Nintendo's E3 2016 plans: No Nintendo Direct, but there will be plenty o' Pokemon

TODO alt text

Nintendo won't have much of a presence at E3 2016, at least compared to years past. Instead of a booth brimming with games, the upcoming (and untitled) Legend of Zelda Wii U game is slated to be the only playable game on the show floor, and instead of a Nintendo Direct full of news and announcements, the company is hosting three streams, one for each day of the conference.

The June 14 stream, which begins at 9 am Pacific / 5 pm BST, will focus largely on Link's next adventure. Don't worry, The Legend of Zelda is not going to be the only thing happening with The House of Mario - contrary to what Nintendo said in its first press release on the topic. This stream will also feature some new Pokemon Sun and Moon details, even if the majority of airtime will go to the Hero of Time. 

On June 15, the Nintendo Treehouse will begin with a Pokemon Go Q&A at 10 am Pacific / 6 pm BST before moving on to stream Monster Hunter Generations, Dragon Quest 7: Fragments of the Forgotten Past, and Tokyo Mirage Sessions #FE. That last game should be of particular interest to JRPG fans, as it's the J-pop-infused crossover between the Shin Megami Tensei and Fire Emblem games.

Lastly, on June 16, Nintendo will host a "Pokemon Special" beginning at 7 am Pacific / 3 pm BST. There's no solid details on this yet, but naturally, I wouldn't be surprised if we got a little more info about Pokemon Sun and Moon as well as Pokemon Go. There's also a Pokemon-themed concert happening on June 14 as part of E3 Live, the open-to-the-public event happening just down the street. Maybe we'll get a recap of that as well?

In any case, bookmark this E3 2016 press conference schedule and you'll be able to keep up with all the news from every publisher, as it happens. 

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Hi! My name's Sam Prell. I'm a games journalist with a soft spot for MOBAs, MMOs, and puppies. I also unironically like Todd McFarlane's Spawn. May the '90s never die!
We recommend