Google+

Heavy Rain review

AT A GLANCE
  • One of the most stunningly believable game worlds to date
  • It's genuine emotionally affecting at times
  • You'll be engrossed
  • It's badly written
  • It feels a little smug at times
  • You'll hate it if you're an action junkie

It’s not as mature as it thinks

Disappointment time. For all of Heavy Rain’s much vaunted pretensions of being the first great mature video game narrative, it fails. Hard. The fact is that if you strip away the beautiful imagery, the stirring musical score, the clever camera angles and the expressive facial animations, what you’re left with is a fairly gratuitous, schlocky and unoriginal story, packed with clunkily presented excesses which at times veer towards the comical.

The central plot is little more than the Saw franchise blended with the visual style of Se7en, and there’s barely a single scene or story element that isn’t built around a hoary old crime movie cliché you can instantly relate to a million hoary old crime movies. The corrupt police chief. The world-weary but big-hearted private detective. The brilliant, ideosynchratic, but mistrusted FBI agent. The crazy, out of control son of the sinister millionaire. The ballsy reporter. The sleazy nightclub owner. They’re all here in force, but they’re just the tip of an iceberg which comes close to sinking the whole narrative ship.

Some characters are fleshed out and genuinely relatable, while others are as one-note and unsympathetic as they come. Troubled father Ethan in particular, who is charged with taking the brunt of the story’s emotional weight, starts out well with a few genuinely affecting scenes. But by the mid-point of the game he becomes such a flat and undeveloped non-entity that that it's disturbingly hard to care about what should be a genuinely distressing storyline.

If you need a summation of Heavy Rain’s immaturity, check out this video comparing the two shower scenes in the game. Director David Cage may claim he only uses nudity as a character development device, but boy is that statement about to become pretty hilarious. Be warned though, the vid is rather damn racey. Adults only please.

Ethan (male) is straight in and straight out, with only a brief arse shot and a quick towel dry as an early tutorial in using the Sixaxis. Madison (female) can be manually stripped at any speed you wish, goes full frontal whenever possible, seems to have her own cameraman specially trained in close-up boob shots, can have her shower scene extended twice by ignoring a QTE prompt, gets more towel drying (which by this point in the game is far from a tutorial), and then has to be manually clothed (again, at a speed of your choice). Or you can just leave her naked and ogle for a while if you feel like it.

Heavy Rain is a movie alright, but frankly, it’s not a very good one. Which leads us onto our last and saddest point.


It’s not very well written

In fact at times it’s pretty bad. At others, it’s downright embarrassing. Let’s ignore for a moment the clichéd characters and scenarios. Let’s ignore the gratuitous excesses. Let’s ignore the occasionally over-ripe dialogue. Let’s ignore the sometimes trite imagery. Hell, let’s even ignore the clumsily-written ‘ominous’ forshadowing scene at the start; the one so sledgehammer-blunt that it made us laugh out loud. Aside from all of that, Heavy Rain’s biggest failing is that the plot is just broken.

If you’re the sort of person who played through Modern Warfare 2 and didn’t care (or notice) that it made no sense, you might be okay with it, but as a game constructed by and for the strength and malleability of its story, Heavy Rain’s narrative failings cause the whole show to fall down once you start to think about them t0 hard. It's like a heavily obese Megan Fox. Potentially great beauty stretched to the point of implausibilty by a lack of grace or restraint.

Most obviously, there’s a stinking great plot-hole late in the story which succeeds in nothing less than pulling the whole climax apart (pro writing tip: if a key dramatic moment relies on two characters knowing each other, try to make sure that they know each other, or have at least become aware of each other’s existence before said scene occurs).

But there are gaping logic voids littered throughout the whole damn thing. Would it really be possible to commit a major crime in the police station you work in – a crime easily tied to you with minimal thought required from your supposed crime-solving colleagues – and then just get back to work as if nothing had happened? Is it plausible that even a corrupt media-whore of a police chief would decide to scapegoat an arrest target based on no actual evidence or thought to how he’s eventually going to build a case in court? And how the hell does a character end up in another’s apartment without a key?

Occurrences like these are plentiful throughout Heavy Rain, and are endemic of an approach to plot which seems content to simply squeeze in dramatic moments with no thought to the wider context of why or how. And it only gets worse as the story gathers pace. As the mystery unravels, key developments are built around co-incidence, implausible jumps of logic, and bullshit theories that don’t hold together at all but turn out to be true regardless, just because it’s more convenient that way. The red herrings can be nonsensical to the point of presenting impossible and unexplained scenarios in aid of implying false guilt, and at one stage the game pulls a trick so cheap you might end up feeling cheated come the resolution.

You might not come across all of Heavy Rain's broken plot elements during your first play through, but the more you see of the overall story possibilities and the more you think about the events unfolding, the more affronted you'll feel by it all. Some might give the game a free ride because of the supposed complexity of its narrative pioneering, but in a real sense it does nothing with its branching structure more clever than the writers of Choose Your Own Adventure books have been doing for twenty years. For primary school kids. While actually making their plots work.

More Info

Release date: Feb 23 2010 - PS3 (US)
Feb 26 2010 - PS3 (UK)
Available Platforms: PS3
Genre: Adventure
Published by: SCEA
Developed by: Quantic Dream
ESRB Rating:
Mature: Blood, Intense Violence, Nudity, Sexual Themes, Strong Language, Use of Drugs
PEGI Rating:
16+

125 comments

  • PorcelainPoison - June 25, 2011 2:08 p.m.

    SPOILERS IMMINENT - I just completed this game and on my first run, managed to kill three out of four main characters along with Ethan's son and Scott Shelby's assistant Lauren. The Origami Killer, Scott, walked away whilst everyone else died. I'm pretty impressed with my FAIL. xd But I do like this game and 2 of my other friends do to. Comparing the shower scenes, however, I never realised how ridiculous it was at first but maybe the makers were pandering to the idiots, as it were, to score another point and another possible purchase? I don't know but it made me laugh. One things for sure though, I'll definately be playing again soon to get a better ending.
  • Darkhawk - February 11, 2011 3:13 a.m.

    I already liked GamesRadar, but it was this review that finally convinced me to turn to you guys for all future game information. While Heavy Rain gets Metacritic acclaim (they're doing their "publishers of the year" feature right now), it's nice to pull up an intelligent and realistic review on your site. Keep up the great work!
  • cj12297 - June 9, 2010 1:54 p.m.

    i thought it was really good and i think i know what plot hole you mean
  • midway007 - May 29, 2010 10:31 a.m.

    1 of my fav games of 2010 so far great graphics and soundtrack with a movie like feel and multiple endings but i wasnt too keen on the taxidermist episode though lets hope episode 2 be better :)
  • CrazieChris - May 18, 2010 8:58 a.m.

    I played the demo, its not bad. Everybody is entitled to their opinion, professional or not. Its a game point blank, no game is absolutely perfect. Cuz It always comes down to da money situation. Neways, I thought it was a nice change in gaming, I hope to c more like it. The idea of different results is great compared to once u played it u know wat will happen. Im goin to buy n trade it upon beating it cuz I heard it wasnt a very long game, cuz I definetly played worse. Id give it 3.5 out of 5. Later fellow members
  • silentassassin51 - April 13, 2010 2:18 a.m.

    I've gotta say this is the first Gamesradar review I was disappointed by. I've played through the game already, more than a few times and I like it a lot. And honestly, in my playthroughs I didn't really get this sense of pretentiousness everyone keeps talking about. Yeah, they call it "interactive drama" when it is, to its core, still a game. But god am I glad they're trying something different in a sea of samey garbage. I for one am sick of shooters, and the market is pretty freakin' crowded at the moment. But anyway. The sections with the gripes about story and all that jazz just sound like the complaints of "that guy" about a movie. You know, "that guy" who deconstructs each plot hole or just says something is "so unrealistic." Yeah, I caught all of them the first time through, but I didn't let them bother me. Sure, some of the scenes seem unreasonably acted, and no, I don't know what Norman Jayden's accent is supposed to be. But complaining about scene continuity is a little dangerous in a game like this, which offers a choice in almost every scene. Yahtzee Crowshaw didn't care for the story much either, and he too complained about the ending. But he qualified himself by saying that to do a game like this requires rewriting a scene many times. His game, which was to have six or so core choices would have had about sixty four different stories. A game with as many choices as heavy rains would have thousands. My point is that yeah, a few sequences slipped through the metaphorical story crack. But when so many were done right, I don't personally give a toss. And the complaint of "maturity?" Really? Yeah, that shower scene can be a two minute long boobstravaganza if you want it to be, but the controls for undressing Madison are the same as any other action in the game, and can be done just as fast. Is it unrealistic that a woman would be naked a) in the shower and b) in her own fucking bathroom? No. Bitching about that sequence reminds me of everyone who always complains you can beat a hooker to death in GTA. Yeah, you can do it, but you don't have to. It's totally up to the player. If you hit the first command in the shower you see her bare breasts for a brief moment, then she gets right out of the shower, just like Ethan. Poor taste would have been letting you walk around, or do the following (spoiler alert) fight sequence naked. Anyway I know no ones really going to read this but I wrote it anyway because I felt like it. In sum, loved the game, didn't really dig this review. But isn't that how it should be? hm.
  • wiljohannes - April 8, 2010 6:41 p.m.

    those voices and faces... just, not right.
  • madgoody - March 16, 2010 10:14 a.m.

    Worse game ever! I got this yesterday without reading any reviews and just going on a very well made TV ad- so my mistake i know. Yes the game is like a movie but trust me you would turn this movie off after 10 minutes! I did give the game longer than that but it was so dull, having a shower and playing with the kids isn't a game its life and its boring which is why we all play these games isn't it, to escape the boring lives we lead? No you cant make your decisions as promised its just another script, you cant even go where you want. I was expecting something in between GTA and Fallout and got something between The Trueman Show and a Church service, yawn. Maybe if you could slap your kids and get it on with your wife in the dining room, it would be slightly entertaining. If you do think this is a great game maybe you should look at your own lives because if mine was this dull, i'd be off to find a high bridge. For Sale one copy like new of Heavy Rain!
  • Clavius42 - March 9, 2010 4:03 a.m.

    Thanks for the brutally honest review of this not really brutal pseudo thriller. Three things to add to your Most Distracting list: 1) Ethan's repeated non-inflection calling out his son's name in the prologue 2) characters who can't run even when they're supposed to be in a hurry - nothing kills tension like a character just walking around while ominous music plays and the split screen shows the peril they're in 3) the insane button-mashing mini-games to do things like climb freakin' hills! The technology of Heavy Rain blew me away, but if this was a movie on Netflix, I'd give it one star...
  • garp94 - March 3, 2010 3:03 a.m.

    Got anything nice to say, GR?
  • ScruffMoney - February 27, 2010 11 p.m.

    God that was a long review but an enjoyable read. I agree with many of your points but still would've scored it higher. Personally I think it's a great game and experience and would love to see more like them, if perhaps a little better written.
  • SuperStingray - February 27, 2010 9:24 p.m.

    I loved this game simply because of it's interactive factor. Without it, it would really be nothing special. Not to spoil anything, but there is a scene where Ethan puts himself through intense pain. If I were watching a movie, I'd probably just cringe or close my eyes. But since I was the one doing it here, I actually felt the guilt and remorse of doing it. Say what you will of the story's quality, but it's a damn immersive game.
  • b-dog1991 - February 25, 2010 10:54 p.m.

    I would say the last 7 page of comment's are the reason why the industry needs games like Heavy Rain. It has, for better or worse, encouraged debate on the true form of games in general. And while it's obvious to forget, some of the greatest moments in games have come from cut-scenes, take MGS for example. Playing and watching Snake were blended in innovate ways where you still felt immersed in his adventure. Not to say Heavy Rain isn't interactive, just not in the sense we experience regularly. It's a shame then that it's exclusivity has put it under fire, because experiences like this are so uncommon amongst the glut of generic titles pumped out every week. Will we remember AVP or Dark Void in 5 years time, in the same way people getting misty eyed over Fahrenheit (sorry, Indigo Prophecy)? Here's hoping at least
  • Nerdlicious - February 25, 2010 5:38 a.m.

    Fine then..either an 8 or a 9 would suffice. It's amazing
  • TURbo - February 24, 2010 11:55 p.m.

    GamesRadar does not rate on a 20 pt scale. 9.5's aren't possible.
  • Ash1138 - February 24, 2010 9:03 p.m.

    Better than Indigo Prophecy; one of my favorite adventure games of all time? That's all I needed to know.
  • Nerdlicious - February 23, 2010 11:20 p.m.

    I would have to disagree strongly with the rating....give it a 9.5 at least! I know it's a jump from 7 but the game is not like any other game out there and it's so beautifully crafted not only in visuals and controls but in human emotion. I'm only 15% in and I cried and gasped! It has been keeping me on my toes at all times and my heart has been racing the entire time too! One thing I don't like about the game is the double standard of sexuality displayed. If I'm going to see a naked lady in the shower, or taking a piss- boobies and all, I'm going to want to see much more of the male then just a bare ass! Ethan Mars is a hot piece!!! (BTW is it just me or does Madison Paige remind you of Olivia Benson from SVU??)
  • maryjames2010 - February 23, 2010 7:47 p.m.

    Do you want a free PS3, if so, follow this link. http://gifts.kudosnetwork.co.uk/21111
  • Anduin1 - February 23, 2010 6:11 a.m.

    Bias reeks within this review
  • Ironarm - February 23, 2010 3:01 a.m.

    Heavy Rain is my most anticipated games of the year, if not of all time. I'm completely ready for a totally different gaming experience, not just point and shoot gameplay. I can't really sit here and argue that Gamesradar is wrong about this review. It's their own professional opinion and I utterly respect that. I just know that this is going to be my type of game; a deep adult story with (hopefully) great acting and writing. (Like I said I'm not going to tell Gamesradar they are wrong, but I'm optimistic that the writing and acting won't be bad at all)

Showing 1-20 of 125 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000