Google+

Mass Effect 3 review

Excellent
Back to Article

126 comments

  • splatmess - March 11, 2012 2:15 p.m.

    The endings didn't diverge much but I still felt crying no matter the ending. but overall it was the best game I've played
  • Baron164 - March 10, 2012 11:47 p.m.

    I absolutely loved this game, up until the disappointing crap letdown of an ending. When I finished it I thought I made the wrong descision and got the bad ending. So I tried again and made a different choice but nope, pretty much same crap ending. The endings don't offer any real closure. It feels like nothing you did during the game matters. This game as some truly astounding and emotional moments. For anyone who is invested in the characters it's a beautiful game. That has an awful ending that leaves a bad taste in your mouth. I'll be curious if Bioware does anything to change the ending with DLC. As it stands now I have no interest in playing the game a second time or paying for any of the DLC that they will inevitably release.
  • cardrey - March 10, 2012 8:46 p.m.

    No disagreements here.
  • KRONEN - March 10, 2012 4:10 p.m.

    Dope review Hollander, I appreciate you keeping its length at two pages. Many reviews now days just leave me with this sense of information overload, and I find myself less interested than before I read. This was just enough to get me psyched again! I'll (finally) be able to pick it up in a few hours.
  • Bloodstorm - March 9, 2012 5:47 a.m.

    I loved every minute of Mass Effect 3, until the end, which just sucked. They really pulled a Battlestar Galactica/Lost with that one. There are many excellent moments in the game, worth playing it for, just expect not to like the way all of it ends. Makes it feel like you kind of wasted your time.
  • jasoncarter - March 8, 2012 8:37 p.m.

    The endings suck, period, ruined everything for me personally.
  • Person5 - March 8, 2012 7:53 p.m.

    while I've already commented on this review I felt I should comment again now that I'm further into the game, The gameplay and combat are solid in my oponion but the rest of the game, it just leaves a bad taste in my mouth. There's something missing, I can't explain it, but while it feels like Bioware put a lot of heart and soul into ME1 and ME2, this game just seems to be lacking both of those things. This and the fact that since my choices didn't match up with what Bioware felt was canon, they spent a lot of the writing just explaining why what I chose was wrong and remedied that. I was looking forward to a game that showed how all of my decisions had consequences, instead I see how none of my decisions mattered. Also, the disc switching, I haven't played a single mission without a switch discs notification. I was fine switching discs in ME2 because I did it twice, I've done it at least 12 times in this game so far. Ok rant over
  • esteban-ramon - March 8, 2012 2:21 p.m.

    The ending nearly killed it for me. All that work. And for what? well, it was good, just the ending makes me feel like, "Thats it!? WTF" still, 99% of the game was great and was a blend of the 2 previous mass effects. More missions and areas, and somewhat of a lot of freedom.... if you don't mind the reapers following you everywhere.
  • FlyinMachine - March 8, 2012 1:57 p.m.

    I agree with this review for the most part! Mass Effect 3 is probably the best game I've ever played. Now, I realize I said that about SWTOR and Skyrim but I mean it this time! This game has major emotional impacts on me, one after another! I've found myself whole heartedly crying at the deaths of cherished characters and even get a bit teary eyed thinking about them. /wipes away tears That being said, I have a few minor nit-picky issues with it. My absolute biggest: THE SPRINTING!! God, I can't stand that animation! Even since the demo I was hoping they'd somehow change it but I realize it's here to stay! On another note, some of the animations are a bit stiff and maybe even recycled but it still played very well! My last complaint is of course that of Mass Effect 1 and 2. I absolutely loved the prior two! I played the hell out of them! 100%'d Mass Effect two and would've done the same for 1 if it didn't have absolutely ludicrous achievements. That being said, I ended up getting a new hard drive and 360 at one point so I lost all my ME1 data and had to buy and play it AGAIN! (Still love it.) That and Mass Effect 2's suicide mission can be the most--...... ISHYGDDT thing if you don't know EXACTLY what you're doing! Suffice to say, it's tough to get more than one quality playthrough, if that! Still, I can't express my love for this game anymore! Great review, Hollander! You're a big asset to GR! Hope you enjoy! Thanks!
  • barrage7667 - March 7, 2012 8:04 p.m.

    @budabaker They get the game days or even weeks in advance so they can review and rate them. This is how game reviews get out the day of or day before the game is released to the public. Saying that, they said they invested over 100 hours into the game so they may have seen more than one ending and also and ending is an ending, doesnt matter if its good or bad if they say it wasn't as good as ME2's ending it probably wasn't dont judge their review because of something you dont know is true or false
  • BudaBaker - March 9, 2012 9:20 a.m.

    I didn't mean reviewers i meant individual people i saw reviews on sites like twitter and youtube just a few hours after midnight of people saying the ending was horrible they weren't reviewers just people talking about the game.
  • BudaBaker - March 7, 2012 5:17 p.m.

    Why do people keep saying the ending is bad? how have they already finished the game and if they did there is no way they did everything so they probably caused the bad ending themselves.
  • esteban-ramon - March 8, 2012 2:17 p.m.

    Believe me when i say that i did nearly everything possible. It doesn't matter what you do, as long as you didn't suck so bad it wont be as harsh. Its the final choice like in the last 2 mass effect games..... and its a big let down. Everything else is great, but the ending leaves me in bad taste. Hopefully they release a download that changes that.
  • jasoncarter - March 8, 2012 8:38 p.m.

    They are all stupid, your choices mean nothing in the end. Every single ending is sad, depressive, or bleak.
  • alexbyrom - March 11, 2012 11:06 a.m.

    I completed the game 99.9% including the From Ashes DLC. I had one mission uncomplete that I was unable to finish due to not being able to go back to the planet required. My final war assets count was 6971 with Galactic Readiness at 100%. For all intensive purposes I had a perfect file. I was thoroughly dissappointed with the game`s conclusion. It presents you with three options all of which (SPOILERS) end in the destruction of the mass relays. Effectively destroying the mass effect universe. So I really don`t see the point of a 4th game.
  • crazyqazqaz - March 7, 2012 12:06 p.m.

    I read this review and think to myself how have i never played a Mass Effect game in all my time owning an xbox? Its tantamount to never playing a Halo or Gears game. I desperately need to get the first two games before I buy this.
  • samsneeze - March 7, 2012 11:47 a.m.

    I like the game fine. From what I've played, it's an eight. The story feels rushed and it seems like they really didn't care what went into it. I mean, the plot convenience levels are pretty damn high. It's honestly the weakest point of this story driven game.
  • Person5 - March 8, 2012 7:55 p.m.

    It felt like every character's sentences started with "There just so happens to be..."
  • Ravenbom - March 7, 2012 10:53 a.m.

    I'm really not a fan of the multiplayer being tied in to the storyline. If I don't play the multiplayer this month there's not going to be a multiplayer for me to play. So, basically, with all it's diversity in playthroughs, ME3 only rewards your first playthrough.
  • Mezolitik - March 7, 2012 2:15 a.m.

    The one thing that has marred the release of ME3 for me (and it's not even out in Europe yet) is the fact that there are spoilers EVERYWHERE. IGN, Facebook, YouTube; there are even spoilers in the fricking launch trailer. IGN is posting the endings, YouTube is recommending that I watch key scenes from the game, and inconsiderate boobs in the US are giving away the plot on Facebook. So, yeah, I'm living in a closet until I get paid.

Showing 41-60 of 126 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: Mar 06 2012 - Xbox 360 (US)
Available Platforms: Xbox 360, PS3, PC
Genre: Role Playing
Published by: Electronic Arts
Developed by: BioWare
Franchise: Mass Effect
ESRB Rating:
Mature: Blood, Mild Violence, Partial Nudity, Strong Language, Sexual Content
PEGI Rating:
Rating Pending

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.