Google+

LittleBigPlanet 2 review

AT A GLANCE
  • Huge potential to create a wide variety of games
  • Story mode has an actual story
  • Delving into Community levels is still pretty fun
  • Controls still feel just as floaty as the first game's
  • Create mode could actually use a few more tutorials
  • No real Move support

All of this new stuff might not be as easy to understand as LBP1’s pistons, winches, giant switches, monster brains and other machinery – which you can still use, incidentally – but it’s a hell of a lot more versatile, and given enough time with it, you may wonder how you ever put up with all that clunky nonsense in the first place.


Your robot friends

Logic circuits can also be applied to the Sackbots, another hugely significant addition. Essentially computer-controlled Sackpeople, the Sackbots can be used to add friends, enemies, or actors in cutscenes to a given level. They can follow you around, run from you, be instrumental in solving puzzles, back you up in a fight, or they can just stand around in the background for atmosphere. You can dictate their behavior and movement style, or just briefly take control to record a set of actions you want them to take.

You can also slyly slip the player into a control seat at the beginning of the level and have them control a Sackbot instead of their usual Sackperson, which is useful if you want to adjust their size, abilities (like their jumping, say) or just their appearance.

Add in the ability to direct and record your own in-game cutscenes, compose your own music, record voice samples and create custom sequences of levels for players to run through, and Create mode adds up to a bunch of very simple tools that can be used to create more or less whatever you want. Or, at least, to create a much broader variety of things than were possible in the first game.

The only problem is that a lot of the new stuff can be difficult to grasp at first, and while there are a lot of tutorials to show you how (enough that they’d be overbearing if they weren’t optional), there are a few things they completely ignore. For example, it’s possible to create animation with the holographic material, but the game never explicitly tells you how; it’s left for you to puzzle out on your own through trial and error (or by copying some other generous creator’s levels to see how they accomplished it).

There is one thing LBP2 won’t allow you to do, however, and that’s use Move. While it’s possible support will be added in down the line (which might be a nice addition to the Create mode), for now the game simply doesn’t offer a way to use Sony’s motion controls. The LBP2 disc does, however, include the Move-enabled Sackboy’s Prehistoric Moves, which will save you about six bucks if you haven’t already downloaded it from PSN.


Is it better than…?

LittleBigPlanet? Yes. LBP was and still is a great game, but LBP2 blows it away in every conceivable sense. The story’s better, the level-creation tools are far more versatile and the door’s been opened for players to create entirely new game types, instead of just new levels. It’s not quite as easy to immediately grasp, but the payoff for mastering it is infinitely greater.

 

ModNation Racers? Yes. ModNation’s racing might be a lot better than the top-down and side-scrolling varieties offered by LBP2, but comparatively it’s a one-trick pony. Being able to build your own tracks is fun, but being able to create different game types – or to just play those built by others – has more lasting appeal in the end.

 

Create? Yes. Their gameplay may be fundamentally different – LBP’s creation tools are to build levels, while Create’s are mainly there to solve them – but LBP2' has it all over this bland entry in the “create, play, share” genre. Even without the draw of its creation tools, LBP2 is livelier, prettier and a lot more fun – and with them, its controls are a whole hell of a lot less clunky.

 


Just for you, Metacritic!

Adding so much as to be a little intimidating at first, LBP2 brings a slew of impressive new creator features, while still offering plenty of cool new things for those who just want to play. The basic, flawed platforming of the original is still there, but compared to the possibilities LBP2 opens up, it’s insignificant.

Jan 7, 2011

More Info

Available Platforms: PS3
Genre: Action
Published by: SCEA
Developed by: Media Molecule
ESRB Rating:
Everyone: Comic Mischief, Mild Cartoon Violence

68 comments

  • LUKEME123 - June 4, 2011 9:08 a.m.

    By far my fav game ever
  • KrEid - January 25, 2011 6:25 p.m.

    I just finished this and have to say it was bloody amazing, and I'm now slightly obsessed with sackbots!
  • beefandonion - January 15, 2011 8:20 a.m.

    to all those 360 owners who say they are jealous of the PS3 brigade for having LBP - just do what i did buy both! i was a dedicated 360 owner who scoffed at the over-priced, over-hyped Sony machine. Then, one day, i bit the bullet and got one purely for LBP (oh, and blu-ray) now, i have the best of both worlds do it!
  • bmswlfc90 - January 14, 2011 12:39 p.m.

    I agree that its a shame theres no real move support on the retail version, but media molecule have annouced there working on a LBP2 move pack, and also something "very very very exciting" all good stuff if you ask me, cannot wait for this game!
  • Ravenbom - January 12, 2011 9:14 p.m.

    Even if this game seems like a 10, it's probably still more like a 9 because of one big omission (and floaty controls). I haven't played it, but it sounds like the story mode is a good addition, but it sounds like they still haven't integrated create (I don't know how much the creatinator does) into the story mode, essentially making the story mode one long tutorial for Create mode. Like Starcraft II's campaign mode is essentially one long tutorial (for the Terrans) for the endgame, playing online. Just sayin'.
  • yesvaginathereisasantaclaus - January 12, 2011 8:38 p.m.

    Can't wait...
  • EwoksTasteLikeChicken - January 12, 2011 8:29 p.m.

    I don't have a PS3 so... yeah.
  • Nefurnest - January 12, 2011 10:14 a.m.

    There is Move support u foolS! You can draw out the level like in Beat Sketcher dum dumb!
  • JoeMasturbaby - January 10, 2011 10:54 p.m.

    i hope they include more in depth tutorials for creating this time around. I wanted to make a level so bad but ran out of space because i couldnt figure out how to make certain contraptions.
  • rockstarsean - January 10, 2011 2:12 p.m.

    I loved LBP and really wish I had enough time to get into LBP2 but I'm resigned to the fact that I'm just not going to be able to do it justice (what with a degree and ME:2). Lame.
  • Tariqwahab - January 9, 2011 1:04 p.m.

    A great game.. but there r priorities.. Mass effect 2 coming on the same day.. Dead space coming soon 2.. maybe after I finish them I will pick this up.. The problem there are other games that will come out by the time I finish these 2
  • thedonut - January 9, 2011 12:19 p.m.

    Whoops - *Gamestop
  • thedonut - January 9, 2011 12:18 p.m.

    I think places like Gamespot should do a deal to trade in the first one to get like 30% off for the second one. It's kind of no point to having the first one anymore.
  • Roflcoptersmileyface - January 9, 2011 12:04 p.m.

    The little-big planet series is the only reason i would get a PS3....shame Sony has exclusivity
  • Spybreak8 - January 9, 2011 6:13 a.m.

    Awesome, always wanted to play this but it's on a different system. Really wished LBP came to XBLA. I love designing stuff, heck I want that to be my career. I recommend Avatar Golf in indie games on the 360 to anybody who likes designing golf courses.
  • BrunettePride - January 9, 2011 12:59 a.m.

    I'm ridiculously excited for this! I loved the first one, well I still do, but after playing the demo of this I already know it is vastly improved you can tell right away. I MUST HAVE IT.
  • Manguy17 - January 8, 2011 11:19 p.m.

    kinda a shame that my friend caused me to hate the first one, to clarify what I mean, he was the only person i ever played it with but we also did the most pointless things ( making cannons that fire baby heads gets old) and hence the experience was ruined, that said i think the single player levels were bad anyway because LBP had hardly any real gameplay other than basic platforming and hence requid exceptional level design to be fun. ^^^ Long rant complete, im glad this game allows aa lot more creativity in how you play, just must make sure to find a way to play this for a while on my own. anyone wanna lend me a ps3?
  • groovy3000 - January 8, 2011 11:11 p.m.

    wow this review is so biased. I bet microsoft paid you not to give it an 11.
  • Markstone - January 8, 2011 10:10 p.m.

    I didn't get the first one but I might pick up both now, looks pretty awesome!
  • bekkilawrence - January 8, 2011 9:32 p.m.

    Ok, when i saw the first ad i was very excited, now I actually can't wait for this! I'll have to try & ace LBP1 levels first, though :) LBP2 definitely sounds like one of the best games out there.

Showing 1-20 of 68 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000