Google+

Medal of Honor super review

AT A GLANCE
  • The exceptional multiplayer
  • The characters, voice acting, and storytelling
  • That when it works, it's thrilling
  • The campaign's premature ending
  • Dull, repetitive combat
  • Knowing how much more it could have done

Medal of Honor – The Multiplayer

If you don't care for multiplayer, think twice before buying Medal of Honor. But if multiplayer is your primary focus, then while you may finish the campaign in just five hours or so, you'll likely spend much more time combating human opponents.

Keep it simple, stupid

DICE has done a superb job combining the frantic, tight-spaces of Call of Duty and previous Medal of Honor games with Battlefield's open, objective-based matches. My favorite mode, Combat Mission, sees one side defend a linear series of strongholds as the other attempts to capture them one by one. It takes the experience of Battlefield and compresses it into a straight line, which I prefer, as it focuses the action to a single front. Yes, it involves less strategy on the part of each team, but I'd call it "simplification" as opposed to a "dumbing down."

The other modes, Team Assault, Objective Raid, and Sector Control, are standard multiplayer modes, which are common amongst other games of the sort. Respectively, they equate to team deathmatch, "sabatoge," in which the OPFOR must plant explosives while Coalition forces disarm them, and "domination," in which both sides attempt to capture and hold objectives.

There are three classes, Rifleman, Special Ops, and Sniper, and to be effective, you'll probably have to switch between at least two of them. Like Battlefield, the more experience you gain with a class, the more you'll unlock for that class. There are far fewer unlocks than in Modern Warfare 2, but that's not a bad thing. Keeping the number of weapons and upgrades (scopes, extra magazines, etc.) down prevents the game from becoming an arms race - all of the weapons have advantages and disadvantages, and all are worth trying.

Support actions, which are acquired by earning score streaks, are available to everyone regardless of level, and none of them are so powerful that they crush the opposing team's will to fight. Still, there are times when you'll be spawn killed repeatedly as mortar fire and rockets rain down, or when the enemy spawns within firing range. Some of the maps are just too small. It's frustrating, but as part of a frantic defense it makes sense (sometimes). All multiplayer games are frustrating here and there.

But not too simple...

Combat Mission is by far my favorite mode, but there are only three scenarios: Helmand Valley, Mazar-I-Sharif Airfield, and Shahikhot Mountains. For the other three modes, there are five maps... five small maps. They're too small and too cramped for my liking. It's not quite enough, but of course, DICE will be releasing new content in the same way it has for Battlefield: Bad Company 2.

But does Medal of Honor's multiplayer bring anything new? Not really. If you're growing weary of military shooters, don't expect MoH to reinvigorate you. While I appreciate DICE's style of multiplayer, it could have taken more from the zeitgeist. I like Modern Warfare 2's customizable tags, which identify players with logos and background. I'm not a fan of Halo, but I'm fascinated by its Theater and Forge modes, and why they haven't been more copied baffles me.

MoH's multiplayer could be more exciting, flashier even. But DICE choose to keep it reserved, and that's okay, because it does what it does so well. It's an experience you can't get elsewhere, but it's safer than it is innovative, and it isn't the Next Big Thing.


Multiplayer Verdict: 8/10 ("Great")

Next page: Is Medal of Honor better than Modern Warfare 2?

More Info

Release date: Oct 12 2010 - Xbox 360, PS3, PC (US)
Oct 15 2010 - Xbox 360, PS3, PC (UK)
Available Platforms: Xbox 360, PS3, PC
Genre: Shooter
Published by: Electronic Arts
Developed by: EA Los Angeles, DICE
Franchise: Medal of Honor
ESRB Rating:
Mature: Blood, Strong Language, Violence
PEGI Rating:
18+

87 comments

  • Zepaw - June 19, 2011 11:06 p.m.

    The game was so overwrought it was almost unbearable. I would give it an 8/10 as well anywhere for the funa ction but adjusted to a 6/10 after multiple glitches made restarting the mission the only way to go onward.
  • captaingrumpy - October 22, 2010 9:30 p.m.

    I found the same in MoH 4. It seemed to lose a lot of "testing you" areas.They are really relying on the past to sell it.I think they need new talent and not a replay of past games.
  • nicolaslara - October 20, 2010 12:41 p.m.

    cool
  • FreshOutofWarpCores - October 15, 2010 5:59 a.m.

    Ahhh, why won't any big name war series invest more effort into their single player? I love single player and couldn't care less about a multilayer which can all be traced back to the counter-strike MOHAH roots. These new only only help reinforce the camping attitude in order to ramp up a killing spree bonus. I guess I'm just too spoiled from TF2. Sorry for the rant but I can't justify spending $60 for a multilayer game which may be outdated by a new game or a map pack in a few months.
  • abigfatfish - October 15, 2010 12:01 a.m.

    you no this game always looked bad. and fye halo reach is great. number one in sales across all platforms. number one game on xbox live. and this web site is the only one that gave it an eight.
  • Zeb364 - October 14, 2010 10:08 p.m.

    I'm curious about the final number score. It's not the stamdard complaint that you hear from every other gamer on the planet (this game I haven't played doesn't deserve an 8) but instead it's just that you scored the campaign a 7 and the multiplayer an 8 but somehow the total was an 8. I don't understand how an 8 and a 7 ends up being an 8, it just doesn't make sense to me. I would assume that since it got a 7 and an 8 that the total would be 7.5. Now if you don't use decimal points I guess I could see rounding it up to an 8 but I would think it would make more sense to round it down to 7. Maybe that's just me.
  • darkside1214 - October 14, 2010 1:56 p.m.

    I'm not saying that I support Modern warfare or anything, but how is this game better than Modern Warfare if it only got an 8?
  • CaptCOMMANDO - October 14, 2010 3:45 a.m.

    K.I.S.S I learned that in journalism to! My only complaint of MoH was the beard. How am i supposed to connect with my characters if he looks like he lives in a cardboard box?
  • nwnfan98 - October 14, 2010 2:41 a.m.

    WTF is with all you guys comparing this game to that shit storm Halo Reach get the fuck over it man
  • BishopofHippo93 - October 14, 2010 2:37 a.m.

    I'm torn. This game was never really high on my list, but as a fan of the franchise, I had high hopes for it. I probably won't get Black Ops, not yet anyway, and for all you fanboys out there: Give it a rest!
  • Cmccormick94 - October 14, 2010 1:44 a.m.

    (Captain Price’s moustache has nothing on these guys) I take offense to that. Otherwise, nice review. This was exactly how I thought it would be: Good, but not great. And if it gives COD haters something to gobbly goop over, more power to them. But if COD is so popular, then they most be doing something right.
  • mikeydo00 - October 13, 2010 10:53 p.m.

    Sorry I can't comprehend english i guess and everyone else just shut the fuck up about this and halo haveing the same score
  • mikeydo00 - October 13, 2010 10:50 p.m.

    TYPO: FIRST SENTENCE UNDER CAMPAIGN!!!!!! SAYS: EVER SHOULD SAY NEVER!!!!
  • Tesiero - October 13, 2010 3:55 p.m.

    I played this game cause it looked awsome and I had high hopes for it But I can honestly say this the game was huge disappointment for me with the MP how can you have a sniper and not be able to go prone the graphics looked awsome but during the MP they seemed like watching a low budget film to me anyway and the server kept crashing with a whopping 9900 pple on not enough guns for my taste movement was wierd as well I traded it in this morning for $22 and while go for black ops I hope this was helpful I guess if you were a huge fan of battlefield this is for you
  • RacoonHail - October 13, 2010 2:22 p.m.

    It is sad to hear that they did not seem to change much from the beta, I got to play that since I own BC2 and it was fairly underwhelming and it does not sound like they changed my chief problem with the multiplayer. The maps were too small for the BC2 style of fighting that DICE excels at. Considering that BC2 is coming out with new content this winter I cannot think of a reason to get this game.
  • philipshaw - October 13, 2010 12:51 p.m.

    It's disappointing to hear that the single player isn't great, I don't play much multiplayer so I don't think I will pick this up
  • frfv18 - October 13, 2010 12:49 p.m.

    welcome to: http://www.loveshoppingplace.com SOCCER JERSEY 16USD jordan shoes $32 nike shox $32 Christan Audigier bikini $23 Ed Hardy Bikini $23 Smful short_t-shirt_woman $15 ed hardy short_tank_woman $16 Sandal $32 christian louboutin $80 Sunglass $15 COACH_Necklace $27 handbag $33 AF tank woman $17 puma slipper woman $30 http://www.loveshoppingplace.com
  • fhd74 - October 13, 2010 12:04 p.m.

    Hello,everybody,the good shopping place,the new year approaching, click in. Let's facelift bar! ===== http://www.shoeboxs.us === Air jordan(1-24)shoes $30 BOOT $50 Nike (R4,NZ,OZ,TL1,TL2,TL3) $33 Handbags(Coach lv fendi d&g) $33 Tshirts (Polo ,ed hardy,lacoste) $16 Jean(True Religion,ed hardy,coogi) $30 2 Sunglasses(Oakey,coach,gucci,Armaini) $12 New era cap $9 Bikini (Ed hardy,polo) $18 FREE SHoPPING ( http://www.shoeboxs.us )
  • halfdime - October 13, 2010 8:15 a.m.

    How many times did the phrase "Tier 1" appear in this review?
  • juicenpancakes - October 13, 2010 6:30 a.m.

    Is anyone else sick of the stupid ironic and sarcastic Reach comments? It's not a clever joke to say "Oh! So this is the same game as Reach?! And it's two points less than MW2?!" if everyone else is saying it. I guess GR will never again be able to post a review with the comments only pertaining to actual game and review (which I guess might also be idiotic flaming anyway).

Showing 1-20 of 87 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000