Google+

We Recommend By ZergNet

115 comments

  • SveedishFeesh - November 13, 2013 11:52 a.m.

    "apologies to all you Wii U supporters out there, but it’s the truth" And a passive-aggressive fuck you to you, too.
  • ihopethisisnotantistasblood - November 13, 2013 1:26 p.m.

    my apologies to lucas but it's the truth, fuck him
  • OmegaDestroyer - November 13, 2013 1:51 p.m.

    You can't really expect too much from GR. Just calling the PS4 the start of "next-gen" is silly.
  • db1331 - November 13, 2013 1:58 p.m.

    Are you implying that the Wii U is next gen? Cause it ain't. Neither are the PS4 and Xbone, really.
  • MrJP - November 13, 2013 2:39 p.m.

    They are if you mean next generation as in the successors to the current(ish) consoles of ps3, 360 and the wii. Akin to the next generation when talking about families. They don't HAVE to improve or build on, really they just need to replace what is already there. Not necessarily next gen as in the concept of moving technology massively forwards as many feel they 'should' be. It is what it is. And technically all three are 'next gen' - it just depends on your definition.
  • Feloniousmax - November 21, 2013 1:19 a.m.

    Do you know what a generation is? It has nothing to do with resolution or teraflops or motion control, it has to do with time. We are currently in the 8th generation of home gaming consoles, the big three consoles in this generation are the Xbox One, the PS4 and the Wii U.
  • MrJP - November 13, 2013 10:59 a.m.

    It will be interesting to see what developers are getting out of this machine in a few years time. The jump in graphics from games at the start of the 360 PS3 cycle to now - is bigger than the jump from current 360 PS3 games compared to current XBone PS4 games. The only issue with this logic is that everyone keeps celebrating how easy these latest machines are to make games for. Which could mean that graphics peak much earlier in the consoles life cycle and that we are already seeing most of what they're capable of... Given that WiiU games look at least as good as current PS3 games (and it's taken the PS3 a good few years to be understood enough to handle those sorts of games) and people complain the WiiU isn't a big enough jump forwards, it would be nice to think that the console has more in the tank to be unlocked, and the same for Xbone and PS4. Apologies for the rambling incoherence....
  • GR_TomMagrino - November 13, 2013 11:13 a.m.

    Yeah, I'd say no way are we looking at the peak of graphical fidelity. These are launch games, after all, and over the years you can be sure that developers are going to find better (and cheaper) ways to accomplish more.
  • alecbeals - November 13, 2013 12:03 p.m.

    I can't imagine well see a game that pushes the limits of a PS4 for at least half a decade, following the XBOX 360 and PS2 history of games that really pushed them to their limits.
  • freeden - November 13, 2013 10:24 a.m.

    Picking mine up tomorrow. Can't wait! Excited for this next gen. I am disappointed that a number of games won't be here for release, but I can live with that. Hopefully a lot of the PS3 titles end up on PSN, available for play on PS4.
  • Eightboll812 - November 13, 2013 10:19 a.m.

    The heating thing does have me a little concerned. I'm not entirely sure it's not "user error" here in the review. It may be that the case itself is a radiator, sort of like the Mac-mini. It may be that something else is blowing on the PS4 that is hampering it's ability to exhaust heat. For example, I had two Mac-mini's stacked and they absolutely were baking hot. I also had one sitting in front of a projector that was blowing warm (not hot) air across it and it also got baking hot. Move them over a few inches and they cooled off. Heat is a concern to me but I'd like to see more reviews and experience with the product in other environments.
  • GR_LucasSullivan - November 13, 2013 10:51 a.m.

    Here were the exact conditions I tested with: sitting flat on a desk, nothing on top or below it, and no air-expelling electronics nearby. And though it did get quite hot, it never crapped out on me, so there's that at least.
  • Eightboll812 - November 13, 2013 11:08 a.m.

    Thank you for clarifying, Lucas. That helps. :-)
  • FoxdenRacing - November 13, 2013 12:26 p.m.

    One more bug for clarity: Concerns over heat aside [here's hoping it won't become an issue], it's your opinion it'll be one of the smoother launches in recent memory? That's good to hear, always nice to see a launch go smooth. On a scale of 'Yeah, it's a piece of electronics' to 'launch day X360', how hot are we talking?
  • Sjoeki - November 13, 2013 9:54 a.m.

    Oh I want one, but I don't really see the point in buying it now, I'll wait till the right games are out. Also Sony might have it out for me as, while the sony instruction guy showed me how to use the touchpad and motion sensor in play room, I might have gotten a little enthousiastic in my wigglin and my controller went flying.
  • rxb - November 13, 2013 7:41 a.m.

    Good review so far but with all the features in the pipeline Im guessing some review updates will be needed.
  • BladedFalcon - November 13, 2013 8:12 a.m.

    " Read on to find out, then be sure to check back later for additional impressions. " Pretty much, they do heavily hint on it at the end of the first slide that this will be the case ¨¨
  • GR_LucasSullivan - November 13, 2013 10:51 a.m.

    Yep, more to come! :)
  • rxb - November 13, 2013 noon

    Sorry I was in a rush, I should have been more specific. I meant a run down of 'promised' features compared to those delivered such as the share/ streaming stuff. Maybe a sort of projection [or guess] of when such features will appear.
  • udUbdaWgz - November 13, 2013 7:40 a.m.

    again, "next-gen" occurs within the mind of devs/pubs and, not, with hardware specs. there's no reason to buy any new console within months of release. let them work the bugs out and release meaningful games. go buy a bunch of games for your current gaming system. as well, waiting sends them a message that the ENTIRE INDUSTRY badly needs.

Showing 81-100 of 115 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.