Gamescom 2016 - Metal Gear Survive, Call of Duty, Resident Evil 7 and all the week's big headlines in one place

***UPDATE: We're compiling links to all of our biggest Gamescom 2016 news below, including Metal Gear Survive, Star Wars Battlefront's Death Star mode, and the amazing new Call of Duty Zombies mode set in the 1980s with David Hasselhoff (that's not a typo) – scroll down to see more***

So, it feels like E3 has barely finished, but Europe's biggest games show, Gamescom, is here and we're expecting plenty of news on this year's biggest games – and perhaps some surprising new announcements – to come from the show. While Sony and Microsoft aren't having conferences, there's still big showings from EA for Battlefield 1 and Titanfall 2 and Activision is planning a Destiny: Rise of Iron stream. There's hopefully going to be a full reveal of Resi 7 too so we'll keep you fully updated on the goings on from the show floor. For everything else here's the biggest games of Gamescom 2016 that we'll be reporting on as soon we've got hands-on, and seen the latest demos. 

We'll be updating this article with all the latest news to come from the show in one handy place. If you're looking for trailers, you can check our page dedicated to the art of moving images in our collection of Gamescom 2016 trailers

Gamescom 2016: The big headlines so far

- We've been hands on with a Destiny: Rise of Iron strike (and fired new Gjallarhorn...)

- Dishonored 2's Gamescom demo shows off more of Emily's powers. 

- 5 Nasty things you didn't see in Resident Evil 7's lantern demo

-Here's everything you need to know about COD's zombie mode as explained by Infinity Ward. The HOFF!

 - Metal Gear Survive is a co-op Metal Gear set in an alternate universe where you battle zombies and a giant mech. Yes. Go read all about that. 

- 6 things you need to know about Destiny: Rise of Iron, including a death zamboni.

- Destiny: Rise of Iron takes you to the workbench of the original Gjallarhorn. I bet it's got a lot of gold filigree.

- We've been hands on with Rare's Sea Of Thieves.

- Gears of War 4 tried more realistic character designs but they looked "odd". Gotta have those moon boots.

- Some impressions of Marcus Fenix in Gears of War 4

- For Honor is the Game of Thrones fighting game you ever wanted. Our hands on with the latest demo.

- Prey's powers are just as open to abuse as Dishonored's are.

- Prey gameplay footage shows what it's like to become a coffee mug, and it's not a bad life.

- Scalebound hands-on time delves into how to use your dragon

- Watch Dogs 2 has a PvP mode where online players get a bounty to hunt you down.

- For Honor's closed alpha's coming in September and you can apply to fight.

- New South Park: The Fractured but Whole Gamescom trailer shows off character customisation, toilet humour, because of course it does.

- New screens give Rise of the Tomb Raider a 'Classic Lara Croft' makeover.

- We had some hands-on time with Rise of the Tomb Raider’s Blood Ties.

- Check out 10 minutes of Gears of War 4 footage in 4K.

- Resident Evil 7 shows off even more horrors in a new gameplay trailer.

Call of Duty: Infinite Warfare's Zombie mode is set in the 80s with David Hasselhoff as a DJ.

The Destiny: Rise of Iron Gamescom trailer reveals 8 minutes of behind-the-scenes info and new gameplay footage.

- 6 things you need to know about Destiny: Rise of Iron, including a death zamboni.

The Star Wars: Battlefront VR Mission is tied into Rogue One and it's free - plus it's being developed by ex-Burnout studio, Criterion.

-Here's how Star Wars Battlefront's Death Star mode will work. It's not just a space battle.

– An amazing Titanfall 2 VR mode experiment lets you 'feel the scale' of its mechs, the game's art director tells GamesRadar+.

Where can I watch the Gamescom livestreams? 

Here's the start times if you want to watch EA and Activision's Gamescom livestreams. You'll need more than one screen if you want to see what's next for Titanfall 2 and Destiny: Rise Of Iron though. 


EA kicks off on August 16 at 6:15pm BST / 1:15pm EDT / 10:15am PDT.  

Watch the EA Gamescom 2016 livestream

A specific Titanfall 2 Factions stream then starts on its own Twitch channel at 7pm BST / 2pm EDT / 11am PDT.

Watch the Titanfall 2 Factions livestream

And finally you can watch Battlefield 1 in action with two sets of 32 players made up of Battlefield YouTube personalities at 8pm BST / 3pm EDT / 12pm PDT.

Watch the Battlefield 1 Squads livestream 


If you want to see what's coming in the new Destiny: Rise of Iron DLC, you won't want to miss the livestream on Bungie's Twitch channel at 6pm BST / 1pm / EDT / 10am PDT. Devs will be outlining game modes, maps and new features so not one for Guardians to miss. 

Watch the Destiny: Rise of Iron livestream

How is GamesRadar+ reporting Gamescom?

We've got news editor Leon Hurley and senior writer David Houghton on duty on the show floor in Cologne. Expect analysis and opinion from them over the coming days. Follow @LeonHurley and @David_H_Esq on Twitter for up to the minute thoughts that hopefully don't just involve currywurst.

We've also got a YouTube playlist full of hands-on demos, gameplay, and reactions for you to enjoy:

What other games are at Gamescom?

We'll link out to all our coverage as it happens, but what else are we expecting? We know Sony's full Gamescom line up at least, which is very VR focused. Not a huge surprise given that PS VR is out in two months. 

As for the rest, you'll have the usual big hitters. Activision with Call of Duty and Destiny: The Rise of Iron, Microsoft with things like Gears of War and Dead Rising 4. Bethesda will probably have a little more to say on Prey and Dishonored 2 post-Quakecon. EA will be talking about Battlefield 1 and Titanfall 2 (with some new gameplay streams already promised). And don't forget Ubi which will have some new Watch Dogs 2, South Park, Ghost Recon Wildlands and Steep. 

We're also optimistic of one or two surprises… but let's see how that pans out.


GR+ news lead Louise is a fan of all things Bat and Assassin shaped. She can often be found watching horror, drinking coffee and beating you at The Binding Of Isaac: Rebirth.
We recommend