Google+

Medal of Honor super review

AT A GLANCE
  • The exceptional multiplayer
  • The characters, voice acting, and storytelling
  • That when it works, it's thrilling
  • The campaign's premature ending
  • Dull, repetitive combat
  • Knowing how much more it could have done

Medal of Honor, like Halo: Reach, really requires two reviews: one for the campaign, and one for the multiplayer. MoH's campaign and multiplayer weren’t even created by the same developers, and don’t run on the same engines. It's two games in one box, so even more so than Reach, its two sides need separate treatment. Of course, it's still one box for one price, so I'll give each half of the game separate attention, and then rate the whole as an amalgamation of both.


Medal of Honor – The Campaign

It’s funny that there was ever any controversy over Medal of Honor’s treatment of American soldiers, because one mission into Danger Close's campaign and it’s clear that this is the game version of God Bless the USA (“Where at least I know I’m freeeee!”).

The campaign is loosely based on real battles, but takes place in a fictional Afghanistan where the Coalition consists only of America (excepting a brief cut scene cameo by the Afghan National Army), and the mission is clear: kill as many Taliban soldiers as possible.

The game opens with a battle through a Taliban-infested town in search of an informant. Once rescued, the informant reveals that the Taliban is gathering in a nearby valley, and assures the elite Tier 1 operators of his sincerity with a should-be-satirical, “Puh-lease! I want my daughter to go to school, have a life! You must keel them all!” Bring in the red, white, and blue, bitch!

Short and bittersweet

But despite its over-simplification, the most exceptional aspects of the campaign are the writing and voice acting. The Tier 1 special-ops teams, Neptune and Wolfpack, contain surprisingly likable, sympathetic bearded warriors (Captain Price’s moustache has nothing on these guys). The story is kept simple, as it should be: there are a bunch of Taliban in a valley, the Tier 1 operators enter to weaken defenses and provide intel, a jerk-ass general insists that the rangers be sent in prematurely, and everything goes tits up.


Above: Tits up

But despite some tense moments and big explosions, the campaign is underwhelming. The Tier 1 missions will get your heart rate up a few times, but they're nevertheless linear, "go here do this" affairs, and lack much creativity or mental stimulation. Shoot guys, move to a new position, shoot more guys. If you're any good at shooters at all, play on "hard" for any kind of challenge.

Arguably the game’s best mission takes place around the middle of the campaign, and doesn’t involve either Tier 1 team - it’s as an Army Ranger that you charge up the side of dusty mountain and desperately hold off a Taliban ambush in the most Spielberg-esque moment of the game. More of that, and less driving ATVs around at night, and the game might have soared higher. It's just not dirty or terrifying enough to be the modern shooter to beat.

My biggest complaint is that the campaign ends somewhere in the second act, just as you've become invested in the characters, and the final line, “This isn’t over,” will leave you wondering, “So why are the credits playing?”

Aside from that, the hit detection isn’t fantastic, the enemy AI is occasionally glitchy, and while parts of it look and feel great, there’s a general lack of polish. A teammate opens a door by sticking his claw-hand ten inches away from it. Enemies standing right next to you, separated by only a half-wall, duck and shoot as if you’re half-a-mile away. When most of the game is so well-made, these things stick out.

You'll probably play through MoH's campaign in one or two sittings, and you'll have fun doing it. It's compelling enough, but it doesn’t bring a lot of new ideas (and borrows a few elements from Modern Warfare), and while it almost makes up for that with strong characters, it shoots itself in the foot when it gives up before the third act.

Tier 1 mode, which allows you to replay each level in arcade-style, with increased difficulty and a timer, should add some replay-value, but... meh. If it at least included co-op, like Modern Warfare 2's Special Ops mode, it may be a bonus, but it doesn't, and it's the same missions you already played, not new skirmishes.


Campaign Verdict: 7/10 ("Good")

Next Page: Our review of Medal of Honor's multiplayer

More Info

Release date: Oct 12 2010 - Xbox 360, PS3, PC (US)
Oct 15 2010 - Xbox 360, PS3, PC (UK)
Available Platforms: Xbox 360, PS3, PC
Genre: Shooter
Published by: Electronic Arts
Developed by: EA Los Angeles, DICE
Franchise: Medal of Honor
ESRB Rating:
Mature: Blood, Strong Language, Violence
PEGI Rating:
18+

87 comments

  • Zepaw - June 19, 2011 11:06 p.m.

    The game was so overwrought it was almost unbearable. I would give it an 8/10 as well anywhere for the funa ction but adjusted to a 6/10 after multiple glitches made restarting the mission the only way to go onward.
  • captaingrumpy - October 22, 2010 9:30 p.m.

    I found the same in MoH 4. It seemed to lose a lot of "testing you" areas.They are really relying on the past to sell it.I think they need new talent and not a replay of past games.
  • nicolaslara - October 20, 2010 12:41 p.m.

    cool
  • FreshOutofWarpCores - October 15, 2010 5:59 a.m.

    Ahhh, why won't any big name war series invest more effort into their single player? I love single player and couldn't care less about a multilayer which can all be traced back to the counter-strike MOHAH roots. These new only only help reinforce the camping attitude in order to ramp up a killing spree bonus. I guess I'm just too spoiled from TF2. Sorry for the rant but I can't justify spending $60 for a multilayer game which may be outdated by a new game or a map pack in a few months.
  • abigfatfish - October 15, 2010 12:01 a.m.

    you no this game always looked bad. and fye halo reach is great. number one in sales across all platforms. number one game on xbox live. and this web site is the only one that gave it an eight.
  • Zeb364 - October 14, 2010 10:08 p.m.

    I'm curious about the final number score. It's not the stamdard complaint that you hear from every other gamer on the planet (this game I haven't played doesn't deserve an 8) but instead it's just that you scored the campaign a 7 and the multiplayer an 8 but somehow the total was an 8. I don't understand how an 8 and a 7 ends up being an 8, it just doesn't make sense to me. I would assume that since it got a 7 and an 8 that the total would be 7.5. Now if you don't use decimal points I guess I could see rounding it up to an 8 but I would think it would make more sense to round it down to 7. Maybe that's just me.
  • darkside1214 - October 14, 2010 1:56 p.m.

    I'm not saying that I support Modern warfare or anything, but how is this game better than Modern Warfare if it only got an 8?
  • CaptCOMMANDO - October 14, 2010 3:45 a.m.

    K.I.S.S I learned that in journalism to! My only complaint of MoH was the beard. How am i supposed to connect with my characters if he looks like he lives in a cardboard box?
  • nwnfan98 - October 14, 2010 2:41 a.m.

    WTF is with all you guys comparing this game to that shit storm Halo Reach get the fuck over it man
  • BishopofHippo93 - October 14, 2010 2:37 a.m.

    I'm torn. This game was never really high on my list, but as a fan of the franchise, I had high hopes for it. I probably won't get Black Ops, not yet anyway, and for all you fanboys out there: Give it a rest!
  • Cmccormick94 - October 14, 2010 1:44 a.m.

    (Captain Price’s moustache has nothing on these guys) I take offense to that. Otherwise, nice review. This was exactly how I thought it would be: Good, but not great. And if it gives COD haters something to gobbly goop over, more power to them. But if COD is so popular, then they most be doing something right.
  • mikeydo00 - October 13, 2010 10:53 p.m.

    Sorry I can't comprehend english i guess and everyone else just shut the fuck up about this and halo haveing the same score
  • mikeydo00 - October 13, 2010 10:50 p.m.

    TYPO: FIRST SENTENCE UNDER CAMPAIGN!!!!!! SAYS: EVER SHOULD SAY NEVER!!!!
  • Tesiero - October 13, 2010 3:55 p.m.

    I played this game cause it looked awsome and I had high hopes for it But I can honestly say this the game was huge disappointment for me with the MP how can you have a sniper and not be able to go prone the graphics looked awsome but during the MP they seemed like watching a low budget film to me anyway and the server kept crashing with a whopping 9900 pple on not enough guns for my taste movement was wierd as well I traded it in this morning for $22 and while go for black ops I hope this was helpful I guess if you were a huge fan of battlefield this is for you
  • RacoonHail - October 13, 2010 2:22 p.m.

    It is sad to hear that they did not seem to change much from the beta, I got to play that since I own BC2 and it was fairly underwhelming and it does not sound like they changed my chief problem with the multiplayer. The maps were too small for the BC2 style of fighting that DICE excels at. Considering that BC2 is coming out with new content this winter I cannot think of a reason to get this game.
  • philipshaw - October 13, 2010 12:51 p.m.

    It's disappointing to hear that the single player isn't great, I don't play much multiplayer so I don't think I will pick this up
  • frfv18 - October 13, 2010 12:49 p.m.

    welcome to: http://www.loveshoppingplace.com SOCCER JERSEY 16USD jordan shoes $32 nike shox $32 Christan Audigier bikini $23 Ed Hardy Bikini $23 Smful short_t-shirt_woman $15 ed hardy short_tank_woman $16 Sandal $32 christian louboutin $80 Sunglass $15 COACH_Necklace $27 handbag $33 AF tank woman $17 puma slipper woman $30 http://www.loveshoppingplace.com
  • fhd74 - October 13, 2010 12:04 p.m.

    Hello,everybody,the good shopping place,the new year approaching, click in. Let's facelift bar! ===== http://www.shoeboxs.us === Air jordan(1-24)shoes $30 BOOT $50 Nike (R4,NZ,OZ,TL1,TL2,TL3) $33 Handbags(Coach lv fendi d&g) $33 Tshirts (Polo ,ed hardy,lacoste) $16 Jean(True Religion,ed hardy,coogi) $30 2 Sunglasses(Oakey,coach,gucci,Armaini) $12 New era cap $9 Bikini (Ed hardy,polo) $18 FREE SHoPPING ( http://www.shoeboxs.us )
  • halfdime - October 13, 2010 8:15 a.m.

    How many times did the phrase "Tier 1" appear in this review?
  • juicenpancakes - October 13, 2010 6:30 a.m.

    Is anyone else sick of the stupid ironic and sarcastic Reach comments? It's not a clever joke to say "Oh! So this is the same game as Reach?! And it's two points less than MW2?!" if everyone else is saying it. I guess GR will never again be able to post a review with the comments only pertaining to actual game and review (which I guess might also be idiotic flaming anyway).

Showing 1-20 of 87 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000