Google+

Pilotwings Resort review

AT A GLANCE
  • Skill-based aerial challenges
  • Mission sizes are perfect for portable gaming
  • Free Flight adds tons of hidden collectibles
  • Possible to blast through in 2-4 hours
  • 3D doesn't enhance or help gameplay
  • Only one map, Wii Sports' Wuhu Island

If you’re particularly good at flight games, you can breeze through most of the games primary challenges within two hours. However, the game encourages you to nail perfect scores in each mission for a final bonus; I don’t want to spoil the surprise, but it’s a rather cool surprise and worth the effort. If securing perfect scores sounds like a huge pain in the ass, know that it’s surprisingly easy to chip away until you get there - it’s certainly not a grueling experience where you’re replaying the same mission for hours trying to shave off one second. If you don’t like harsh grading or the prospect of replaying areas more than a few times, you should probably avoid the game altogether.

Beyond the main game, there’s a Free Flight mode that lets you explore WuHu Island (the same one from Wii Sports Resort) at your leisure. At first this sounds like a throwaway mode, because the entire main game takes place on WuHu Island, so there’s no immediate reason to dick around even more in free flight. Thankfully, Nintendo’s tossed in all manner of collectibles, and finding these myriad objects unlocks several Smash Bros-style statues you can observe in another viewing mode.

The statues of vehicles and various Wuhu landmarks are good for a quick glance (it’s not like they’re new 3D renders of Mario and Link, after all), so the reward for all that searching isn’t necessarily worth the effort. However, the actual quest to find all of those Mii Trophies, White Balloons, Stunt Rings and so on is a lot of fun, and I relished each new discovery towards the end. Scanning the horizon for one last object, seeing it 500 feet below in between two seaside rocks and then pulling up at the last second to avoid a watery grave is a great feeling.

All that said, a few more areas would have been nice, as both the original game and Pilotwings 64 moved you through all kinds of new terrain. WuHu Island, even with its satellite islands, high cliffs and towering volcano, is still the same place day, evening and night.

I’m already a fan of both Pilotwings and flight games in general, so this semi-bare-bones approach really appeals to me. Some may see a game light on content, whereas I see a game that sticks to its guns and gets things done right. It make take just two hours to blow through the main game (again, if you’re really good), but perfecting those scores and finding all the goodies in Free Flight can rack up another 4-5 easily. System seller? Not quite. Fun, simple flight game that handles great and conveys a fantastic sense of speed and height? Absolutely.

Mar 23, 2011

More Info

Release date: Mar 27 2011 - 3DS (US)
Mar 25 2011 - 3DS (UK)
Available Platforms: 3DS
Genre: Flight
Published by: Nintendo
Developed by: Monster Games, Nintendo
ESRB Rating:
Everyone
PEGI Rating:
3+

19 comments

  • GameManiac - March 26, 2011 6:16 a.m.

    Super Street Fighter IV still has my money, but this game comes close.
  • Aletheon - March 24, 2011 5:01 p.m.

    I'd buy it if it was $30
  • funkymonk - March 24, 2011 4:43 a.m.

    Just played this at the 3ds Station in TimesSquare NY... Wasn't that impressed. The 3d was just as GR prescribed- neat, but not useful or enhancing. Honestly, it became rather annoying as my girlfriend kept wanting to check it out as I played because I kept losing the focus. As a side note, I played SF IV too and the 3d was much cooler. Still didn't persuade me into dropping any moola for the 3ds though.
  • marioman50 - March 24, 2011 3:39 a.m.

    AS GOOD AS HALO: REACH?!! WTF?! ... nah jk. Good review, Brett, but I think I have my eyes set on SSFIV 3D as my launch title of choice. I'd still love to give Pilotwings a try, though ^_^
  • ssj4raditz - March 24, 2011 1:50 a.m.

    Is that "2D image of Nintendo 3DS game" label going to have to be on every image in every 3DS review?
  • Spybreak8 - March 24, 2011 12:29 a.m.

    Yeah if they bundled this game with the system it'd be perfect.
  • Ravenbom - March 24, 2011 12:29 a.m.

    Well, now I'm starting to get that launch fever and now I think I might have to get a 3DS.
  • metroid2099400 - March 23, 2011 11:31 p.m.

    I'm glad to hear that this is fun in small doses. With this, Pokemon, and Okamiden, I ought to be able to hold out for the real Nintendo games.
  • santaclouse37 - March 23, 2011 10:39 p.m.

    Mods can delete this if they feel it's too much of a spoiler, but let's just say that maybe Pilot Wings has a little more vehicle variety than one would be led to assume...
  • super0sonic - March 23, 2011 10:01 p.m.

    YAY Pilotwings!!!! I need it so much.
  • bobob101 - March 23, 2011 9:49 p.m.

    The first Gamesradar reviewed 3Ds game is an 8, this is a sign of good things to come!!
  • shawksta - March 23, 2011 9:47 p.m.

    @Tobio Not exactly, we can expect some titles During the time until E3, Late May and early June to be more precise
  • Tobio - March 23, 2011 9:21 p.m.

    @shawksta Ehh... Didn't N say it wouldn't release any other first party titles for 3DS until after E3?
  • Romination - March 23, 2011 8:16 p.m.

    Nice to see that you liked it after your original tepid response. I'd always planned on getting this game, but now it seems even better.
  • shawksta - March 23, 2011 8:04 p.m.

    Great review, Im actually suprised this got an 8, I expected something lower like a 7 or 6! @claytonmiller Not entirely, the only legit is OOT coming is June 2, possible with Mario kart and Kid icarus, the others I dont know but i do Know that Paper Mario will take a longer development time.
  • Darthspud - March 23, 2011 7:06 p.m.

    Nice Review Brett, kinda like Wii Sports, never thought of that as a tech demo, however i think pilotwings would do much better as either a pack-in or 3DSware.
  • claytonmiller - March 23, 2011 7:03 p.m.

    @HarryBalls: If the launch date sheet that Gamestop gave me is to be believed, OoT is launching June 2nd. Also, Starfox 64, Mario Kart, Animal Crossing, Kid Icarus, and Paper Mario 3D (all these titles on one day makes me wonder if it is a placeholder date, though...).
  • HarryBalls - March 23, 2011 6:50 p.m.

    Looks neat... but, I don't think it warrants a purchase. When's re-OOT due again?
  • Cleanser247 - March 23, 2011 6:50 p.m.

    Looks great! Awesome review Elston : )

Showing 1-19 of 19 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000