Google+

Metroid Prime Trilogy review

AT A GLANCE
  • A fantastic value
  • Two great games are even better
  • Strong design choices bolster aged visuals
  • All three titles are very similar
  • Minor issues with them are still present
  • Waiting to see what Other M does next year

We’ve talked up the motion controls quite a bit in this review. Before we move on to the score and comparisons to other shooter options, let’s briefly run through the enhancements:



Above: GameCube controls, generally stiff and semi-awkward



Above: Wii controls of the same MP1 area, vastly improved


The old controls were strangely rigid, and didn’t allow for a lot of fast movement. Prime 3 ushered in a mouse-and-keyboard style of play where moving the remote moves the arm cannon and the camera, enabling precise aiming and quick turning. Even flipping between visors, weapons and map modes is easier thanks to the Wii Remote. Take note of that sentence, because we probably won’t be able to say that of any other game.


Is it better than…

Metroid Prime 3?
Um, yes? As of this writing, a new copy of Prime 3 still commands $40-50, so you would be undeniably insane to buy it instead of Trilogy at this point. It’s the same experience, but would you rather have just part three or the whole thing wrapped up in one disc?



The Conduit?
As far as we’re concerned, yes. Conduit boasted its motion-controlled aiming for months leading up its release in June, but we found them to be no better (and maybe a little worse) than Prime 3, which released in 2007. Then again, if you want more shooting and less researching, go Conduit.


Call of Duty: World at War?
Sure, if we’re talking about the Wii version. Though as with Conduit, if you’re more interested in blowing things away than immersing yourself in another world, Duty might be more your style. If you’d prefer something a little deeper and richer, something more in tune with Bioshock than a straight shooter, strongly consider Trilogy.




Just for you, Metacritic!

Three outstanding games (two of which are vastly enhanced with dead-on motion controls) available for the price of one. We can’t imagine a better deal on Wii this year.

Aug 14, 2009

More Info

Release date: Aug 24 2009 - Wii (US)
Available Platforms: Wii
Genre: Shooter
Published by: Nintendo
Developed by: Retro Studios
Franchise: Metroid
ESRB Rating:
Teen
PEGI Rating:
Rating Pending

57 comments

  • thing1amc - December 21, 2010 2:56 a.m.

    deserves a 10. no question. 3 of my favorite games of all time in a metallic box with art booklet? that 9 is disgraceful.
  • batmanboy11 - September 5, 2010 2:16 p.m.

    I really want this, but it costs $96 dollars on amazon.. looks like I'll have to spend that.
  • brickman409 - February 15, 2010 6:34 a.m.

    if you have a Wii but don't have this game then sell as much things as you can until you make $50 then buy this NOW!!!!! ..... or not
  • Triforce - January 27, 2010 9:43 p.m.

    The only time i have ever played any metroid related games was Super Smash Bros. Brawl and the samus on there rocks! I have always wanted to play but didnt know which to get first now i can get all three then other M.
  • rickie - January 26, 2010 3:03 p.m.

    Man, Metroid has come pretty far since I had it on my original Gameboy and Nintendo. This is pretty cool to have three dimensions to run around in. Something is lacking, or I'm too old, in that I', not intrigued by the puzzle solving anymore. It's a good game, but I see that it's going to gather some dust due to my impatience.
  • AkumaFalcon93 - December 4, 2009 12:50 p.m.

    seriously mp3c samus doesnt lose her powers play the game
  • taylorte10 - August 25, 2009 11:08 p.m.

    metroid sucks ballls
  • basil - August 21, 2009 5:40 p.m.

    I wonder if its going to have online multiplayer and if not, I hope it keeps the multiplayer from mp2
  • doomdoomdoom - August 20, 2009 11:07 p.m.

    Fuck Nintendo Fuck Mario Fuck Metroid Fuck the Wii And go fuck wii owners that like Mario And Fuck Street Fighter 4 This is a message from The Wii Sucks Dick Corps.
  • Dadyo238 - January 7, 2012 8:34 p.m.

    Fuck doomdoomdoom And before you go all " what a dumbass, a Ninty fanboy" I would like to let you know that I am of a proud PS3 owner, but people who ignore the importance of gaming's most experienced giant( there's a reason both Sony and Microsoft have both switched to motion controls) should go screw themselves.
  • Dadyo238 - January 7, 2012 8:36 p.m.

    Although I can agree on SFIV. ReCaptcha: cast+ Foomula
  • matt588 - August 18, 2009 5:31 a.m.

    I own all 3 games and loved them all, shame on you GR for making the controls for MP1 look so rigid, but since it was a great review I guess I can ignore it. I loved the way MP3 eventually gives you the map for the powerups, but having to pay for the bonus art and soundtracks was very annoying.
  • Embolado - August 17, 2009 9:11 p.m.

    never got into the prime series maybe if Nintendo ever lowers the price of the Wii I might be impuled to buy again..maybe
  • FlyinMX - August 17, 2009 7:49 p.m.

    I have all three, I just don't see the point in buying them again. I never found the original controls that bad to be honest. I'd recommend it to anyone who hasn't played the first two though. Especially the first.
  • Amatarasu - August 17, 2009 8:32 a.m.

    hmm,never much cared for metroid,and i;m still extremly dislike nintindo, the only thing i'll by on wii is a starfox,f-zero,or game staring luigi (i liked mansion more then galaxy) Recaptcha: Sam pups
  • TheWebSwinger - August 17, 2009 8:04 a.m.

    One of the few Wii games I would buy...if indeed I had a Wii.
  • PS3FANBOYKID - August 16, 2009 5:59 p.m.

    WHAT THE FUCK!!! THAT GAME IS AN 11 OUT OF 10!!!
  • dahsif - August 16, 2009 6:26 a.m.

    This can not come to Europa soon enough. It'll be the first real game I play on WII since... I downloaded SONIC1 off the virtual console ages ago. (Wii FIT doesn't count!)
  • Moschetto - August 16, 2009 12:07 a.m.

    Almost an insult to compare it to Bioshock.
  • magicwalnuts0 - August 15, 2009 5:56 p.m.

    Alittle like Bioshock. ALOT more like System Shock 2, AKA a shooter action RPG. Good review but sometimes I wonder how many games some of GRs writers have played. Instead of plugging dumbed down recent iterations of older games, why not cite the original?

Showing 1-20 of 57 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000