Google+

Power Gig: Rise of the SixString review

AT A GLANCE
  • 70 songs = less than $1 each
  • Clapton, Kid Rock, Dave Matthews finally available
  • Most songs here aren't played to death yet
  • Guitar's pretty crap
  • Drums even crappier
  • Only three players at a time and no online

As ten minutes listening to any Top 40 radio station will tell you, timing is far more important than talent in the music business. If Led Zeppelin was just arriving on the scene today, they’d be lucky to open for Katy Perry. Rhythm action band game Power Gig: Rise of the SixString is another great example. Three years ago, its licensed soundtrack and creative guitar and drum controllers might have made it a player. But its timing is awful and it’s here now, far too late to become legendary. In fact, it’s more Justin Bieber than John Lennon in the talent department, too.

Power Gig: Rise of the SixString is available as a standalone game, a game and guitar controller combo, and a “band kit” that adds in a drum controller and microphone as well. And as luck would have it, those three variations deliver radically different experiences. So I’m going to take a slightly different approach and review the game, the guitar, and the drums individually, then wrap it all up into one combined score for the database. You ready? Then throw on a black concert t-shirt and let’s hit the stage.


Opening Act: The Game

Let’s say you, like 900% of the gaming audience, really can’t justify dragging yet another set of plastic instruments into your living room. We get it. But Rock Band and Guitar Hero’s instruments also work with Power Gig, so should you maybe just buy the game? Yeah, maybe – but probably not.

The mechanics of the game are identical to Rock Band or Guitar Hero. Gems move along a track onscreen, and you hit the corresponding colored buttons in time with the music. It works okay, but Power Gig only supports three players (one singer, guitarist, and drummer) – and there is no online play.

Also, the 70-song setlist is respectable, but the online store still isn’t up as of this writing, two weeks after the game shipped. For all we know, these may be the only songs you ever get. Plus, while this is the first game to feature music from Eric Clapton, Kid Rock, and Dave Matthews, there are a whopping three songs by each of those artists – so only a fool would pay $60 solely to get them.

Most of the other songs here are fairly fresh though, which you can read as “they tried to get songs that weren’t played out” or “they didn’t want to pay for better known songs”. We prefer to view this as a plus, but your mileage may vary. Here’s the full setlist if you’d like to take a look.

Finally, there’s a hokey plot about an oppressive, evil empire that has made music illegal and a ragtag group of rebels who discover how to use “mojo” – a mystical force that permeates the universe – and set out to make things right. If it sounds familiar, that’s because it’s basically Star Wars and/or Dune dressed in Hot Topic and written as Cliff’s notes. But it doesn’t mess with the gameplay like the faux-mythological lunacy in Guitar Hero: Warriors of Rock does, so at least it’s harmless.

Game score: 5

More Info

Release date: Oct 19 2010 - PS3, Xbox 360 (US)
Available Platforms: PS3, Xbox 360
Genre: Other Games/Compilations
Published by: Seven45 Studios
Developed by: Music Maker
ESRB Rating:
Teen: Mild Lyrics, Mild Suggestive Themes

23 comments

  • willyfoureyes - December 21, 2010 11:57 p.m.

    @Darkhawk Beats me, but suddenly the words "New Mexico landfill" come to mind.
  • Darkhawk - December 20, 2010 8:22 p.m.

    Is this the game that went in the volcano?
  • MattyT - November 13, 2010 8:36 a.m.

    @AncientCanada97 These have been available in the Rock Band Music Store since September of last year (Playable in Rock Band 1, 2, or 3): *The Diary of Jane *I Will Not Bow *So Cold These have been available for Guitar Hero 5 since February of this year (Playable in Guitar Hero 5, Guitar Hero: Warriors of Rock): *Give Me a Sign *Sooner or Later *Until the End Your money is better spent with either of those franchises.
  • SerpentineZERO - November 13, 2010 6:31 a.m.

    It seems like this year's Rock Revolution
  • AncientCanada97 - November 11, 2010 4:13 p.m.

    Damnit, the one music game that has Breaking Benjamin is a crappy one.
  • Tranquilbez34 - November 10, 2010 7:41 p.m.

    It's rock Revolution meets Rock Band 3's pro mode. You learn how to play guitar on a shit game!
  • Letter11 - November 10, 2010 6:45 a.m.

    “NEVER strike the base unit (or anything else) with the AirStrike sticks!” "To put it simply, this peripheral should never have come out. It simply doesn’t work." Haha! I was laughing so hard when I read this! Who seriously thought this would be a good idea. I was sort of interested before but not anymore. Nice review.
  • EricBratcher - November 10, 2010 3:39 a.m.

    Hi Romination! I usually don't do reviews, it's true - I let the fellas do the heavy lifting and I just stand around with my arms crossed pretending to be cranky like J Jonah Jameson. But I pitch in on some of the niche-y stuff here and there (fishing games, iphone stuff, etc) that I care about more than the rest of the crew crew does. Plus, as one of only a couple guys on staff who owns a real guitar, I felt the need to weigh in on this one. As for the podcast, talk to Chris. That's his show; I'm just a guest.
  • Zepaw - November 10, 2010 3:38 a.m.

    No online? I will never even rent this.
  • FanofSaiyan - November 9, 2010 11:47 p.m.

    Destroying all those plastic controllers for one of their commercials was such a waste, seeing as how they're far better than the piece of crap that comes with the game bundle. I'd rather play Rock Revolution than this...
  • santaclouse37 - November 9, 2010 11:36 p.m.

    Where the hell is Lando Lakes and Leopold Margerine? I realize that they are at the very forefront of the music game criticism industry, but critics are critics, and can't just examine the pick of the litter, they should cast their opinions on lesser games as well instead of simply handing them off to some wannabe, low-level, amateur musicgamescriticizerologist. Do Lando and Leopold have no integrity?
  • StrayGator - November 9, 2010 10:12 p.m.

    I'd like to read Eric's (or Justin's) opinion on the RB3 Squier (is it out yet btw?) - How it functions as a game controller, and how it manages as an instrument. I'm not a strat guy, but it wouldn't hurt to have one (even if entry-level). It still would be the first "supplemental" controller to justify the space it would take in my apartment.
  • Romination - November 9, 2010 10:11 p.m.

    Hey, Eric Bratcher! I didn't know you did reviews getbackontalkradar, and I'm sorry it had to be this one.
  • Spybreak8 - November 9, 2010 9:52 p.m.

    Ouch and you already said you'd pass this game up just being in a tough market.
  • CoryRX8 - November 9, 2010 9:42 p.m.

    @WTeen8 In all fairness, this game was announced months before Harmonix unveiled Rock Band 3's pro mode guitar. It doesn't make the game any less rubbish, but their advertising claim isn't as misleading as you're thinking.
  • GenericSpaceMarine - November 9, 2010 9:11 p.m.

    I can see this heading in the same direction as Rock Revolution. The bargain bin.
  • nadrewod999 - November 9, 2010 9:07 p.m.

    I sincerely hope HerWhisperingEye is being sarcastic, because the other possibility makes me lose hope in gamers worldwide, since there is a chance that people can look at a low review score (one of the lowest I have ever seen on this site), and actually WANT to BUY the horrible game that they have been warned about.
  • WTeen8 - November 9, 2010 8:41 p.m.

    I knew this game was going to fail. And they said that theey're the first to feature a real guitar, well then how come everyone heard about RB3's squire guitar first? So this game also LIES!
  • zigs - November 9, 2010 8:32 p.m.

    From the second I saw them reveal the drumkit, I knew instantly this game would be an absolute failure. How on Earth they thought that would be a good idea is completely beyond me. It's as if they just heard that other drum kits are loud (well duh!) and thought they'd make a quiet drumkit, completely oblivious and ignorant of how drumming actually works. Totally baffling how they expected anything from that hunk of shit.
  • ultimatepunchrod - November 9, 2010 8:32 p.m.

    wow. i figured this game would be bad, but a 3? wow.

Showing 1-20 of 23 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000