Google+

Gears of War 2 review

AT A GLANCE
  • Refined graphical effects
  • Awesome climactic battles
  • Brilliant revamping of mechanics
  • So big it's bloated
  • Cavern levels go on too long
  • Some weak story points

It was in its feel that Gears excelled, and here, again, Gears 2 turns the screw even tighter. Every weapon, explosion, squash, and squish looks and sounds better than the original; the Longshot sounds sharper and nastier, the Hammerburst louder and heavier; and the Lancer’s chainsaw is rougher than ever. Changes to the feedback have come with changes to weapons, too. So much of Gears 2 is fought over greater ranges than the original that many weapons have received accuracy upgrades, and the Hammerburst’s been redesigned from scratch as a powerful ranged alternative to the Lancer. Those and the other small upgrades immediately make the mechanics of Gears 2 more satisfying than Gears. Apply all of those upgrades to the original game, and you’d have yourself a better game, but Gears 2’s new Campaign is – we were promised – ‘bigger, better and more badass’. It’s a phrase Cliff Bleszinski must regret uttering, because there’s a fourth alliterative ‘B’ to stick on the end – bloated.

Gears 2 is considerably longer than its predecessor. A good thing, since Gears was long on action but short on hours. Every act of Gears 2 is bigger and – more important than being ‘badass’ – broader than the first game. You’ll begin Act One battling through a hospital, before boarding a troop transport and traveling through forests and mountains; the journey takes you to a mountain town, a darkened tunnel, and underground, into Locust territory.

Every act plays out in a similar way – just when you’ve settled into a routine, Gears 2 throws something new at you. Sure, you’re still ducking, covering, and shooting, but the locations change, the bad guys change, and the game throws out set-pieces like confetti. Every few stages there’ll be a moment when you leap behind the wheel of a vehicle, hide behind a piece of unique-to-that-area movable cover, fight an army of distant Locusts with a handheld mortar launcher, or actually use stealth to navigate a dangerous underground cavern. If Gears has one problem it’s those caverns. While Gears 2’s underground is much more varied, beautiful, cavernous, and better designed than the original, it’s also home to what feels like half your time in the game. It looks utterly spectacular, and it’s only when you’re outdoors with the sun overhead you can really appreciate just how far Epic have come since the original.

When you hit the first sunken city in Gears 2, you’ll get that same feeling in your guts you felt from the first stages of the original; that sense that you’ve never seen a game looking quite so good before, and that recurring question in the back of your mind – “just how are they doing this?” Fires burn everywhere, smoke billows all around, and buildings tower hundreds of feet overhead. With their new tech, Epic have mastered environments which are (or at least present the illusion that they are) absolutely colossal, and it makes for a more interesting world to go to war in. Every stage has multiple routes – nothing dramatic; just the occasional diverging path; some forced, using the LT/RT split technique from the original, and others no more than a choice of routes around a building. It makes Gears’ world a world rather than a series of boxes floating in space without detracting from what makes Gears... Gears. You’re always moving forward, and always under constant attack.

More Info

Release date: Nov 07 2008 - Xbox 360 (US)
Available Platforms: Xbox 360
Genre: Shooter
Published by: Microsoft
Developed by: Epic Games
Franchise: Gears of War
ESRB Rating:
Mature: Blood and Gore, Intense Violence, Strong Language
PEGI Rating:
18+

85 comments

  • eee - December 9, 2009 6:13 p.m.

    I am a hardcore halo fan and I also love gears of war but Halo got a 10 and gears of war got a 9 suck it Halo haters
  • mjmont92 - December 7, 2008 9:40 p.m.

    Wow! Wow, wow. This game is everything the first Gears was and more, the graphics look beautiful, the enemies are smarter. The bosses are bigger, badder, and prettier (in a grotesque sort of way). The only drawback is the storyline could use a touch more depth, and the ending should be longer and a little more satisfying. I mean, after saving the entire world, you need a little satisfaction. Amazing game play, decent enough storyline -BIGGEST PROBLEM- is the multiplayer on Xbox live is slow as all hell. 9.5 out of 10
  • HotSht95 - November 29, 2008 6:48 a.m.

    "bloated" hahahahahahahahahahahalololololololollolololololollololologhahhhhahahhahhahahahhahahhahahahhahhahhahahahhhahahahahahaahha
  • MadCowDisease - November 28, 2008 2:29 a.m.

    Bought it based from this review, and I enjoyed it very much. Thanks for the review GR.
  • oreomonkey - November 17, 2008 10:56 p.m.

    GEARS OF WAR SUCKS- COD ROCKS
  • thedemonmar - November 15, 2008 5:33 a.m.

    man this game is going to kick lots of a$$
  • Jbo87 - November 12, 2008 3:35 a.m.

    I can't believe the biggest complaint they had was that the game was too long..... what? My biggest issue was the huge number of needless vehicle sections - the tank, the reavers and the fact that the last half hour or so is riding around on a t-rex wannabee. Just let us run, duck and shoot sh*t, its what made Gears great and I would happily play 8 'bloated' hours of that.
  • HotSht95 - November 10, 2008 12:31 a.m.

    tim lemon i know i can still love its just the fact that they didnt give GoW2 a 10 even though they gave the 1st one a ten which they say its better than the orinial
  • HotSht95 - November 10, 2008 12:26 a.m.

    now that i have and have beaten this game i can safely say a big 10 even in the review you say its a better game i dont get this review at all i got it launch day and have not put it down since story is much longer and more fun horde is the most addicting thing since.......Gears 1 and even multiplayer is better. More weapons, enemys and all along better gameplay and variety this deserves a 10 U guys are out of my circle of trust for video game reviews
  • jokast - November 9, 2008 8:10 a.m.

    THIS GAME LOOK AWESOME, BUT I WIHS TO HAVE A PS3 TO PLAY ALSO RESISTENCE 2 THAT ONE LOOKS GREAT TOO
  • elementaly15loa - November 8, 2008 3:25 p.m.

    i cant play multiplayer because of a firewall being to strict and my game keeps freezing when i play with bots. How can i fix this?
  • Timothy_Lemon - November 7, 2008 8:37 p.m.

    spidey wos did kinda suck. all other reviews i read gave it 5/6 scores. maybe the guy who reviewed it was a major spidey fan. gears 2 is sick would of thought a ten but who really cares, 9 still means you should play it and love it.
  • nazarene - November 7, 2008 12:32 p.m.

    lol, no mutiplayer was mentioned... 9.9!
  • Princeton12 - November 7, 2008 1:24 a.m.

    Resistance vs Gears!
  • HotSht95 - November 7, 2008 12:50 a.m.

    so let me get this straight spider man WOS got an 8 and this only got a 10 so ur sayin this is only 1 point better god even halo got a ten maybe because its not bloated WTF hahahahahahhahahahahhahahahhahahahahahahahhahahahahahahahhahahahahahahahahhahahahahahahahahahahahhaahahhahahahahahhahhhahahahahahahahahahahahahahhahahahahahhahhahahhahahahahahahahahahahahhaahhahaha this is y i dont listen to game reviewers say u guys talk about shit real gamers wouldnt even care about and then how did GoW 1 get a 10 this has a longer story more enemies, guns horde mode more multiplayer modes i know i cant change this review but still y'all should think twice about given GoW2 a 9
  • iESCAPEx - November 6, 2008 9:08 p.m.

    WTF only a 9 ?!?!? it deserves a 10/10
  • MuffinMan - November 5, 2008 9:09 p.m.

    FRIDAY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! MUFFINS!!!!!!!!
  • Defguru7777 - November 5, 2008 1:29 a.m.

    Couple of complaints: 1. Where's the Horde/Multiplayer review. 2. You didn't even bring up Chainsaw Duels. 3. You didn't expand on the vehicle bits. 4. If it's anything like Fallout 3, this should have gotten a 10.
  • Donnagen - November 4, 2008 6 p.m.

    i have been reading a lot of your reviews in other publications! WTF is up with that (eg Fallout 3 in the PS3 magazine) are you owned by one corporation that shares all its reviews?
  • Bant - November 4, 2008 4:29 a.m.

    to*

Showing 1-20 of 85 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000