Google+

Recettear: An Item Shop’s Tale review

AT A GLANCE
  • The unique premise
  • Hardcore haggling
  • Lots of replay value
  • Dying during dungeon dives
  • Missing your payments
  • Cheapskates who don't know the value of a broadsword

You’ll meet new adventurers and if you manage to befriend one, you can hire them to go dungeon diving. The adventurers you hire get to earn experience points while you get to keep all the free loot. Dungeon diving is a great way to increase your store’s inventory with free items, but it also takes up time that could have been spent keeping your store open for customers.

It's also one of the most annoying parts of the game. Dying is way too easy for adventurers until you level them up – and since you lose most of the loot you find when you die, you'll find yourself hitting the reset option way too often. Fortunately, once you level up one of your adventurers, dungeon diving becomes much more enjoyable. There's also a fun Boss Rush mode that opens up once you've cleared all the levels of an area, and the loot you find can help you restock your store shelves cheaply.


Above: It's always good to have a wide selection in your store's inventory. Not everyone needs expensive broadswords. Some customers just want something to eat for dinner

It's regrettable that Recettear is so short. But the extra New Game Plus and Survival Modes help remedy the game's brevity. Start a New Game Plus and you'll get to keep your Merchant Level, all your inventory of items, the character level of all the adventurer friends you've made. Starting with a high Merchant Level and seasoned adventurers means you'll be able to take full advantage of the game's Fusion system, which we barely touched during our first playthrough. This will allow you to craft lots of unique and high-quality items from ingredients found while dungeon diving. The Survival Mode pits you against a never ending wave of increasing debt payments with the goal being to see how long you can keep paying off Tear.


Above: Dungeon diving is a pain at first, but the battle system really opens up during your second playthrough

The extra modes sound tacked on. And they are. But that's okay, because the core gameplay of Recettear is so much fun that it's easy to continue obsessing over your profit margins and status of your store during multiple playthroughs as you continue to further expand your shop while improving the quality of your wares.



Recettear: An Item Shop’s Tale is deceptively simple. Don't be fooled by its cute-sy look and playful trappings. This RPG is hard as hell and incredibly addictive. Plus, with the extra post-game modes, it manages to deliver an excellent amount of value for your gaming buck.

Sep 16, 2010

More Info

Available Platforms: PC
Genre: Role Playing

29 comments

  • Crabhand - September 22, 2011 3:17 a.m.

    If anyone happens to be reading this review and needs a little more encouraging, BUY THIS GAME. It is simply fantastic, addictive, and well worth the price. The gameplay is wonderfully crafted and the characters are all lovable <3
  • bluecell - July 14, 2011 8:13 p.m.

    Cool, will try it out :p
  • anduin1 - January 25, 2011 12:46 a.m.

    @YES balls in yo mouth and this game feels very Harvest Moon-esque, Im just kicking myself that I missed the sale.
  • Sevej - October 15, 2010 3:55 a.m.

    Capitalism, Ho! The game is surprisingly deep.
  • JohnnyMaverik - October 3, 2010 12:19 p.m.

    @ YES This game is better than Halo: Reach. Reach was the definitive Halo game and the Halo series is therefore definitively an 8, enjoy you're fanboyism for mediocrity while we enjoy this superbly enjoyable and unique game. Consider yourself trolled sir... -_-
  • Maxstats69 - September 21, 2010 8:26 p.m.

    this game is great. What the reviewing didn't mention is there are two different ways to continue your game after you finish it. There is a new game+ that starts you back at the beginning with all your levels, money and items but there is also a continuation option where you can keep playing without the bother of having to pay back any debts or going through the story yet again. This game is definitely worth buying although the $20 price tag is a bit steep.
  • huju00 - September 20, 2010 5:58 a.m.

    welcome come to our jersey website: http://www.b2cjersey.us everybody!sorry bother your time a min,we are serious and professional jersey supplier,we can offer NFL,NHL,MLB,NBA jerser,the NFL jersey 18usd each,the NHL jersey 38USD each.MLB jersey 18usd each,NAB jersey 18usd each.we have many jerseys of other players, so please contact us for more information if you are interested in . 1) More pictures available on our website ( http://www.b2cjersey.us ) 2) Many colors available . 3) Perfect quality, small order accepted . 4) 100% safe door to door delivery, within 5 - 7 days air express for small orders . 5) We have lots of jerseys in stock 6) Letters and number are sewn on jerseys body, 100% embroidery 7) Size: .48, 50, 52, 54, 56, 60 8) Delivery by UPS, DHL, EMS door to door 9) Delivery in 5 - 7 days NFL,NBA,MLB all are 18usd!!!! The jerseys in stock may be updated everyday ! come on,join us! http://www.b2cjersey.us
  • quincytheodore - September 19, 2010 11:32 a.m.

    Darn it. I was gonna do "Whaddya' Buyin'" but a horse beat me to it... -.-
  • kit07 - September 19, 2010 12:01 a.m.

    sounds like a facebook game
  • tuomotaivainen - September 18, 2010 6:26 p.m.

    @YES I think we found ourselves a Halo fanboy. GTFO now unless you want to contribute something CONSTRUCTIVE instead of bashing games that aren't Halo. On another note, I am so waiting until next pay-day to get this. Tried the demo and fell in love! I even got my friends hooked O.O Also, totally need to support the small developers too ;)
  • YES - September 18, 2010 1:45 a.m.

    So a score of 9, huh? Does this mean this game is better than Halo Reach?
  • Crabhand - September 18, 2010 1:27 a.m.

    I may buy this after I get my computer fixed, it looks very fascinating.
  • twix407 - September 20, 2010 3:55 p.m.

    Hah, this game is fun I played the demo and now I want it but I'll probably end up waiting for a steam sale.
  • Hypermonkey262 - September 19, 2010 11:07 p.m.

    I love this game! I got it last week and it's basicaly been all I've been playing since.
  • super0sonic - September 19, 2010 5:35 a.m.

    I have been really enjoying the game.
  • GoldenMe - September 18, 2010 5:30 a.m.

    This will probably be in a Steam Sale soon enough. That's my time to pounce. @YES: Is this going to happen with every review that gets a 8-10? And shut up.
  • Robusken - September 18, 2010 2:28 a.m.

    I might have to get steam for this
  • OnyxOblivion - September 18, 2010 1:46 a.m.

    @YES Shut up. Different genres, different score meanings.
  • Amnesiac - September 17, 2010 11:55 p.m.

    I can only hope this game's success encourages someone to start bringing more Japanese indie gems like this to Steam.
  • IamNOTatalkingpony - September 17, 2010 9:41 p.m.

    Allow me to be the first to say *clears throat* WHADAYA BUYIN!?!?!?!?

Showing 1-20 of 29 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000