Google+

Metroid: Other M review

Back to Article

88 comments

  • FauxFurry - August 28, 2010 6:20 a.m.

    For a type of hybrid that's been completely untested up until this point,all of the reviews,including this 7 out of 10,are pretty impressive. They went out of their way to prove that old bit of advice from Bill Cosby about not trying to please everyone or you'll end up pleasing noone wrong. Of course they weren't up to the task. I doubt that anyone would have been,least of all on the first try. Had they played it safe and scaled it back to simply be 'Ninja Gaiden in power armor',it might have had a better result. That's where Team Ninja shines,after all.It's right there in their team name! Since the plot already has contrived reasons for not having access to all of Samus' armor abilities,why not come up with some excuse for why her ranged weapons aren't as effective as learning and using new melee weapons, maybe a blade of pure Phazon or something? Instead of Ninja Magic,it could be bigger bombs and magnetic fields!
  • cheezitmonster - August 28, 2010 5:20 a.m.

    I knew that I wouldn't get the game in the first place because I hate the graphical style. Many people might disagree with me on this, but I don't like how samus is so small on screen, I don't like how the camera is fixed in either and overhead veiw, a side veiw, or really far from samus making eviroments look less awesome because you can't look around to see the landscaping and architexture unless you're in 1st person, but then you can't move. the only kind of games that I really like graphically are when the camera is on the character's back ( like in zelda, 3d mario games, and 3rd person shooters) or just 2d, or 1st person ( like metroid prime)
  • Gavo - August 28, 2010 4:44 a.m.

    I guess I'll just rent it. Lame. C'mon, Retro Studios. Give us back Prime. At least make Metroid Dread.
  • marioman50 - August 28, 2010 4:37 a.m.

    Game developers are stubborn. They should take games journalists' feedback seriously.
  • keefster - August 28, 2010 4:04 a.m.

    I wasn't gonna buy this game in the first place but luckily my brothers a big metroid junkie, even though he doesn't have a wii, I do. Lol. At least its convenient for me, I will have a chance to play it, with nothin' to lose. I kind of like the idea of the third person style, but meh. Anyway who cares dkc returns and new zelda woo00e0weqeqt!!!
  • Thuperman - August 28, 2010 2:57 a.m.

    I really wanted this game to be really great
  • GodofPS314 - August 28, 2010 2:50 a.m.

    The Wii has seen better days. Even one of the leading franchises got a decent score. Zelda, please hold up.
  • ChrisRapeRazedTylerWildeInTheBackOfBrettsVantista - August 28, 2010 2:35 a.m.

    please nintendo, license your decent franchises so they can be put on systems where your'e not forced to play a god damn 3d game with a god damn d-pad so some shitty half-assed motion control bullshit is implemented. pleaaaaaaase
  • ChrisRapeRazedTylerWildeInTheBackOfBrettsVantista - August 28, 2010 2:26 a.m.

    woah, that video makes it look like metroid combined with god of war or something. wtf
  • Onepersonwithnoopinion - August 28, 2010 1:31 a.m.

    Haters gonna hate. I'm still picking this up.
  • Tenfey - August 28, 2010 1:08 a.m.

    I read this review 10 or 12 times.
  • JoeMasturbaby - August 27, 2010 11:53 p.m.

    your review read like a 4-6/10. its ok to show your disappointment brett, we understand.
  • cswalley23 - August 27, 2010 11:52 p.m.

    i think i REALLY HATE THE GUY WHO WROTE THIS NOW. nintendo get on his bad side?
  • TreThaCapBusta - August 27, 2010 10:49 p.m.

    you know it would be funny but kind of effed up sonic colors get a better score than this game and i would bet on it
  • gangjute8 - August 27, 2010 10:40 p.m.

    Aw... I was hoping it would do much better... Well, I suppose I'll just get Metroid Prime Trilogy then maybe rent Other M...
  • Silvermech - August 27, 2010 10:18 p.m.

    I don't know. I have NEVER finished a Metroid game, because of the play style. But I don't think I'll enjoy the game as much as I would without actually having to think.
  • 510BrotherPanda - August 27, 2010 10:15 p.m.

    All that hard-earned Wii Music/ Wii Sports money was funding bland tits... *sigh*
  • Cyberninja - August 27, 2010 10:01 p.m.

    well seeing as i cant hate any game a 7 is a score that says play it first then buy it if you like it.
  • FantasticMrStarFox - August 27, 2010 9:47 p.m.

    I'll probably still rent this.
  • TheWebSwinger - August 27, 2010 9:36 p.m.

    Seems like Brett's Nintendo-franchise-exclusive Wii reviews have been skewing low as of late...perhaps his expectations are too high for the flagship characters.

Showing 21-40 of 88 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Available Platforms: Wii
Genre: Action
Published by: Nintendo
Developed by: Team Ninja
Franchise: Metroid
ESRB Rating:
Rating Pending
PEGI Rating:
Rating Pending

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.