Google+

Gotham City Impostors review

AT A GLANCE
  • Complete customization
  • New ways to traverse a level
  • Fast and furious gameplay
  • Poor matchmaking
  • Grinding for costume coins
  • Repetitive character quotes

Unfortunately, not everything is working at the optimal level just yet for Gotham City Impostors. Matchmaking is frequently lopsided, and will pit whole scores of highly rated players against newcomers. What’s more, the matchmaking will often change the teams a second time just before the match starts. Whether that’s an issue with the players available to choose from when creating a match or just a glitch is moot. It’s an issue that may turn away people from playing long enough at the onset to really see what the game has to offer once you settle in. Additionally, the game will occasionally make every game mode into Deathmatch, even if you have selected the other options. The voiceover will still use cues from the other types of modes, but you won’t be able to get any batteries, or even see any gas canisters. It doesn’t happen often, but it will happen.

That Gotham City Impostors turned out as good as it did shouldn’t surprise you. Monolith has a proven track record, even if this game’s subject matter was a bit off the beaten track. It’s not without its flaws, but the good definitely outweighs the bad. The action is fast-paced, the combat is smooth, and the new twists on familiar FPS tropes really do make Gotham City Impostors a game worth playing. Even if it is just to pretend to be a backyard Batman for a few nights.

More Info

Release date: Feb 07 2012 - PS3
Feb 08 2012 - Xbox 360 (US)
Available Platforms: PS3, Xbox 360, PC
Published by: Warner Bros. Interactive Entertainment
Developed by: Monolith Productions
ESRB Rating:
Teen: Blood, Comic Mischief, Language, Violence, Mild Suggestive Themes

31 comments

  • RedOutlive10 - February 13, 2012 1:33 p.m.

    Okay Monolith, can we have another No One Lives Forever now? Please?
  • larkan - February 11, 2012 8:46 p.m.

    In other news, Team Fortress 2 is free...
  • GhostNappa2k10 - February 13, 2012 2:34 p.m.

    And? I love Team Fortress 2 (hell, I got 47 hours of playtime of it on Steam), and I also love this game. It feels like Team Fortress, but at the same time it has a progression system TF2 doesn't have, and the gadgets add something new to it.
  • bobob101 - February 11, 2012 9:45 a.m.

    If I play this in my Batman costume, does that make me really authentic?
  • NightCrawler_358 - February 10, 2012 8:24 p.m.

    I played it, and even though it was super-buggy, and didn't look too great, the gadgets made it so much fun in motion! Gliding around in a shooter is too fun! Maybe I'll pick this one up one day, even if i'm not big into the multiplayer scene.
  • KnowYourPokemon - February 10, 2012 7 p.m.

    Wow... I actually agree with this review lol. The matchmaking has to be the absolute worst thing about this game, which is a real shame.
  • talleyXIV - February 11, 2012 9:21 a.m.

    Yeah it truly is bad but the party system does alright, but when the gameplay really makes up for it. Once you get into a good lobby you could stay in there for hours too.
  • ChaseByKO - February 11, 2012 12:05 p.m.

    The matchmaking lead to a memorable amount of off-balanced teams in the beta. I also noticed that the game doesn't plug in empty spaces on teams for in-session games. Hopefully, it's better with the full game. I really enjoyed the game. It's deserving of the Team Fortress 2 comparisons.
  • jengaandapples123 - February 10, 2012 5:52 p.m.

    I'm going to use big words like FauxFurry did to sound smart about a VIDEO GAME REVIEW
  • EwoksTasteLikeChicken - February 10, 2012 5:14 p.m.

    I played the trail version, and other than the matchmaking, this was a very fun game.
  • FauxFurry - February 10, 2012 4:55 p.m.

    The impostor Bat-Men/Women are called the Batz as it they are some kind of irritable idols to consumerist culture rather than the Sons(and Daughters) of Bat-Man as they were in The Dark Knight Returns? What a missed opportunity. That the game seems to have a scarcity of innocent civilians to fight over is another. Still, taking part in gang wars in Gotham might prove to be as entertaining as a bunch of goofballs squabbling in some fortress, given enough time and refinement.
  • FAT47ITY - February 10, 2012 4:12 p.m.

    TF2 meets CoD meets Batman... I might just give this a try
  • slimjim441 - February 10, 2012 8:15 p.m.

    Correction: TF2 fucks CoD, meets Batman.
  • talleyXIV - February 11, 2012 9:20 a.m.

    How is it like CoD in the least bit other than there being guns (Like 75% of games these days)? Just TF2 and Batman
  • talleyXIV - February 10, 2012 3:07 p.m.

    This review is shit honestly. Deserves at least an 8, leaning towards a 9. It had me hooked, so much to do in it, and for a $15 pricetag?
  • Zeedar - February 10, 2012 4:38 p.m.

    The review isn't shit, it just expresses an opinion that's different from yours. You can disagree with it, without being an ass.
  • Ded - February 11, 2012 9:50 a.m.

    Someone else who thinks 7 is a low score..
  • ChaseByKO - February 11, 2012 7:31 p.m.

    Clunky, old-fashioned matchmaking is my only complaint with this game. Fifteen-dollars well spent, in my opinion. Plus, quality XBLA titles, like "Imposters", need the support. Monolith did a great job.
  • jackthemenace - February 10, 2012 2:04 p.m.

    Well, I might try and get it at some point, maybe in a sale. Wait, what? It's not available on Mac!? Curse you, Apple! Seriously, I wish developers would work out a way to port new stuff to Macs over Steam D:
  • xarab4lyfex - February 10, 2012 12:51 p.m.

    When I played the Beta, I thought it was pretty fun and reminded me of TF2. I certainly think it's much better than COD. And it's only 15 dollars so it's worth the money. Also, I don't see how lopsided matches are a minus considering it almost has to happen if you're playing with friends and everyone's high leveled. All shooters have this problem

Showing 1-20 of 31 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000