Google+

Homefront review

AT A GLANCE
  • Engrossing, believable invasion-paranoia story
  • Drones and vehicles make multiplayer a blast
  • Campaign has some strikingly memorable set-pieces
  • Campaign is over in 4-6 hours
  • It also feels scripted to a restrictive degree
  • Visuals in both modes look dated and rough

Homefront – The Multiplayer

While the action in Homefront’s campaign feels generic and restrictive, its multiplayer is anything but, and it’s not a stretch to say it feels like a completely different game. Sure, the controls and basic action are the same, but while the campaign sees Robert Jacobs and his scrappy band of civilian rebels striking blows against their terrifying occupiers, multiplayer pits the GKR troops against the US Army in control-point (or “Ground Control”) and team-deathmatch scenarios for 16, 24, or 32 players. (And yes, you'll need a passcode that comes with new copies of the game to get access to everything. Or you can buy one. In any case, not having one won't restrict you from playing online, but you won't be able to rise past level 5.)


Above: Also there are tanks

Assuming you can get over the slightly weird fact that both sides use exactly the same weapons and vehicles (something explained by a news clipping in the campaign), there’s a lot to like here. The action is fast and chaotic, as the armies clash over huge, open maps set in places like the Bay Area’s Angel Island and an assortment of more anonymous ruined freeways, cities, suburbs and rural areas. These are all filled with plenty of buildings to occupy, high places to snipe from and blind corners to hide behind, and (as in most multiplayer FPSes) knowing a map’s layout well enough to work out a strategy around it is key to success.

That goes double during Ground Control matches. GC is divided into rounds, and depending on which team wins the first round (by capturing and holding at least two of the three available control points), the action will advance/fall back to a new area, past the outskirts of the previous round’s spawn area. Because these new areas usually have completely different topographies and structures, it’s a little like instantaneously switching over to a new map.

The big draw, however, comes from what you can earn by racking up Battle Points. Earned by killing enemies, assisting teammates or conquering control points, BPs can earn you the right to deploy a drone (which come in both ground and air flavors, and are immensely fun to pilot), equip yourself with a rocket launcher or call in an airstrike, which you can aim from a plane’s-eye view of the battlefield. It can also earn you the right to spawn inside of a vehicle (with better ones available to those with more BPs), which seems like a drag at first, but actually makes piloting vehicles a question of merit, instead of a question of which idiot can sprint to the cockpit first before crashing into a mountain.

Each multiplayer loadout comes with two different “purchase slots” (which don’t include vehicles; those are universal), and while there are four starter loadouts and two unlockable later on, you’re free to customize these however you like. If you like the drone and airstrike the Sniper class comes equipped with, for instance, but you’re no good with a sniper rifle, you can swap it out for an assault rifle or machinegun. You can also trick out your favorite loadouts with performance-enhancing perks – and, of course, more and better perks, unlocks and weapons become available as you gain experience and level up.


Above: Multiplayer, like single-player, features more than a few logos for White Castle, Hooters, TigerDirect.com and other iffy brands

Thanks largely to all the cool stuff you can play around with, Homefront’s multiplayer is instantly fun, rewarding and varied, and only becomes more so as you unlock new stuff. It looks about as dated and unpolished as the campaign does, but there are few sensations quite as fun as crouching in a dark corner and surprising enemies halfway across the map with a well-placed drone.

Multiplayer Verdict: 8/10 (“Great”)

Next page: Is Homefront better than Call of Duty: Black Ops?

More Info

Available Platforms: PS3, PC, Xbox 360
Genre: Shooter
Published by: THQ
Developed by: Kaos
ESRB Rating:
Rating Pending
PEGI Rating:
Rating Pending

71 comments

  • silence-chapter - October 3, 2011 2:52 p.m.

    First, I'll say I love these types of plots. So, I had huge hopes for this game. However, it's no mind blowing experience. Cinematic scenes are good, graphics okay, and the storyline is good. Single player campaign is what I'll cover here. The ten points: 1. If you're an early COD fan, than you'll probably like this game. 2. There isn't much to do, you're guided throughout the game, and the controller layout is similar to many other 1st person shooters. 3. World interaction and environment is very lacking. Meaning you cannot free roam and you cannot interact with the environment. IE, destroy walls or even shoot out lights. 4. Ally AI is bad. You can shoot directly at your allies heads and nothing happens. They are in your way 90% of the time and if there is a ladder to climb or hole to crawl through, you are always the last in line...everything is guided. 5. Enemy AI is equally as bad. If the story requires you to snipe or knife someone, they hold still like the perfect candidate. There is no, and I mean no, interaction. The AI is perfectly deaf, dumb, and blind. However throughout the game-play, no matter where you're hiding or where you pop out of, their aim is 100% accurate. You will take hits and occasionally...you will die. 6. Special weapons, vehicles, and interactions are dull and have been overcooked. There is nothing really special about them at all. 7. PS3 version...WILL glitch and you'll find yourself, hard rebooting, and starting from the last saved checkpoint. 8. The storyline is good and slightly believable. 9. Single player campaigners will be upset with the game length. Approx 5.5 hours of hardcore gaming and you'll be watching re-runs of Jackass. 10. This game is definitely not worth the initial high cost. Wait for it to go on sale at Wally World, hit the used bin at EB, or Gamefly it.
  • Axcleblade - May 27, 2011 8:12 p.m.

    I borrowed the game from a friend, started playing campaign at around 1:45...I was done before 5 rolled around. It wasn't bad, just lacking and I think it could have used some more development time to flesh out the story more.
  • iforgotmypassword - April 5, 2011 1:41 a.m.

    @X701Xspoon >_> you do realize you dont return games to the manufacturer and once the game has been opened there is no chance of returning it unless its defective as of the day you bought it just suck it up and sell it for 22 dollars to gamestop lol
  • X701Xspoon - March 25, 2011 1:24 p.m.

    After 2 weeks of issues with multiplayer I am trying to return this POS. Customer service is non existent at THQ I have sent 4 emails and tried calling support for 3 days with nothing but a buzy signal for my troubles. THQ will not be receiving my business even if they produce the next COD. Homefront=FAIL :(
  • rooney313 - March 23, 2011 1:17 a.m.

    I've now played through the campaign and spent hours on the multiplayer and agree with this review. i'd score it the same and thus will be trading it in for crysis 2 on friday. maybe this is why it sold so well people knew they could play it for a week then get rid of it for crysis 2.
  • wedgelington - March 20, 2011 9:55 p.m.

    i've been playing this since it came out and so far its pretty great , the campaign is just like it said in the review in that it holds your hand for stupid bits of pointless gameplay that a quick cut scene could have done, but the multiplayer is so much fun that i don't even care about any of the games other faults, also is anyone finding it a little bit hard to aim the guns in multiplayer, maybe its just me but i can't seem to kill anyone with anything else other than a sniper rifle or vehicle
  • ChuckB - March 20, 2011 9:35 a.m.

    Beating the game and tried the MP out enough, I've come to conclusion this game will separate those who don't mind Homefront's flaws and those who want something new now. It isn't for everyone but it does something interesting that's worth enough to check out for any FPSer.
  • Smeggs - March 20, 2011 4:24 a.m.

    How about you say what the multiplayer is really like? "Enemy team is made up of no-lifers/mod-hackers at the highest level with the best guns...they now all have apaches and tanks...Oh look, we now have a ta-scratch that, enemy team EMP'd and raped it with all of their better weapons." Multiplayer is the only thing I have had experience with so far, however, and since I am a man of story, as long as the gameplay is moderately good I am hopeful that I will like it. I mean I literally loved Metro 2033, like if it were a woman I'd totally stalk it in the dead of night, and the gameplay wasn't the greatest in that either (although using throwing knives and sneaking in and out of areas like a ninja-assassin was damned fun).
  • rooney313 - March 19, 2011 6:20 p.m.

    This games multiplayer is so much fun I've barely played campaign, why don't people stop moaning and complaining and try the game for themselves. This review is only someones opinion.
  • TheLastRGP - March 19, 2011 4:38 a.m.

    I agree with what everyone said. I ended up picking it up on day 1, AND THOUGH SHORT, I enjoyed the experience and it's attempt. Multiplayer is good for what I played (servers were messed up the 1st day), but this was probably the 1st game in a long time that had an average rating across the board that I didn't have a problem spending 60 bucks on. If I had to, I'd do it again. It's a good game, and I hope they add DLC to flesh out the game a little more.
  • Clickshark - March 19, 2011 2:21 a.m.

    This deserves a solid "duh" from competent gamers.
  • civver - March 19, 2011 12:03 a.m.

    "Believable story" Hahahahaha, oh wow. South Korea peacefully agreeing to be ruled by the North, and various convenient disasters to bring the US down a bit. And China somehow not caring that the nation it has under its wing is growing more powerful than they can benefit from. Or any other non-NK power for that matter.
  • EwoksTasteLikeChicken - March 18, 2011 5:15 p.m.

    @DarthCockels Fuck you. Maybe there are people out there who are tired of gay-ass multiplayer like CoD(which sucks sweaty balls) and want something over the top like Bulletstorm. We're not all no-life 10th prestigers.
  • EwoksTasteLikeChicken - March 18, 2011 5:09 p.m.

    4-6 hour campaign? Guess this game isn't for me.
  • therawski - March 17, 2011 6:10 p.m.

    Kinda looks like MW2 in an unsettling and disappointing way unfortunately, I can see how this might piss some people off but who hasn't Kim Jong-il pissed on? Democratic People's Republic of my ass, technically it's leader is Kim Il-sung who's been dead since 1994!
  • DarthCockels - March 17, 2011 2:16 p.m.

    This game is badass. You shitdicks gave Bulletstorm a 10 and this a 7? Come the fuck on. If you're an FPS fan and have not played the seriously fun MP then you are retarded. I have played every console based FPS since GoldenEye on EVERY system; this one is the most fun I have had to date. It is a very worthwhile expierience; don't decide based on some FPS jaded shitbag of a score that doesn't reflect what the game is. If you do completely trust this shit then go pick up Bulletstorm and be bored to shit in 2 hours.
  • Navas - March 17, 2011 11:32 a.m.

    7 is a good score a think, seems to me the visuals held it back a bit! Will still be picking it up tomorrow on my way to college, been waiting for this game for a while!
  • CitizenWolfie - March 17, 2011 9:58 a.m.

    I'm a bit disappointed to see the single player only getting a 6. It was pretty much the only reason I was getting it. Glad this was posted before release though so I can give it a miss. Or at least wait until it's going cheap. Good to see the MP can hold its own though. Not something I go for in a game but it's nice to see some effort has been made into making it fun.
  • Hobogonigal - March 17, 2011 9:55 a.m.

    I could have guessed this game was going to be meh. I saw a gameplay trailer of it a few weeks ago and from what I saw it reminded me of a Medal of Honor game from the PS2. Not due to setting, more because of the way it seemed insanely linear and the graphics didn't look to sharp as well. Oh well, Crysis 2 perhaps?
  • Zeb364 - March 17, 2011 9:08 a.m.

    I picked this game up on day one and have played the campaign all the way through (in only 4 hours I might add). I've only had a chance to play a bit of the multiplayer (reached level 5). I agree with Wikiparaz on almost all counts and I was disappointed by Homefront's inability to meet it's potential but I am still glad I experienced it. I think the poignant campaign is a glimpse of what all these present day (or in this case near future)shooters can aspire to do if they only fix the issues that exist in this first effort. @cthuluswrath: Your point (assuming you ever had one) is forever lost in that caps locked mess of grammer and spelling errors. Take a breath, gather your thoughts, spend at least a week practicing the written form of english language, then come back fresh and try again.

Showing 1-20 of 71 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000