Google+

Grand Slam Tennis review

AT A GLANCE
  • Brilliant with MotionPlus
  • Something to offer all standards of player
  • Looks and sounds great
  • Commentary gets repetitive
  • Not so brilliant without MotionPlus
  • Miserly character creation

After playing this in our somewhat cramped games room, we know why the MotionPlus comes pre-fitted into one of those nasty silicon safety jackets. You can take it out if you want, and we did, but if you’ve got a nice TV, light fittings or double glazing that you’d like to keep intact, we’d recommend using it. And the strap, too – make sure that’s double tight – Grand Slam Tennis makes Wii Sports Bowling look tame as far as furniture-threatening motions go.

The perfectly tuned controls go hand in hand with a physical solidity that gives the whole game an impressive sensation of weight. The way the ball bounces, the way the players slide when changing direction, the speed and angles you can get on your shots.

It reminds us of the brilliant Super Tennis on SNES, where we could zing cross-court balls like missiles over the net, swerving shots that landed just inside the tramlines. We can do the same sort of thing in Grand Slam Tennis, and that’s definitely a first on Wii as far as we’re concerned.

Any negative points? Well, the character creation tool used in the career mode isn’t particularly good, featuring a miserly selection of parts. The career mode itself can be a bit tricky in the early stages, pitting your weakling player against difficult opponents right from the start. And it doesn’t have the great bonus modes that Virtua Tennis has. Not a huge problem when the main part of the game is so strong, but it’s one area where Sega’s game has a clear advantage.

If this is an indication of the future of tennis on Wii, MotionPlus is a godsend and EA have scored a coup by getting it bundled with their game rather than Sega’s. Next year’s versions of both may be even better, but right now it’s hard to look beyond Grand Slam if you’re searching for something that makes Wii Sports look like a toy.

Jun 8, 2009

More Info

Release date: Jun 08 2009 - Wii (US)
Jun 12 2009 - Wii (UK)
Available Platforms: Wii
Genre: Sports
Published by: EA SPORTS
Developed by: Electronic Arts
ESRB Rating:
Everyone
PEGI Rating:
3+

10 comments

  • easternaminetennis09 - October 30, 2009 9:43 p.m.

    fun game better than all my other wii games only problem is it's nothing like actually playing tennis in real life harder to hit the ball flat and way to easy to slice the ball also i cant figure out how to hit different types of serves
  • TanookiMan - June 15, 2009 1:39 p.m.

    Just read the 1up review of this. They were not as impressed by the motion plus as you, although honestly I trust Gamesradar a lot more than 1up as far as reviews go. If this game comes even close to being like Super Tennis, then I might have to grab it. God that game was fun!
  • clownferret - June 15, 2009 9:33 a.m.

    I got this on saturday and just wanted to confirm that it IS online and that it is brilliant. I used to play club tennis and this feels just like playing the real game, without hitting the ball into the net or out quite as much. You will never play Wii sports tennis again.
  • clownferret - June 11, 2009 3:02 p.m.

    All well and good, but when are we going to see the Virtua Tennis review? Friday is fast approaching and I need to know which of these to buy.
  • Titanguy654 - June 9, 2009 1:36 a.m.

    Cool, glad to see the motion-plus works as advertised. :)
  • GRwarrior - July 18, 2009 8:43 p.m.

    I'm sorry @Fantome, did you just say Wii Fit??? As I quote "If it wasn't for the Wii Fit & perhaps Bully, I'd have sold my Wii & the dozen games I've got long ago." Wii fit is for soccer moms and grandparents. Casual gamers. Not hardcore gamers. Also, I believe you are a bit of a fanboy as you plan to sell your Wii just as a flood of good games come. The conduit is here, Metroid the other M, all of that stuff. Note, Grand slam and virtua tennis are not terrible. I rest my case.
  • Fantome - June 29, 2009 9:24 a.m.

    I've got 4-5 tennis games on the Wii, and including this one I'm yet to be impressed. Let's face it, the Wii is just a poorly designed machine for tennis games, in fact most games. I haven't found anything with the ease of movement & hitting as Topspin on Xbox. Even with the MotionPlus countless times the player just doesn't move for the ball & you're stuck swinging at thin air before frustration sets in. Using the Nunchuk is the most awkward game experience I've used, so really this game is a complete waste of money. The serve is a useless shot on this game with no power at all, I wonder how many weeks one has to play to get more speed on it?? Most shots come off with topspin even if you make a flat or slice spin to it. If it wasn't for the Wii Fit & perhaps Bully, I'd have sold my Wii & the dozen games I've got long ago. I'm still planning to do that soon. It will make a good deposit on a Xbox 360 or Playstation 3... something decent to play tennis games on. Anyone wanting this game is recommended to hire it first so you'll see it's not worth purchasing.
  • StonedMagician99 - June 10, 2009 11:06 a.m.

    Finally, a good sports game for Wii!
  • Timothy_Lemon - June 9, 2009 10:44 a.m.

    at last the wii is fixed. move over wii sports
  • Ocelot - June 9, 2009 7:45 a.m.

    this might just give me a reason to actually play my Wii again. Now where did I put my duster?

Showing 1-10 of 10 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000