Google+

Rabbids Go Home review

AT A GLANCE
  • Great art style and bright, colourful environments
  • Varied, fun and pleasantly ridiculous gameplay
  • Witty dialogue
  • Many of its ideas are only skin-deep
  • Some will find Rabbids annoying
  • Occasional camera problems

Early levels suggest Go Home is a game devoid of challenge, but tough enemies and tricky platform bits soon come thick and fast. Later stages can be difficult, and occasionally frustrating due to the game’s lack of camera control. For the majority of the time it’s not a problem, but in some platforming sections the choice of perspective can seem incredibly dim.

Despite overwhelming evidence to the contrary, you can’t accuse the Rabbids of stupidity. The game’s consistently clever on a visual level, but it often has surprises under the hood too, delivering an unexpected twist just when you think it’s in danger of becoming formulaic.

To get past certain locked doors you need to trample through plates of food, leaving a trail of gooey mush all over the floor. You use this trail to lure a cleaning robot towards the door, which will then unwittingly open it for you – but be careful not to venture across puddles of water along the way, as it will clean your cart’s wheels and make the robot slink back to its post. It’s a nice little puzzle that takes advantage of the game’s cart-pushing antics, and it wouldn’t seem out of place in a point ’n’ click title.

Unlike something frequently ingenious like World of Goo, however, Go Home is only this clever every so often. Most of the time it coasts by on being funny, varied and entertaining – all of which are great accomplishments, but not quite enough to push the game into 9-scoring territory. The occasional camera problems and frustrating later sections bring it down a notch as well.

For your cash, however, you get a charming and original action title, which makes the best use of those Raving Rabbids yet. And as a special bonus, Rayman’s not in it, so you don’t have to spend the game gawking at his freaky floating extremities.

Nov 1, 2009

More Info

Release date: Nov 01 2009 - DS, Wii (US)
Nov 05 2009 - DS (UK)
Available Platforms: DS, Wii
Genre: Adventure
Published by: Ubisoft
Developed by: Ubisoft Montpelier
ESRB Rating:
Everyone 10+: Cartoon Violence, Crude Humor, Use of Tobacco, Mild Suggestive Themes, Mild Language
PEGI Rating:
7+

9 comments

  • vigeoman - November 8, 2009 4:27 p.m.

    agree with jeffrey3133 assassins creed is crap i hate the game alot although the second one looks decent
  • IIIIIACEIIIII - November 7, 2009 5:48 p.m.

    I don't hate the Rabbids, but I didn't like their party games. This game does look decent but I don't think I'll be getting it. What I want is a Rayman 4. And I want it on the PS3. @jeffrey3133 watch your fucking langauge.
  • jeffrey3133 - November 7, 2009 3:22 p.m.

    dirty1996 assassins creed looks like a peice of SH*T to me it don't interest me so go suck on your cock
  • dirty1996 - November 3, 2009 1:06 p.m.

    This looks like a game. Impressive ubisoft. You make a game like assasin's creed, and then give us a bunch of crappy party games. Hope this doesn't disappoint. Maybe i'll get off my pc to actually try this on my wii
  • conchking - November 2, 2009 11:07 p.m.

    I might get it or rent it but good way to keep moving forward with the rabbids, but rayman needs to come back. ReCaptcha: grouchy Charles My name lol
  • Hobojedi - November 2, 2009 5:47 a.m.

    I'm glad they finally took this direction with the rabbid games, I think we've all been getting sick of their party games.
  • aion7 - November 1, 2009 8:15 p.m.

    Can they be done with rabbids and come out with a Rayman HD Remix already?
  • TheIronMaiden - November 1, 2009 8:03 p.m.

    As much as I love the Rabbid series, lets hope that they move on to something new. I'll give this one a shot, but this will be my last run for the rabbids.
  • SilverWerewolf - November 1, 2009 5:28 p.m.

    First. I'm glad that Ubisoft finally gave us a platformer rather than another poor party game. But still, Ubisoft, stop teasing us and give us Rayman 4 instead of these demented rabbits. That's what the Wii needs right now. Actually, in my opinion, the designers should start working on another enemy for Rayman. Since the Rabbids were the original enemy Rayman was facing, and because we now know that the Rabbids have next to no gray matter under the ears, it would feel more like you're playing as a bully or street cleaner rather than a hero. Again, Ubisoft, please start working on the next Rayman.

Showing 1-9 of 9 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000