Google+

Medal of Honor super review

AT A GLANCE
  • The exceptional multiplayer
  • The characters, voice acting, and storytelling
  • That when it works, it's thrilling
  • The campaign's premature ending
  • Dull, repetitive combat
  • Knowing how much more it could have done

Final Judgment

If the campaign is your primary interest, consider looking elsewhere, but if you don't mind powering through a fun, if not groundbreaking, campaign before hunkering down for a long, cold multiplayer campaign this winter, MoH should be on your radar. That's especially true if the nature of recent CoD games has you desiring something with fewer detonating remote control cars.

Our final score reflects an overall impression of the game, and assumes you are the type who is willing to invest some time in the multiplayer.


Is it better than?

Modern Warfare 2? For me it is. MW2's campagin was superior - it took more risks, and just did more. But I quickly tired of MW2's multiplayer gimmicks. I much prefer DICE's straight-laced, more focused approach. Heartbeat sensors? None of that here - just me, my rifle, and my targets.

 

 

Battlefield: Bad Company 2? Again, it depends. MoH's campaign will offer more thrills-per-second, and more character, but... who bought Bad Company 2 for the singleplayer? In the multiplayer department, well, it's DICE vs. DICE, so take your pick. If you prefer Battlefield's style, then so be it, but for a change of pace, MoH tightens things up and stands strong on its own. Even if you're a diehard Battlefield fan, MoH is at least a worthy segue between BC2 and Battelfield 3. For me, MoH is the better experience.

 

Medal of Honor: Allied Assault? No. Sure, you'd probably have more fun playing the modern reboot than going back to MoHAA, but that's because MoHAA is almost ten years old. But I just can't call it "better" when Allied Assault was such a revelation. In both the campaign and the multiplayer, it was big, bold, and new. It was to war games what Saving Private Ryan was to film, and this reboot just doesn't stun in the same way.

 

 

Just for you, Metacritic!

Medal of Honor's campaign is well-scripted and well-acted, and parts of it are superbly nerve-racking, but its uninventive missions and premature ending left us wanting. The multiplayer, however, is a different game. No, it's actually a different game, and it's what DICE does best. If you've tired of CoD, Medal of Honor might be just the medicine you need.

More Info

Release date: Oct 12 2010 - Xbox 360, PS3, PC (US)
Oct 15 2010 - Xbox 360, PS3, PC (UK)
Available Platforms: Xbox 360, PS3, PC
Genre: Shooter
Published by: Electronic Arts
Developed by: EA Los Angeles, DICE
Franchise: Medal of Honor
ESRB Rating:
Mature: Blood, Strong Language, Violence
PEGI Rating:
18+

87 comments

  • Austin_SJ - October 12, 2010 1:05 p.m.

    So what you're telling me is that it's only as good as Halo: Reach? In all seriousness though the combat being dull and repetitive doesn't make me want to pick it up. The story and stuff doesn't matter all that much.
  • veryweirdguy - October 12, 2010 1:16 p.m.

    Meh, if it's only as good as Halo: Reach I don't think I'll bother. Great review though! (I might give it a look really.)
  • Bloodstorm - October 12, 2010 1:17 p.m.

    I'm interested, but with the plethora of games ATM, I probably won't bite just yet. Side note: How the heck was I supposed to translate this? reCaptcha is getting ridiculous, and still doesn't keep spambots out. http://www.google.com/recaptcha/api/image?c=03AHJ_Vus88Kdwbd5D2cTJX0-RUN9-VV5UV2x2tY0D26__tvlIf0dMoa8sMYyEedJT-4UI6pIr_JT6QVZoADtlaEPUuRPGdXVOPFrZ22_xIcHUO6lxxQpGwlYVp43_qduaq5jr-INzvAoF4yyBnFAosKExzyYiXvvWxA
  • Bomberman - October 12, 2010 1:20 p.m.

    Sounds better than MW2 I'll give it a shot
  • JohnnyMaverik - October 12, 2010 1:23 p.m.

    Eh, I'll give it a miss, sounds like the campaign is complete balls, having hell yea america jingoism spunked into my face just isn't my idea of a fun weekend.
  • loonyman978 - October 12, 2010 1:26 p.m.

    I dont mind if the campiagns average, it'll still be fairly fun. And anything could be better than MW2's broken multiplayer, definatly picking this up
  • BoondockSaint54 - October 12, 2010 1:28 p.m.

    Awesome. Just the tag line "It's not Call of Duty" sells it for me.
  • StrayGator - October 12, 2010 1:32 p.m.

    SO IT ISN"T AS GOOD AS RED STEEL 1!!! iCLSHNNGNZ!
  • Baron164 - October 12, 2010 1:37 p.m.

    The multiplayer sounds more up my ally than Modern Warfare's. I got tired of the ADD designed multiplayer and the million things to unlock turned me off because I hate having to wait till level 15 to unlock this mode or level 20 to unlock this rifle. I just want to play and not get my ass handed to me because I don't have this such and such a perk. The campaign sounds a bit disappointing but I'm still looking forward to going through it. And I'll play the Tier 1 if for nothing else a challenge.
  • db1331 - October 12, 2010 1:39 p.m.

    SO YOU ARE GOING TO SIT THERE WITH THAT SMUG FACE AND STUPID CAT AND TELL ME THAT THIS GAME IS JUST AS GOOD AS HALO REACH!?!!? Honestly, this game looked average all the way. I played the beta and that confirmed it. If this came out before CoD4 it would probably be a lot more exciting. This game doesn't stand a chance with Black Ops dropping next month. The servers will be ghost towns by the end of the year.
  • OnyxOblivion - October 12, 2010 1:54 p.m.

    About what I expected. I do believe I'd like it better than BC2, though. Not as much as 1943.
  • Robx - October 12, 2010 1:56 p.m.

    @db1331 True that bro, I felt this was between CoD and Battlefield on gameplay terms, but after playing the beta it felt really dull, doubt this will keep up with the other two.
  • keefster - October 12, 2010 2:01 p.m.

    So its better than MW2 but you gave it two points less? K w/e. wow, my fuckin recapthca has some weird spanish symbol, wtf is this.
  • grappler51 - October 12, 2010 2:14 p.m.

    I had fun with the Multiplayer open beta, but after hearing about the campaign I'm not sure if I'll get this. As much as I dislike activision, COD:BO seems to be doing more with the multiplayer, so I'll probably get it instead.
  • Jbo87 - October 12, 2010 2:18 p.m.

    My copies already on its way to me. Preordered this a while ago as I figured it would be pretty good even if it wasn't mind blowing but the clincher for me is the Battlefield 3 Beta access that comes with it. Cannae fooking wait for that.
  • BK-201 - October 12, 2010 2:19 p.m.

    Doubt I'll get this, don't really care for BC2's style of multiplayer and Black Ops is coming out next month.
  • Redeater - October 12, 2010 2:38 p.m.

    (insert random comparison to Halo Reach here)
  • Turboash - October 12, 2010 2:46 p.m.

    So it's marginally better than a game that came out a year ago. No thanks. Why everyone isn't sick and god damn tired of 'realistic modern shooters' is beyond me. My next shooter will be Duke Nukem!
  • Embolado - October 12, 2010 3:03 p.m.

    Wow Tyler, way to compramise on your game review. You just gave it a 8 so you wont be accused of hating america. Im suprised that Chris hasnt discovered your communist side. God damn jew loving canadian. ;)
  • CARDYKEV - October 12, 2010 3:09 p.m.

    Hopefully "on rails", overly linear FPS games are on their way out, especially on the PC

Showing 1-20 of 87 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000