GR+ Live: The making of Furi on PS4

Furi looks like a cross between Tron, Metal Gear Rising, a Pop Tarts and schnapps fueled nightmare about He-Man, and Treasure's boss fight action classics like Gunstar Heroes and Alien Soldier. It also has one of the baddest ass soundtracks in history, with cuts from Carpenter Brut, Danger and more. How does a game with this level of slick style get made? Emeric Thoa, Furi's creative director, joined us to discuss the making of his dream game, its relationship with Punch-out!, and what its like jumping from Ubisoft to opening your own studio.

Dig the show? Follow us on Twitch and catch us live every Tuesday and Thursday.

GR+ Live broadcasts live every Tuesday and Thursday at1:30PM PT/4:30 PM ET/9:30 PM GMT.

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

I've been playing games since I turned four in 1986, been writing about them since 1987, and writing about them professionally since 2008. My wife and I live in New York City. Chrono Trigger is my favorite game ever made, Hum's Downward is Heavenward is my favorite album, and I regularly find myself singing "You Won't See Me" by The Beatles in awkward situations.

Topics

OPM
We recommend