Google+

Marvel vs Capcom 3: Fate of Two Worlds review

Excellent
Back to Article

65 comments

  • jamsethoth - February 14, 2011 1:17 p.m.

    Just so everyone knows, the Jill/Shuma DLC is out on March 15, for everyone. The Collector's edition just comes with a code to make them "free". I've read that the data for the character model and such is on the disc already, but that the rest of the code that actually controls the character is not yet completed, and thus is not on the disc.
  • Bya - February 14, 2011 12:50 p.m.

    Chun-Li's Kikosho is sooooo damn beautiful.
  • IAmARobotWhoTurnsIntoATruckAndIFindNoLevityInThis - February 14, 2011 12:46 p.m.

    Why is Calamity Trigger in the "is it better than" section, when Continuum Shift is newer. Other than that, great review, put down a pre-order, this game is awesome.
  • AnonymouZ - February 14, 2011 12:44 p.m.

    meh. if you dont' get the whole roster then fuck that. i am not spending 50 bucks, and then some for more characters that shoulda been in the game. i did convince a friend to not buy it for the same reason... but, 2 dudes i know don't give a shit xD
  • Onepersonwithnoopinion - February 14, 2011 12:37 p.m.

    Oh man oh man oh man oh man. I will not stop playing this, even though I'm terrible at fighting games. When should we expect guides for this?
  • mattdark - February 14, 2011 11:52 a.m.

    I agree so much on the Jill & Shuma-Gorath DLC issue, pain in the ass that they are being held-back as DLC, when its quite obvious that they will already be on the disk...
  • AngryScotsman - February 14, 2011 11:48 a.m.

    Wow, now I'm glad I preordered. Not only is it good, but I gots me a free T-shirt!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  • GR_JustinTowell - February 14, 2011 11:46 a.m.

    @ChuckB - Do you mean the Galactus artwork? It's an unlockable in the game itself. I just took a screenshot because I too thought it was awesome. I don't have a high-res one, sadly.
  • Mooshon - February 14, 2011 11:34 a.m.

    Great review justin. Will give this one a go I reckon. Kind of confirms with me that it'll just be another 'wecome distraction' game from my regular fare though. Really great fun, but my brain just can't take in all of those moves damnit.
  • donutman7 - February 14, 2011 11:23 a.m.

    I agree with most of it, but I disagree with the fact that MvC3 will be better than MvC2. MvC3 would take at least a decade to get anywhere near the hype that MvC2 has. What made MvC2 so special was that it was that it had all of the infinites and cheapness that I doubt MvC3 will have as much.
  • VaneTrago - February 14, 2011 11:16 a.m.

    Pouring the hate and skepticism a little thick there, eh fellas? I for one have been anxiously awaiting this game since late night Dreamcast MVC2 sessions, bad Mugen mash-ups, and reading articles confirming that this was never going to happen. I ordered it from the website exclusively because I got an extra shirt. Not free, because I had to pay ten bucks in shipping, but when it gets here tomorrow/the day after tomorrow/a few days from now(which will have me weeping because of how many of my friends already have it), then you'd better believe I'll be playing heart out. It's called getting hype, gentlemen. You either do, or you don't.
  • TheWhitestMexican - February 14, 2011 11:07 a.m.

    Just in terms of looks, I can't think of another game that screams the word FUN from the mountain tops as much as MvC3 does. With all the games out there that want to be taken seriously it's nice to see one that wants to be sugary brain candy.
  • ChuckB - February 14, 2011 10:47 a.m.

    Ok, can you tell me where I find that wonderful new artwork because Google isn't helping me.
  • TheElephantManchurianCandidate - February 14, 2011 10:44 a.m.

    can't wait for this friday! Also that make shift comic was awesome
  • quincytheodore - February 14, 2011 10:20 a.m.

    SSFIV: FIGHT! What should I do? A. Hadoken! B. Jumps backward. C. Focus cancel D. Wake up game - pressure E. wake up game - bait F. SHORYUKEN!1! MvC3: FIGHT! What should.. Punch! punch! kick! kick! punch!
  • MkLangley - February 14, 2011 10:17 a.m.

    Its a good game, but its definitely not worth the full price. It doesn't stand well against its competitors in content and functionality. The training mode is still a joke of the genre, compared to tekken, virtua fighter and blazblue. Lack of offline content is also a downside for people who don't like to be constantly online. Capcom needs to step it up.
  • jmcgrotty - February 14, 2011 10:07 a.m.

    You messed up at the end. A score of 9 means you didn't properly take into that there are teams in the game, which by definiton makes a game an unplayable mess. Taking the teaming in to effect, the game couldn't have scored more than a 6.
  • reaperman22 - February 14, 2011 10:06 a.m.

    i think i need to rent this, i want to get it and enjoy it but the problem is im just not very good at fighting games because i have never put any real time into them, in fact the only fighting game i have ever been any good at is facebreaker and the only reason for that is i got so pissed off at the game i made it my mission to beat it plus its really simple, so the prospect of paying full price for a game i might only play once or twice before i realize i suck at it and stop playing isn't that appealing..... then again maybe if i do buy it i will be more inclined to get my moneys worth and i love the idea of deadpool, wesker and wolverine all fighting for me
  • Ampatent - February 14, 2011 9:51 a.m.

    Super Street Fighter IV is nearly perfect huh? Yea... ok, whatever you say Towell.
  • Clovin64 - February 14, 2011 9:50 a.m.

    Fighting games arent really my thing any more, but the prospect of Amaterasu, Dante and Chris "The Biceps" Redfield teaming up sounds too good to miss.

Showing 41-60 of 65 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Available Platforms: PS3, Xbox 360
Genre: Fighting
Published by: Capcom
ESRB Rating:
Teen
PEGI Rating:
12+

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.