Google+

Kane & Lynch 2: Dog Days super review

AT A GLANCE
  • Grueling, methodical firefights, if that's your thing
  • Multiplayer and arcade modes can be addictive
  • Shooting up an office building is unusually fun
  • Kane and Lynch themselves
  • Getting betrayed at the last second in multiplayer
  • Uneven difficulty often spikes to ridiculous levels

The game’s little deviations from formula come to a head in the game’s second-to-last level, which has you machinegunning an office building’s windows from a helicopter, and then fighting other helicopters from inside that same office building. It’s fast-paced, destructive and fun enough that it almost makes the bleakness and repetition of the rest of the game forgivable. But then it gives way to a frustrating slog of a final level, and the game’s one brief moment of nihilistic joy is forgotten.

It’s also worth pointing out that, even in its most over-the-top moments, Dog Days is strangely bloodless. It spills little of the red stuff when people get shot, and even less when they supposedly get their faces blown off by point-blank shotgun blasts; in lieu of a bloody explosion or tattered red mess, the game simply slaps a mosaic blur over your victims’ heads. It’s disturbing in its own way, as it leaves the gore up to your imagination, but look closely and you won’t see much red under that mosaic. In a game with such a relentlessly nihilistic attitude and a “Real is Blood in Your Teeth” ad campaign, it’s bizarre to see it pull its punches where so many other games have gone for broke.

And no, the absence of gore isn’t really made up for by the scene in which the heroes get tortured with a box cutter.


Bring a friend

To be fair, the story is a little less unappealing if you play it the way the developers intended: with a buddy. (You can do this in split-screen if you really want, although Kane and Lynch tend to block most of their respective screens, so we recommend against it). Co-op doesn’t really change the game’s overall dynamic much, but it makes it a little easier to focus on the action and ignore the plot, and gives you a chance to actually strategize with your partner – something that isn’t really possible with trigger-happy computer-controlled Kane around.

Having a second player along can also theoretically prolong Lynch’s life, as it’s possible to revive a fallen teammate if you can get there fast enough. More often than not, though, this just isn’t possible, either because the enemy fire is too thick or because one of you wandered off too far on your own. And if one of you dies, you both die, so try to keep an eye on your buddy.

Aside from that, there isn’t much of a difference between co-op and single-player; there’s a brief part you’d normally play solo as Lynch that gets truncated into a cutscene, and there are a couple of segments when the two briefly split up that you wouldn’t otherwise get to see from Kane’s perspective.

Of course, if you’ve played the first Kane & Lynch, you already know that the story mode isn’t all the game has to offer, and that co-op is just one small part of the game’s multiplayer possibilities.


Bring more friends

Rounding out Dog Days are its three multiplayer modes – Fragile Alliance, Undercover Cop and Cops & Robbers – as well as an Arcade mode that’s basically a single-player (read: practice) version of Fragile Alliance. Thanks to a ranking system and the option to buy new weapons between rounds (with whatever money you stole in the last round, of course), Dog Days’ multiplayer has the potential to hold your interest a lot longer than its short story mode. It also has the potential to simply frustrate the hell out of you.

Returning from the first game, Fragile Alliance is the centerpiece here, tasking a group of players with carrying out a heist (or, more accurately, with looting a wrecked vehicle), shooting their way through the cops and escaping to safety in a waiting van or helicopter. Simple, right? Of course not; all your teammates are greedy backstabbers, and everyone’s goal is to make it out of the stage with as much cash as possible.

More Info

Release date: Aug 17 2010 - PS3, Xbox 360, PC (US)
Aug 20 2010 - PS3, Xbox 360, PC (UK)
Available Platforms: PS3, Xbox 360, PC
Genre: Action
Published by: Eidos
Developed by: Io Interactive
ESRB Rating:
Mature: Blood, Drug Reference, Intense Violence, Partial Nudity, Strong Language
PEGI Rating:
18+

35 comments

  • sTuCkU10x - August 26, 2010 12:38 p.m.

    oh @ElGrinchoid, i agree wit price dropping
  • sTuCkU10x - August 26, 2010 12:23 p.m.

    What I was looking for was it to be better than the first. I feel they accomplished this BUT, story was mediocre and ending was just disappointing.
  • QWERTYCommander - August 23, 2010 5:57 a.m.

    Funny, Gamespot wasn't even giving the sequel any special treatment. They gave it a 6.5. It was still heavily advertised on the site, just like the first. I'm predicting a Calvert-gate?
  • ElGrinchoid - August 21, 2010 12:32 a.m.

    5 hours for the single player story? Really? How on earth is that acceptable for a game to be released with that. I honestly don't care if they've put a lot of work into the multiplayer (not that reading that review makes it sound like that). Some of us don't live for multiplayer and to be honest i'm getting sick of seeing games like this come out with sub par single player stories. If it's only a 5 hour play through then perhaps we should only be charged for the 5 hour play through instead of marketing and pricing it like a full game. When a game like Red Dead Redemption can be put out, with what, well over 15 hours sp (if you hammer it and don't bother dicking about with all the side quests) for $10 cheaper it really does show this for what it is, a quick kick in the spuds to gamers. Especially if the multi is annoying as it sounds. Reads like 7/10 is far, far too generous if i'm honest.
  • JD_Method - August 19, 2010 9:03 a.m.

    Yeah, this game isn't for everyone, but I think some people are just jumping on the hate bandwagon, still bitter over the whole Gamespot thing, which may or may not have had anything to do with the first Kane & Lynch. The first game wasn't as bad as some people made out to be. Sure, it had its flaws but it was still enjoyable. I haven't finished the single player for Kane & Lynch 2 yet, but I can agree with this score. Seven is good, not mediocre like some people seem to think. Look, it even says "GOOD" next to the score there. I'm having fun playing this through in split-screen. It's nothing mind-blowing, but it's fun. It's a bit of a marmite game, this one. You either like it or you don't. But for those that don't like it, would you rather this franchise just fail and never be heard of again? Or would you rather IO Interactive actually get it together and smash out an amazing Kane & Lynch game which rectifys all the problems of the previous titles and gives us a brilliant single player (and multiplayer) experience, like they should have done in the first place (after making Hitman 5, of course)? This franchise and its characters have massive potential, and even though I still buy and enjoy these games, I just don't think IO is quite reaching that potential. I'm just hoping IO Interactive can one day deliver the great Kane & Lynch experience some of us have been waiting for.
  • meh - August 19, 2010 5:18 a.m.

    well, at least its not a big pile of balls like I thought it would be. Just mediocre.
  • TheWebSwinger - August 19, 2010 3:29 a.m.

    Couldn't give two shits about this game, frankly.
  • Syncmaster - August 19, 2010 2:22 a.m.

    I got a felling this game should be only a single mission in a far bigger game. how could they not improve on the duo and the story??!
  • Phazon117 - August 18, 2010 8:16 p.m.

    Really don't give a shit for this series. Hoping it ends here.
  • DrRock - August 18, 2010 6:33 p.m.

    I think you might be giving it to generous of a score but you're entitled to your opinion.
  • bonerachieved - August 18, 2010 6:02 p.m.

    Just beat this game in co-op at a friends house. REALLY REALLY REALLY REALLY REALLY REALLY DISAPPOINTED. Overall I would've gave this game a 5, but then again I'm not a gams jarnaliztstst especially how the second half is just you trying to get out of the damn city.
  • GamesRadarMikelReparaz - August 18, 2010 5:32 p.m.

    @Onepersonwithnoopinion: Do what, now? @Unoriginal: He gave the PS3 version a 3/5, and then knocked the 360 version down to 2/5 over a bug he experienced. Honestly, I don't know whether to be impressed or disappointed that he never brought up the controversy over the last game in his review.
  • Unoriginal - August 18, 2010 1:01 p.m.

    Wonder what Gerstman gave this. Too soon?
  • db1331 - August 18, 2010 12:46 p.m.

    I am getting really good at predicting GR review scores. I am so happy to see this game getting ripped apart by just about every site. Game Informer was really rough on it. They deserve it after trying to buy reviews for the first game. Time to hang up Kane & Lynch, boys. It's obvious that nobody gives a shit about them.
  • elpurplemonkey - August 18, 2010 7:21 a.m.

    Good review. This really seems like a solid rental- a lot of meh with some genuinely enjoyable moments.
  • crumbdunky - August 18, 2010 5:14 a.m.

    Well, I felt even the visual effect was hokum and basically a pan stick, cover all for lazy visals underneath(models and animations are sub par to begin with, imho)so to me it's an INSULT rather than a plus point. The hit detection was iffy and the cover system worked when it felt like it(no, not the bits where the covers too flimsy-that, in fact, is the games only good is a in my book and even then it was inconsistent with some cover working when t reeally shouldn't do), the basic gunplay lacks snap and direction(I've seldom felt less powerful with a virtual gun in my mitts)and I always felt the traitor nonsense in the MP was just that-nonsense. I WAS hoping it was just a wonky demo but having played through a large part of a mates review copy at his house(he wanted a second opinion)I'm sad to say I like the game even less. Sure, it's gritty but it's done with so much pride that you feel they'd have badges declaring it if they could get away with it-it's gritty just for the sake of feeling "adult" and that's not forgiveable when the core gameplay is so under whelming, almost trite in it's execution. Aly that to the feeling I have that the visual effect is there purely to hide lazy design and gfx and you have a game that, were I reviewing would NEVER see anything above a four/ten. Seriously, I think Mikel's being generous and for those in the mainstream media bigging this mess up-PLAY some sodding REAL games and get back to us. Pushing this crap is a disgrace. Makes me VERY scared IO have lost it and Hitman5 will be crap too. Hope not.
  • Onepersonwithnoopinion - August 18, 2010 5:09 a.m.

    @Mikel And what about games that do?
  • SAUGAPRIME - August 18, 2010 3:27 a.m.

    This game deserved a solid 8. playing as a character trying to keep his illness under control is a fresh look at gaming. Who dosen't have that kind of problem these days. Maybe it could of put more of that in the story like he ran out of pills so he tried to self medicate himself.
  • lovinmyps3 - August 18, 2010 1:21 a.m.

    Rental. I bought the first, I will not be disappointed again!
  • ihopethisisnotantistasblood - August 18, 2010 12:48 a.m.

    hope nobody gets fired because of this game

Showing 1-20 of 35 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000