badly
  • anubisduo13 - June 3, 2009 6:52 p.m.

    This game is amazing. It feels a little like Far Cry 2, at least in my opinion. It's so much fun destroying everything. Everything!
  • Moosebomber - June 3, 2009 3:51 p.m.

    i remember the first red faction, ahhh nostalgia.
  • madmatt49 - June 3, 2009 12:20 p.m.

    i played both demos of this and 1 thought crossed my mind this game is awesome getting it on friday
  • NipplesTheSuperHippo - June 3, 2009 4:29 a.m.

    I might look into it. thanks GR
  • Mittenz - June 3, 2009 3:39 a.m.

    If I only get get one game this summer, I will make sure its Red Faction Guerrilla
  • totalsniper - June 3, 2009 2:07 a.m.

    im getting this Saturday and wanted to see a good review...so i came here knowing ied get a strait forward review good job guys and gals :)
  • Samael - June 3, 2009 2:02 a.m.

    Aw man, I was hoping they would do a US super review for this. Oh well.
  • FluffyDestructo - August 25, 2009 8:17 p.m.

    It's a great game, i haven't beaten it yet though i've only rented it but i'm gettin it in a couple days.
  • louiec314 - June 16, 2009 6:10 a.m.

    lol @ the total recall reference

Showing 1-20 of 24 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000