Google+

Minecraft 1.0 review

AT A GLANCE
  • Building any blocky thing you can imagine
  • Stumbling onto interesting new areas and caves
  • New, detailed potion/enchanting system
  • Enjoyment is directly proportional to effort
  • Breaking a pick deep inside a mineshaft
  • Your social life disappearing

Once you’ve gotten a grip on the basic cycle of gather-craft-gather, don’t assume that the game has no more challenges to offer. Now that it’s “complete,” the world of Minecraft has quite a few more curveballs to throw at you, starting with the new end-game goal. In previous versions of the game, there was no real ending, and the game just kept going forever. A goal to work toward is what fans have waited for the longest, so it’s only fitting that it’s in the “final” version.

Beating the game means you’re going to have to go to the Nether (Minecraft’s version of hell, which now sports ruined buildings) at least once. Just getting there requires at least 10 blocks of Obsidian (one of the trickiest blocks to farm, as they’re always next to lava), and once you do, you’ll have to jump through some onerous combat, collection and crafting hoops before you’ll even get an inkling as to where the portal to the end boss is (and it’s always hidden in a dungeon deep underground). So there’s a fair bit to do in the game, even if you spend no time building things in the huge, open world – which you invariably will. Even if you ignore the addictiveness of building your own soaring, continually evolving fortresses, the new potions and enchantments aren’t going to craft themselves.

Above: Our Arcanorium is fully stocked with potion brewing stands and enchantment tables/books

Another new addition, the potions and enchantments are a huge piece of content in their own right. The new Brewing Stand and Enchantment Table both require advanced materials to make, and using it to enchant tools, weapons and armor consumes the skill points you gain by leveling up. Meanwhile, potions require a diverse mixture of materials and have a large range of effects, from restoring health instantly to granting resistance to fire damage.

Also new is the ability to create snow golems, friendly snowmen with pumpkin heads that hurl snowballs at hostile creatures. Add to these to a few tamed wolves (created by giving bones to stray wolves), and suddenly you have a veritable army on your side. Probably the weirdest new addition to the final version of Minecraft, however, is the Mooshroom. This is a creature that can be sheared for mushrooms, milked for mushroom stew, and looks like the sad result of a terrible accident involving a cow, a mushroom, a teleporter and Jeff Goldblum.

Above: Equal parts cool and horrifying

In addition to the standard Survival mode (described above), there are now two additional modes, Hardcore and Creative. Hardcore is like Survival, except your death is permanent – no respawns. Creative, meanwhile, gives you infinite blocks of every type, unlimited health, and the ability to fly. This mode is for those who just want to build and don’t want the hassle of exploring and gathering materials.

All of these modes can be played on a multiplayer server, which can be especially rewarding, as you and other players can build cooperatively at the same time, or marvel at each other’s structures as you happen by them. The multiplayer worlds are persistent, and display players and blocks in real time, but they do require a dedicated host server.

Now that it’s finally “finished,” Minecraft stands as a remarkable achievement - not only a well-rounded gaming experience, but a chance for players to experiment, explore freely and reshape their environment to an almost ludicrous level. If you own a computer and haven't given Minecraft a try, you're missing one of the most unique experiences of this generation.

More Info

Release date: Oct 14 2014 - PS Vita
Nov 18 2011 - PC (US)
Available Platforms: PS Vita, PS3, PC
Genre: Simulation
ESRB Rating:
Everyone 10+: Fantasy Violence

Topics

Minecraft Mojang

47 comments

  • Win_or_Wince - November 14, 2014 2:37 p.m.

    This is at the top of a few holiday lists this year, I'm sure. Mobile Gaming Taking Over the Video Game Industry: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bF2Y_j8d3vQ
  • jecika-chan - February 18, 2014 4:07 p.m.

    well this is cool I just got a Minecraft Upgrade Code and it was legit! Giveaway is going on here http://minecraft.cardcodes.net Read more at http://minecraft.cardcodes.net/#8c60zA7s3tGV8Gb5.99
  • Josephtomassi - February 9, 2014 3:19 a.m.

    holy moly! I got a Minecraft Upgrade Code and it was legit! I got it at http://minecraft.cardcodes.net Read more at http://minecraft.cardcodes.net/#4ee2fPTLbBl9LGB6.99
  • MonicaJae - August 15, 2012 11:32 p.m.

    why is MINECRAP in this? because of the sales volume?? please. first of all, minecrap sux for the pc. especially if you have an embedded gpu. what, you're gonna go out and buy a new pc JUST so you can play this fat piece of shit's game? because if you bought an incompatible pc/laptop BEFORE the game was released, you are pretty FUCKED. LIKE ME. worst 27 dollars spent EVER. i bought it for my son thinking, "oh i have this." what a fucking joke. and the forum is FULL of people complaining that they can't play the fucking "game" because it LAGS SO HARD. More than 90% of those "happy gamers". i'm selling my account for twenty usd if you want it. wanna make some of my money back. my son is miserable because i can't get this piece of shit to work. i mean, work out of the box, will you? i shouldn't have to alter code or download this or read that for this shit. And i most DEFINITELY should not have to spend more money on a compatible system JUST to be able to play this horse shit. this is america goddamn it and i like being the lazy, remote control holding woman i am. i have put more into trying to get this fucking joke of a JAVA PROGRAM to work than i had to reading Kant's Critique of Pure Reason in college. oh yeah i went there. bring it on.
  • seanbidwell - October 21, 2012 12:03 a.m.

    Did you check the system requirments BEFORE getting it?
  • iamthelol - March 3, 2013 11:49 a.m.

    OMG YOUR COMPUTER IS CRAP
  • Jalen-Steele - January 1, 2012 8:28 p.m.

    Minecraft in my opinion is actually really boring at first but after you get settled and start mining to the point where you get diamond thing it gets really fun. I didn't like it at the start too, but it grew on me, and if your like "Tobuscus" you can really have fun with it. I personally love the creepers, they can actually help you out if you need to dig a hole.
  • psycho ninja 4 - December 17, 2011 11:52 p.m.

    For some reason a lot of people i know hate minecraft. never found out why though. sham my computers to crap to run it.
  • Pwnz0r3d - December 16, 2011 10:34 a.m.

    The hilarious thing is that I can only play Minecraft on medium/low settings on a pc that can handle TF2 on high on a 100% crits server with no problems. On Minecraft, it chugs a LOT, especially at night, during a rain shower, and the Nether. Its even hard to play in sandbox mode because flying makes this thing go soooo slowwww.
  • jackthemenace - December 16, 2011 9:20 a.m.

    So, is the console version as expansive as this? And if it's NOT, is it available on Mac?
  • Person5 - December 16, 2011 4:54 p.m.

    the console version isn't nearly as expansive as the pc version (though this is the game you MUST play on a computer) there isn't a download client for mac OS that I've seen but you should still be able to play it in the browser until one is made
  • lazer59882 - December 15, 2011 8:36 p.m.

    i don't get this game. its literally just a sandbox for you to build your own game. how this could get a 9 is beyond me, but then again i shouldn't expect any better from the same media that thought little big planet was some kind of gaming revolution, when all it was was tools to build your own game.
  • huntreilly25 - December 15, 2011 9:18 p.m.

    have you tried the game? I would respect your dislike for the game if you had actually played it and were able to give concrete reasons for your dislike rather than just "not getting it". I understand that not everyone is going to like the game, but don't judge something before you give it a try.
  • gamebrain8505 - December 15, 2011 11:08 p.m.

    Well, actually it's not about making your own game like LBP, there is a story, there are many things wich you can not control, there are monsters, dungeons and such things to stimulate you. So, rest asured, this is not the "infinite resource, infinite possibility" thing, unless you specificly want it to be that.
  • talleyXIV - December 15, 2011 8:35 p.m.

    I literally play Team Fortress 2 with no frame rate lag whatsoever however the recent Minecraft keeps crashing. That's why this game deserves a 7. If he would've stopped the updates at 1.7, it would be an amazing game. The enchantment tables and the end, are two of the worst things about this game.
  • Cwf2008 - December 15, 2011 5:49 p.m.

    I think I'd enjoy it a lot more if the recent updates didn't make it lag like a bitch on my computer.
  • Net_Bastard - December 15, 2011 8:14 p.m.

    Optifine mod. I had the same problem until I downloaded that. Also you can allocate more RAM. reCAPTCHA: Igothe Original What original thing did I get?
  • BIOSback - December 15, 2011 4:09 p.m.

    Minecraft=Skyward Sword?
  • Dmancapri - December 15, 2011 2:06 p.m.

    SO ITS BETTER THAN HALO REACH?@?!?!?!?!?!?!?!??!?! :) Just kidding, spent more hours in minecraft than any other game

Showing 1-20 of 47 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000