Google+

Fez review

Back to Article

41 comments

  • FemJesse - April 13, 2012 1:14 p.m.

    I don't understand the anger about the developer making a public statement on the state of games coming out of Japan. Many of the "BIG" developers have a lot of "opinionated" people in charge and no one ever uses that as an excuse not to buy their games. I think people are just looking for an excuse to not play this game. How sad.
  • The_Boz - April 17, 2012 9 a.m.

    Why would you need an excuse not to play a game? Not everybody has time to play every single release. I choose not to buy games like Call of Duty because I am terrible at those games, I may admire them, I may dislike them, but I wouldn't need to justify to somebody why I wouldn't want to purchase a game especially if I give a reason why which some would like to make out as an "excuse". I don't like Angry Birds as I find it too simple, but yet there are millions that love it. Is that an excuse for me not to pay for Angry Birds or a reason? This is a blog FemJesse, and believe it or not, every single preview or review on here will have people that will like it or dislike it. Because somebody has a different opinion or taste to you doesn't make them sad. To me, this game has nothing to offer me, and I know for a fact "Fez" will disappear without a trace and not to be heard of again in a few months time. I have seen many a good game come and go, commercial and freeware.
  • Mortis - April 13, 2012 8:25 a.m.

    this makes me think of Dave Jaffe. on the one hand the man is an asshole. he constantly swears (yes i see the irony of these two sentences) and i'm cool with swearing. proper swearing is an art form, but Jaffe would swear in any form of interview. i believe if you're representing your highly anticipated game you should do so with a bit of class. on the other hand i respect him for his bluntness. his shortcoming of public relations aside, Jaffe is as blunt and straightforward as a battering ram, according to the people who worked with him. they said (as well as Jaffe himself) that so many meetings would turn into heated arguments. someone would storm out and after cooling off, decisions would be reached. that shows a passion for the creation and that in the end, people are people and the kindred passion for their creation brings them a better understanding of said people. on the third hand (what, you don't have one?) the dude is the creator of Kratos...no other series of adventure/hack-n-slash has consistently progressed in game play, scope, presentation and overall fun like God of War. that is just my opinion, but seriously. just my thoughts. Bastion was a beautiful game and lots o' fun. i have a 360. if Fish wants to just release Fez for 360 then i guess that is his prerogative.
  • minimaxi - April 13, 2012 12:28 a.m.

    You know what kills me? Having a genuine interest over a game made by a douche. Yeah, this looks really interesting, at least the review made it seem so :/
  • BladedFalcon - April 13, 2012 2:02 p.m.

    You're interested in the game, not the douche. Why does it kill you?
  • darron13 - April 12, 2012 10:51 p.m.

    Oh my God this game is SO. CUTE.
  • Jbo87 - April 12, 2012 6:06 p.m.

    Godwin's Law FTW.
  • Claymore65 - April 12, 2012 6:01 p.m.

    This game sure seems interesting, but I cannot get it unless it comes to either PSN or Steam. I guess I haven't done the research or anything, but is there any reason it hasn't been released on steam yet? Indie games tend to get greater revenue on Steam than XBLA (MS points seirously hurt revenue, games also do better on PSN due to ease of use). If he really doesn't want to release it on PC (which unless programming it is too hard/expensive, I don't see a good excuse) he should at least release it on PSN. If he is so adamant about using a controller, gamepads funciton on PC as well. I want to try this game, but I don't own a 360 and don't plan on buying one.
  • The_Boz - April 12, 2012 4:31 p.m.

    No disrespect to the developer, but people pay for this? It doesn't look any different to free online games or abandonware, and looks inferior in many cases. I am sorry, but I could not part with money for a game that wouldn't have looked out of place 20 years ago irrespective how good or bad it played.
  • Burdmayn - April 13, 2012 5:11 a.m.

    You must miss out on quite a lot of games if your only concern is TEH MOST GRAPHICS.
  • The_Boz - April 17, 2012 8:51 a.m.

    Nope, there are 1000s of games of this quality for free online. Many fun games on sites such as Fetchfido for example, and there are hundreds of commercial games for the PC, C64 and Amiga not to mention other formats that are now for free downloads known as abandonware some of which look superior to this game. That is why I would not entertain in parting with money for something that I can get something for free which I may enjoy more. With the price of games and what I forked out for the PC and Xbox, I think I am entitled to opt for something that will show off the hardware that I bought.
  • FemJesse - April 13, 2012 1:11 p.m.

    Can't tell if trolling or stupid.
  • christian-shaffer - April 12, 2012 2:44 p.m.

    Can't wait to get it. One of the best games I played last year was Bastion and I've been trying to save up enough cash to get a few other Indie games. i still owe about $30 on my Witcher 2 pre-order, but this will be the next game I purchase after that. I had interest in this game ever since I saw it a few months ago and your game reviews tend to make or break my decision, a lot of the time, of a purchase, so thank you for making my decision clear!
  • ChristopherDalley - April 12, 2012 2:30 p.m.

    You know, I'm sure very few of you complaining about putting money in the pockets of, say, EA, or Activision, or Bioware, or Rockstar. All these companies have public figures who are either complete arse-holes or relatively conceited. Yes including Bioware: I read an article on IGN (yes I go on *that* site. Sorry) on the development of narrative in games or some such. It featured various developers talking about the state of story in games, their personal favourite game stories etc. You know what Bioware did? They used the article to plug Mass Effect 2 and blabber on about how great it was. They picked Mass Effect 2 as their favourite game narrative. Now some people call that faith in your own product. I call it being a dick. I would link the article but I can't find it. Anyway I'm getting massively off topic. My point is you have no qualms shilling out cash to these sodding pecksniffs, but you can't find it within yourself to pay for a game by a guy who probably relies on sales to pay his bills. I don't *know* if he relies on it to pay the bills, which is why I said 'probably'. It's just... People are people, and some people are dicks. I've kind of lost what I was trying say here. Work it out for yourself. Just... Whatever. Be complete twatwaffles if it pleases you. I don't care.
  • FOZ - April 12, 2012 3:25 p.m.

    None of those companies refused to put a game on a certain system out of sheer pretentiousness. I don't even have a 360 8 months of the year. If this guy wants to cut out an audience for no reason other than that he's an ignorant, pretentious jackass, why the flying hell should I give a damn about his game? And aside from that, yeah, Casey Hudson's asinine comments regarding Mass Effect 3's ending certainly did turn me off from buying Mass Effect 3. Nor did I pay attention to Robert Bowling's nonsense regarding MW3. Haven't bought anything CoD-related in a a couple years. And I use a PC, so what do I care about Rockstar? So yeah, I certainly do have qualms handing out money to those people. Fez also has the good fortune to come out after Bastion, which is not only spectacular, but made by a great guy (Greg Kasavin) who I've respected for quite a while.
  • ChristopherDalley - April 12, 2012 4:20 p.m.

    It's nice that you stick to your guns. That much I can appreciate. I also agree that Greg Kasavin is a ledge, and I'm glad he's getting critical and commercial attention (do you know he's working on Spec Ops: The Line? I don't know in what capacity, but he's definitely involved. That game looks like some good shit). I just can't see why a strong opinion would turn people off that much. I mean, we're all human, aren't we? We all have personality hang-ups. He apologised, didn't he? Does that even mean anything anymore? It wasn't just a half-arsed apology either: he apologised directly and profusely. Put it this way: I hate Liam Gallagher. He's an utter cretin. I hate it when he speaks about anything because it is inevitably going to be really benign, whiny and moronic: he's a gigantic penis with a stupid haircut. He also never apologises. But, the thing is, I can still enjoy the hell out of Oasis' first two albums*. The only I don't like the rest is 'cause they're shite. Not because I hate Liam Gallagher. It's based entirely on the quality of the work, not his person. I guess that's just me. I can completely understand your stance. In fact, I used to be the same. Just not anymore. I think that was a good summary of how I feel. I know I wasn't exactly clear in my former comment so... yeah... there it is: My Opinion: complete and unabridged.
  • Risonhighmer - April 13, 2012 2 p.m.

    It's refreshing seeing a properly formulated argument amongst the sea of self-righteous fanboy drivel. Sure he said Japan's games suck. Games are a matter of taste, if he doesn't like them that doesn't mean they are bad, it means they don't cater to his gaming wants.
  • ChiChiRocket - April 13, 2012 8:07 p.m.

    Hurray for civil discourse.
  • Risonhighmer - April 13, 2012 2:01 p.m.

    Do you even know what pretentious means?
  • LEGOMatrix - April 12, 2012 1:53 p.m.

    I have been looking forward to this game more than any other in the last few years. With the exception of portal 2 perhaps. I can't wait til tomorrow!

Showing 1-20 of 41 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: Apr 13 2012 - Xbox 360
May 01 2013 - PC
Mar 25 2014 - PS4, PS3, PS Vita (US)
Available Platforms: Xbox 360, PC, PS4, PS3, PS Vita
Genre: Puzzle
Developed by: Polytron
ESRB Rating:
Everyone: Mild Fantasy Violence

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.