Google+

Kane & Lynch 2: Dog Days super review

AT A GLANCE
  • Grueling, methodical firefights, if that's your thing
  • Multiplayer and arcade modes can be addictive
  • Shooting up an office building is unusually fun
  • Kane and Lynch themselves
  • Getting betrayed at the last second in multiplayer
  • Uneven difficulty often spikes to ridiculous levels

So if you think you can get away with it, the game encourages you to gun down your teammates, steal their cash and make a break for it before the survivors can kill you in revenge. Depending on the group you’re playing with and how determined they are to target you, this can either be a lot of devious fun, or a huge pile of frustration as the people who were on your side seconds ago camp by the extraction point and shoot you in the back just as you’re sprinting for safety. Ideally, getting killed by a teammate means you can come back as a cop for a chance at revenge, but since most team-kills tend to happen at the end of the level, your killer will usually have escaped before you can get to them.


Above: Better kill them while you still have a chance, then 

Undercover Cop, meanwhile, is the same thing as Fragile Alliance, except that one of the players is secretly a cop. This means that his goal is to kill everyone else, and he won’t show up as a traitor unless someone else catches him killing everyone else. Optimally, this means a lot of tension as you watch your back and try to figure out who the rat is. But more often than not it seems to mean that either everyone gets trigger-happy and kills everyone else right off the bat, or you can expect another bullet between your shoulder blades as you’re within sight of the escape van.

Finally, there’s Cops and Robbers, in which two teams take turns either stealing a bunch of money, or trying to prevent the theft as a team of respawning cops. (Criminals don’t get to respawn in any mode, so it’s a good thing the matches are usually pretty short.) This is probably the most enjoyable game type (largely because you’ll always know who your enemies are), although like with every other mode, your enjoyment will largely depend on the group you’re playing with, and whether or not you’ve been saddled with teammates who suck.


Is it better than…?

Kane & Lynch: Dead Men? Yes. While it feels like a less ambitious game than Dead Men was, Dog Days’ gameplay is a big improvement over the first game’s flaws. Streamlining it into a simpler, more responsive shooter was definitely the right move, even though it’s disappointing that some of the first game’s more interesting touches were thrown away completely instead of improved.

 


Gears of War 2? No. To put it simply: chainsaw bayonets, laser satellites and grunting he-men > a couple of middle-aged sadsacks who kill people. Kane & Lynch 2 might be the more realistic of the two, but it’s nowhere near as elaborate, or as fun, as what Gears 2 had on offer.

 

 

50 Cent: Blood on the Sand? Not that many of you actually played this one (if its sales figures are anything to go by), but yes and no. Dog Days is unquestionably a better-looking, better-designed and more realistic gangster story than 50 Cent’s ridiculous Middle Eastern shoot ‘em-up. On the other hand, Blood on the Sand offers a lot more gleefully stupid cover-and-shoot fun than the more somber Dog Days does, and its bargain-bin status means it does so for a hell of a lot cheaper than $60.



Just for you, Metacritic!

While it’s an improvement over the first game, Kane & Lynch 2’s high production values and streamlined focus are overshadowed by its thudding repetition, narrowly linear design, five-hour campaign and hugely unappealing protagonists. It’s still a decent shooter, but it’s definitely not for everyone.

Aug 17, 2010

More Info

Release date: Aug 17 2010 - PS3, Xbox 360, PC (US)
Aug 20 2010 - PS3, Xbox 360, PC (UK)
Available Platforms: PS3, Xbox 360, PC
Genre: Action
Published by: Eidos
Developed by: Io Interactive
ESRB Rating:
Mature: Blood, Drug Reference, Intense Violence, Partial Nudity, Strong Language
PEGI Rating:
18+

35 comments

  • sTuCkU10x - August 26, 2010 12:38 p.m.

    oh @ElGrinchoid, i agree wit price dropping
  • sTuCkU10x - August 26, 2010 12:23 p.m.

    What I was looking for was it to be better than the first. I feel they accomplished this BUT, story was mediocre and ending was just disappointing.
  • QWERTYCommander - August 23, 2010 5:57 a.m.

    Funny, Gamespot wasn't even giving the sequel any special treatment. They gave it a 6.5. It was still heavily advertised on the site, just like the first. I'm predicting a Calvert-gate?
  • ElGrinchoid - August 21, 2010 12:32 a.m.

    5 hours for the single player story? Really? How on earth is that acceptable for a game to be released with that. I honestly don't care if they've put a lot of work into the multiplayer (not that reading that review makes it sound like that). Some of us don't live for multiplayer and to be honest i'm getting sick of seeing games like this come out with sub par single player stories. If it's only a 5 hour play through then perhaps we should only be charged for the 5 hour play through instead of marketing and pricing it like a full game. When a game like Red Dead Redemption can be put out, with what, well over 15 hours sp (if you hammer it and don't bother dicking about with all the side quests) for $10 cheaper it really does show this for what it is, a quick kick in the spuds to gamers. Especially if the multi is annoying as it sounds. Reads like 7/10 is far, far too generous if i'm honest.
  • JD_Method - August 19, 2010 9:03 a.m.

    Yeah, this game isn't for everyone, but I think some people are just jumping on the hate bandwagon, still bitter over the whole Gamespot thing, which may or may not have had anything to do with the first Kane & Lynch. The first game wasn't as bad as some people made out to be. Sure, it had its flaws but it was still enjoyable. I haven't finished the single player for Kane & Lynch 2 yet, but I can agree with this score. Seven is good, not mediocre like some people seem to think. Look, it even says "GOOD" next to the score there. I'm having fun playing this through in split-screen. It's nothing mind-blowing, but it's fun. It's a bit of a marmite game, this one. You either like it or you don't. But for those that don't like it, would you rather this franchise just fail and never be heard of again? Or would you rather IO Interactive actually get it together and smash out an amazing Kane & Lynch game which rectifys all the problems of the previous titles and gives us a brilliant single player (and multiplayer) experience, like they should have done in the first place (after making Hitman 5, of course)? This franchise and its characters have massive potential, and even though I still buy and enjoy these games, I just don't think IO is quite reaching that potential. I'm just hoping IO Interactive can one day deliver the great Kane & Lynch experience some of us have been waiting for.
  • meh - August 19, 2010 5:18 a.m.

    well, at least its not a big pile of balls like I thought it would be. Just mediocre.
  • TheWebSwinger - August 19, 2010 3:29 a.m.

    Couldn't give two shits about this game, frankly.
  • Syncmaster - August 19, 2010 2:22 a.m.

    I got a felling this game should be only a single mission in a far bigger game. how could they not improve on the duo and the story??!
  • Phazon117 - August 18, 2010 8:16 p.m.

    Really don't give a shit for this series. Hoping it ends here.
  • DrRock - August 18, 2010 6:33 p.m.

    I think you might be giving it to generous of a score but you're entitled to your opinion.
  • bonerachieved - August 18, 2010 6:02 p.m.

    Just beat this game in co-op at a friends house. REALLY REALLY REALLY REALLY REALLY REALLY DISAPPOINTED. Overall I would've gave this game a 5, but then again I'm not a gams jarnaliztstst especially how the second half is just you trying to get out of the damn city.
  • GamesRadarMikelReparaz - August 18, 2010 5:32 p.m.

    @Onepersonwithnoopinion: Do what, now? @Unoriginal: He gave the PS3 version a 3/5, and then knocked the 360 version down to 2/5 over a bug he experienced. Honestly, I don't know whether to be impressed or disappointed that he never brought up the controversy over the last game in his review.
  • Unoriginal - August 18, 2010 1:01 p.m.

    Wonder what Gerstman gave this. Too soon?
  • db1331 - August 18, 2010 12:46 p.m.

    I am getting really good at predicting GR review scores. I am so happy to see this game getting ripped apart by just about every site. Game Informer was really rough on it. They deserve it after trying to buy reviews for the first game. Time to hang up Kane & Lynch, boys. It's obvious that nobody gives a shit about them.
  • elpurplemonkey - August 18, 2010 7:21 a.m.

    Good review. This really seems like a solid rental- a lot of meh with some genuinely enjoyable moments.
  • crumbdunky - August 18, 2010 5:14 a.m.

    Well, I felt even the visual effect was hokum and basically a pan stick, cover all for lazy visals underneath(models and animations are sub par to begin with, imho)so to me it's an INSULT rather than a plus point. The hit detection was iffy and the cover system worked when it felt like it(no, not the bits where the covers too flimsy-that, in fact, is the games only good is a in my book and even then it was inconsistent with some cover working when t reeally shouldn't do), the basic gunplay lacks snap and direction(I've seldom felt less powerful with a virtual gun in my mitts)and I always felt the traitor nonsense in the MP was just that-nonsense. I WAS hoping it was just a wonky demo but having played through a large part of a mates review copy at his house(he wanted a second opinion)I'm sad to say I like the game even less. Sure, it's gritty but it's done with so much pride that you feel they'd have badges declaring it if they could get away with it-it's gritty just for the sake of feeling "adult" and that's not forgiveable when the core gameplay is so under whelming, almost trite in it's execution. Aly that to the feeling I have that the visual effect is there purely to hide lazy design and gfx and you have a game that, were I reviewing would NEVER see anything above a four/ten. Seriously, I think Mikel's being generous and for those in the mainstream media bigging this mess up-PLAY some sodding REAL games and get back to us. Pushing this crap is a disgrace. Makes me VERY scared IO have lost it and Hitman5 will be crap too. Hope not.
  • Onepersonwithnoopinion - August 18, 2010 5:09 a.m.

    @Mikel And what about games that do?
  • SAUGAPRIME - August 18, 2010 3:27 a.m.

    This game deserved a solid 8. playing as a character trying to keep his illness under control is a fresh look at gaming. Who dosen't have that kind of problem these days. Maybe it could of put more of that in the story like he ran out of pills so he tried to self medicate himself.
  • lovinmyps3 - August 18, 2010 1:21 a.m.

    Rental. I bought the first, I will not be disappointed again!
  • ihopethisisnotantistasblood - August 18, 2010 12:48 a.m.

    hope nobody gets fired because of this game

Showing 1-20 of 35 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000