Google+

Halo Wars review

Solid
Back to Article

67 comments

  • lappy123456 - February 26, 2009 12:56 a.m.

    well they r.. i spoke to the head desiner for halo wars and he said that theyll be more.. not like 200 but lik e50-70.. he told me that.. and r u gettin the special addition??
  • jar-head - February 26, 2009 12:32 a.m.

    one thing i never understood...20years prior to halo, and the spartans could be upgraded to Spartan Lasers, HUH? And the UNSC Special Cannon shot is Unbelievably strong! but the Demo aslo had a cap for only /40 units, upgraded? although onyl a demo, i hope the full game can have something like/200 caps on infantry...like Starcraft...Uhhhh
  • GRwarrior - February 25, 2009 5 a.m.

    I dont know, I might get special. But I haven't played a RST in ages so I think Halo will be ok, if not as good as the others.
  • lappy123456 - February 25, 2009 2:12 a.m.

    Anyone here gettin the special adiction???? u get me troops(tec and veoicles) anyone gettin it.. its an extra 20 bucks so in total itll equal 80bucks... (-_-)
  • AzNbOi - February 24, 2009 11:56 p.m.

    Hell Yeah! been watin 4 this game
  • Ascian - February 24, 2009 9:03 p.m.

    Personally, I think that they're just using Halo's already way too high popularity to promote this game... I kinda feel sorry for the guy who tells them that sales are high only to have them come crashing down if this isn't that great. Problemm being it might not suit Halo fans and it will have lost anyone who doesn't particularly like Halo
  • zhaoman - February 23, 2009 4:49 p.m.

    it's not a brilliant game but i found using the right trigger to issue commands very simple and effective in the demo. it allowed me to split my army up and attack from different angles very easily so i don't see any issues with micro-management. i think it suffers more from the fact that RTSes just aren't comfortable on a console.
  • P0ck3tC1am - February 23, 2009 2:03 p.m.

    The only reason why people are going to buy it not only because of "Halo" it also what comes with the legendary edition. Who wouldn't want the mystic maps or a flame painted warthog? evertyone wants that, so just waste $60 for extras...so stupid, This game is only good for one thing and that is for computers.
  • Sash - February 23, 2009 1:25 p.m.

    Never really been a fan of RTS to begin with. Lets get back to waiting for Halo Recon or ODST (???)
  • sprog - February 22, 2009 10:56 p.m.

    I'll probably play it to the end and trade it in, but hey you can never really trust a review. After all, it's still each to his own in the end.
  • rybell - February 22, 2009 12:04 a.m.

    very few games can pull off a good rts on a console. the only good one i've ever played was civilization revolution and even it had to be dumbed down
  • volrath46656 - February 21, 2009 9:59 a.m.

    I am also amazed that there are "gamers" who haven't heard of this game, and I pity those who buy this game simply because the name "Halo" is in the title. GR was the most critical of the reviews I've read so far, but I'm guessing Halo fans should stick to other shooters and RTS fans should look elsewhere. Even at its best I can't see this game competing with the majority of 2009's Q1 lineup.
  • Levy - February 21, 2009 1:09 a.m.

    Holy Schnikes I called a seven. Yes, its mediocre but how have you guys not heard of this game? Do you even call yourselves gamers? Have you been under a rock for the last year?
  • jackf-11 - February 21, 2009 12:02 a.m.

    This is kind of ironic considering that GI gave it 9 and in the second opinion 9.25. I'm gonna go with GI on this one mostly cuz they are from Minneapolis. And I'm from Minnesota. Lol.
  • Gameward-Bound - February 21, 2009 12:01 a.m.

    Lame game is lame.
  • NelosAngelos - February 20, 2009 11:53 p.m.

    A part of me knew this wouldn't be as good as I thought it would when I saw that very first trailer which seemed like a lifetime ago. The visuals are great, the colors and animations looked goo. But as you said GR, its all looks nothing much else. I'll stick with StarCraft.
  • Jbo87 - February 20, 2009 9:55 p.m.

    Tbh I didn't really see this setting the world alight. RTS' for the most part belong on the PC. With regards to the points about lack of tactical potential i've always preferred games that offer a limited number of units at the start as they force a tactical approach. Base building invariably leads to turtling, followed by mass attacks which are often scuppered by your units being completely retarded. Bring on DoW 2 thats what I say.
  • Theonik - February 20, 2009 9:19 p.m.

    I can hear the fanboys coming. I can already see posts like:"OMG you gave halo wars a 7 you are so biased GR" total nonesence.
  • FrozenImplosion - February 20, 2009 8:43 p.m.

    The demo was pretty good for this, and I hadn't heard of this game until less than two months ago
  • Unoriginal - February 20, 2009 8:28 p.m.

    Why have I never heard of this game before? Seeing that its a Halo game youd think people would be going nuts.

Showing 21-40 of 67 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: Mar 03 2009 - Xbox 360 (US)
Feb 27 2009 - Xbox 360 (UK)
Available Platforms: Xbox 360
Genre: Strategy
Published by: Microsoft
Developed by: Ensemble Studios
Franchise: Halo
ESRB Rating:
Teen: Violence, Mild Language, Mild Blood
PEGI Rating:
16+: Violence

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.