Google+

Marvel vs Capcom 3: Fate of Two Worlds review

Back to Article

65 comments

  • LordPwnge18 - February 14, 2011 8:23 p.m.

    Why are you comparing this to Calamity Trigger? Continuum Shift topped CT in every way, shape, and form I can think of. I can see that the comparison would still probably be around the same, but Calamity Trigger?
  • Phil0syfee - February 14, 2011 7:05 p.m.

    question PS3 or 360? I only ask because I will be getting the PS3 version for the Dpad but damn I will miss all of my buddies playing on 360. Nice article Towell and enjoyed the make shift comic.
  • Mamudo - February 14, 2011 6:31 p.m.

    Great review. Even more excited to pick this game up Tuesday!
  • BurntToShreds - February 14, 2011 6:25 p.m.

    My favorite thing about MvC2 was the adrenaline rush of the fight, the way you could "feel" the hits connect, the way that each punch and kick felt so satisfying. I really hope that's there in MvC3 when I get it tomorrow.
  • Letter11 - February 14, 2011 5:39 p.m.

    "Kick, punch, it's all in the mind..." Haha! Parappa the Rappa reference, I love it! Nice review, definitely gonna pick this one up.
  • sgloomy - February 14, 2011 5:26 p.m.

    Great Review, Can't wait to just experiment with all the characters and @jmcgrotty, what do you mean because it is in teams it has to get a 6? first off I doubt anyone reviews a game based on one element and how is the teaming of characters an issue? it just makes the game that much more interesting. but yes, this is definitely not Street fighter, You cannot turtle your way through a match and thats what makes it SO MUCH FUN (at least in my opinion), people have to just go all out all the time!
  • zzzonked - February 14, 2011 5:08 p.m.

    getting this and russell howard tickets for my 16th on saturday, on reflection i'm probably more hyped for this game nice review justin, congrats on the 5 year anniversary! :)
  • Japanaman - February 14, 2011 4:53 p.m.

    The only perfect fighting games I ever played were Tekken 4, SFII: Champion Edition, and maybe Mortal Kombat 1. I can't think of any games that didn't have somebody with too many moves or a strong boss character.
  • switch22 - February 14, 2011 4:49 p.m.

    I didn't know Parappa the Rappa was in the game... I'm probably the only one who got the hidden reference... Anyway, I pre-ordered this and cannot wait for it to arrive tomorrow! MvC2 is one of my favorite games of all time. Will this one be better? Initally, no. Do I care if it is better? Not at all. Besides, if I get an itch to Strider/D.Doom it up I can always go back to MvC2. That's what I think makes this franchise great. Longevity and diversity. Tag team was such a mind blowing concept for me 10 years ago. Here's to another 10 years of great fighting games!
  • Jasman - February 14, 2011 4:39 p.m.

    Maximum Spider! Proton Cannon! Final Justice! Shinkuu.....HADOKEN!!!! I'm going to play MVC2 right now lol, but first, I must pre-order :D
  • Jetsetneo - February 14, 2011 4:34 p.m.

    Any chance of getting a way long MVC3 in slow-mo video? That was awesome!
  • CancerMan - February 14, 2011 4:32 p.m.

    A lot of hate for my most anticipated game of the year. The bitching about the size of the character roster is just ridiculous. I prefer quality over quantity. Besides, MVC2 was only able to achieve a massive roste by nabbing preexisting sprites from other games.
  • GR_JustinTowell - February 14, 2011 4:30 p.m.

    Why, thank you, FoxdenRacing. I think this game fits the milestone nicely :)
  • FoxdenRacing - February 14, 2011 4 p.m.

    Clarification: The 'Gamestop Exclusive' in-game items upset me, not what's happened with MvC3 [the lack of store exclusives]. When a mega-store buys exclusives like that, the smaller shops are directly hurt by it. Apologies for the lack of clarity.
  • FoxdenRacing - February 14, 2011 3:57 p.m.

    @JamesThoth: I imagine there would be a lot less furor if they would've admitted it sooner. Sounds like they got caught in crunch. :-( In general: As more info on this one comes out, I'm less and less annoyed by it. Is it still annoying? Sure. But Capcom isn't shooting themselves in the foot repeatedly. - The characters aren't "exclusive" to one edition; they're available to everyone, and free to CE buyers. That said, the way Capcom handled this announcement was foolish; plenty of faux pas to be had. - The characters aren't "exclusive" to one store; this one p***es me off to no end, as it's anticompetitive. Smaller local stores can't throw that kind of money around. - The information is on the disk; this is a good thing because there won't be two subsets of the online lobbies; those with Jill and those without. - The information is on the disk; this angers a lot of gamers [including myself] because they're taking things out of the game in order to nickel and dime. Said and done, while they flubbed some of it hard Capcom isn't as bad as some others. Still very looking forward to it, and may pick it up. The frenzied pace and lack of depth are good things for me; Fighting games have become too hardcore in recent years; the initial draw of SF2 was that it was easy to learn and very, very hard to master, giving something to everyone...the newer ones have lost that somewhat, to where only the masters are having any fun...and that 'fun for any skill level' is what makes Smash Brothers such a huge draw. To the author: Happy 5th anniversary at GR, Justin!
  • bl00dyvalen7ine - February 14, 2011 3:41 p.m.

    Oh MAN!!! I can NOT wait to get this game tonight!!!
  • Strangleme - February 14, 2011 3:17 p.m.

    Great review!! Gettin' it tomorrow!!
  • FauxFurry - February 14, 2011 1:36 p.m.

    It looks like it's time to stock up on poly-bags because you'll need them to keep all of the Pringles and mangoes in minty-fresh condition. It's tough to say what I'll look forward to more: the arrival of my pre-ordered copy of the game or posts protesting the ommission of crucial characters who the complainants had clue as to the identity of prior to playing MVC 2 or more essential still, Morph from the 1990s X-Men cartoon or someone of similar caliber.
  • DecoyOctorok - February 14, 2011 1:24 p.m.

    What about lobbies/spectators in multiplayer? That was the thing that pissed me off the most when SFIV originally came out and it seemed like barely any reviewers mentioned it.
  • CH3BURASHKA - February 14, 2011 1:18 p.m.

    I'm going for a ride. Anyone wanna come with? I'm hoping for some TDar special, perhaps another Marvel trivia quiz.

Showing 21-40 of 65 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Available Platforms: PS3, Xbox 360
Genre: Fighting
Published by: Capcom
ESRB Rating:
Teen
PEGI Rating:
12+