Google+

Left 4 Dead

AT A GLANCE
  • Incredibly tense gameplay
  • Versus mode multiplayer
  • Extremely replayable
  • Only two versus campaigns
  • No character customization
  • No explicit story

Also, at random intervals determined by the director AI, the hulking Tank zombie will show up. It’s such a major event that the music changes to an ominous theme and the screen shakes, giving the survivors a brief warning that something really bad is about to go down, so they’d better change their tactics (like getting out of confined corridors and into an open area where they have a chance at evading, and everyone can get a clear shot). The director will also occasionally place a Witch in your path, making you change tactics once again by turning off your flashlights and sneaking by. Even though you get an audio warning in the form of her wailing cry, Witches can sometimes seem like unfair enemies, because if they spawn in certain positions, like right around a corner, it may be impossible to sneak by or even find them without startling them. That can easily ruin your good mood.

In the fifth stage of each campaign, the survivors reach a rendezvous point for their extraction and signal their readiness over a radio, then must hold out for several minutes against the most intense zombie onslaught yet. These climactic scenes are real nail-biters, with heavily armed survivors fending off attackers coming from all sides until rescue arrives, at which point they must make a desperate run for the evacuation vehicle against a last-minute zombie surge. It’s a scenario that all but the best players will only survive by the skin of their teeth, if at all, making for some incredibly tense moments.

The campaign content, which took our crack squad about six hours to fight through, may seem meager at first for a full-priced game, but once you’ve played it, try this trick: play it again. The Director ensures excellent variety on each playthrough by shuffling around weapon, item (like explosive barrels and ammo drops), and enemy placement. In one round, we set up an ambush for an incoming horde of zombies using a pair of gas cans we found, frying the entire lot nearly effortlessly. The next time through that same area there were no gas cans to be found, so we were forced to come up with a new strategy to deal with what we thought would be the same attack… but zombies poured through a vent in the ceiling behind us, taking us by surprise. Once you think you’ve got a handle on things, the advanced and expert difficulty levels will keep the challenge fresh for significantly longer (and unlock some extra achievements).

One relatively minor quibble that stuck in my craw is the inability to customize my in-game avatar. The four survivors (Bill, Louis, Zoey, and Francis) all look fantastic in this newest version of the Source engine, and sport detailed facial animations, plus individualized voices for contextual color commentary, but being shoehorned into one of these roles ever-so-slightly cramped my style. Plus, you don’t always get to choose which of the survivors to play as, and someone’s always going to get stuck playing as the girl. Not that there’s anything wrong with that, as the differences between characters are 100 percent cosmetic, but the lack of choice is a bit surprising in a modern game.

Besides lacking opportunities to barricade a door against a crowd of zombies or rip through them with a chain saw, and the notable absence of a shopping mall campaign (too cliche, Valve?), Left 4 Dead delivers every moment you could hope for in a zombie game. Case in point: you get to legitimately shout to your teammates, “Leave me, I’m done for! Save yourselves - GO!” while you try to buy them some time by firing your dual pistols into the descending horde as you lie wounded on the ground. And as awesome as that is, the unique experience of playing as the boss infected almost steals the show from the survivors. Left 4 Dead’s emphasis on teamwork and vague hints of story may not appeal to gamers who demand a focused single-player experience, but for the millions out there who have ever imagined their role in the inevitable Zombie Apocalypse, it simply cannot be missed.

Nov 17, 2008

More Info

Release date: Nov 17 2008 - Xbox 360, PC (US)
Nov 18 2008 - Xbox 360
Nov 20 2008 - PC (UK)
Available Platforms: Xbox 360, PC
Genre: Shooter
Published by: Electronic Arts
Developed by: Turtle Rock Studios
ESRB Rating:
Mature: Blood and Gore, Intense Violence, Language
PEGI Rating:
18+

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000
  • R38P3R - December 7, 2008 5:31 a.m.

    I personally got enough out of the demo.
  • sourmoomoo95 - November 25, 2008 3:04 a.m.

    i bough the game its awesome playing as a tank in multiplayer :D did you know that at the end of the no mercy campaign the chopper pilot after he picked you up and you escaped "i just did a ground pickup and now i don't feel too good" then he starts growling like a zombie lol they cut it cuz it ruined the sence of accomplishment from surviving
  • Tymiegie - November 21, 2008 5:21 a.m.

    I really don't think not having character customization for this game matters at all. Is it really a complaint that you don't get to customize characters like Gordan Freeman? The only two versus maps is very perplexing though and I hope a patch is in the works. I really hope this game gets great DLC support with new campaigns and yes, a chainsaw and especially a flamethrower would be awesome!
  • GaMeZ4LiFe - November 21, 2008 2:53 a.m.

    I have been checking into this game for a few months now and it is clear to me that this is going to be a fun game. Must buy in my opinion.
  • MrMuffinMan - November 18, 2008 7:57 p.m.

    "No character customization"? What kind of a complaint is that? Did you just make it up because you couldn't come up with anything else? WHY would you expect customization in this game? The characters have personal lines that they say - in their very own voices - directly to other characters. Don't you think that's more important? Besides, people are definitely going to make tons of skins, this being a Source engine game and all. On the subject of Source, anyone who's doubting the lenght, consider that there will be many custom, fan-made campaigns as well. And obviously Valve will add more to the collection as well.
  • ineedaweapon - November 18, 2008 6:18 p.m.

    The demo was indeed very fun, however, the fact that it's only 6 hours or so might put me off getting it just yet. It's for the same reason I haven't bought CoD:WaW yet. I only have so much money, and I want a game that's going to last.
  • GodlikeApe - November 18, 2008 2:03 p.m.

    Nah, not scary at all. But so freaking fun. Wish I had money to get this, it's easily the most fun out of all the recent 'AAA' titles released. Reminds me a lot of Painkiller, but with less awesome guns, but more awesome scenarios. So it's balanced out kind of. But still... A GUN THAT SHOOTS SHURIKEN AND LIGHTNING!
  • MobstahLobstah - November 18, 2008 11:20 a.m.

    When I played the demo of this, I thought it was more funny than scary. Well, whatever, still a great game. :D
  • Maxstats69 - November 18, 2008 6:59 a.m.

    Yeah, maybe their lack of character customization was done on purpose. DLC is almost guaranteed for this game.
  • Defguru7777 - November 18, 2008 2:54 a.m.

    I'm on the fence about this. I really like single player over multiplayer.
  • S1ightlyParano1d - November 18, 2008 2:51 a.m.

    Third! I WANT this game. The demo was epic.
  • Gunit3031 - December 2, 2008 12:17 p.m.

    This game is awesome...
  • Moosebomber - November 27, 2008 3:57 a.m.

    at defguru whats the diffrence? singleplayer is about the same as multiplayer, except without a whole lot of teamwork.
  • Jimmyjammy - November 19, 2008 7:23 p.m.

    Hah! I beat you to the top of the page EA ad bar. Try and get me to preorder NFS undercover will ya? In other news, I have never played a demo as much as I have the L4D one. Plus it's Valve, Source and has fast, crazy zombies. So what can go wrong?
  • bron1417 - November 18, 2008 8:52 p.m.

    game looks friggin epic i want this game i dont care if i have to play single player.
  • Nitemarish - November 18, 2008 4:25 p.m.

    One time (in the demo) the Witch was sitting right in front of that door switch... what the shit? I just got pissed and threw a molotov at the bitch. Everyone died... Brilliant game, though!
  • S1ightlyParano1d - November 18, 2008 2:56 a.m.

    Sacrificing yourself for the the good of the team always feels good, being the hero and all. Shame this isn't in the PS3, oh well. Here's hoping for DLC Maps, characters and guns!
  • drummerteenX - November 18, 2008 2:29 a.m.

    Second! This game looks to be quite awesome. Gotta have live to really enjoy it though.
  • Gameward-Bound - November 18, 2008 1:32 a.m.

    first :D
  • JohnTheFisherman - April 28, 2009 11:13 p.m.

    such a great game, the co-op is just too much fun