Google+

Far Cry 2 review

Back to Article

52 comments

  • gorillazbmx6 - October 18, 2008 10:30 a.m.

    i really wanted to get this or lbp but i hate frustrating games cuz i always get pissed and never play it again.
  • understudybass - October 18, 2008 3:30 a.m.

    I can't stand it that you guys list a couple of tiny flaws in the game that you clearly had to think hard to come up with and go ahead and give it a 9. Apparently the only '10' worthy game is GTA IV and Bioshock
  • ComboFixer - October 18, 2008 2:46 a.m.

    Yes! I need 60 more dollars now
  • bron1417 - October 18, 2008 12:41 a.m.

    this game is amazin'
  • rebel748 - October 27, 2008 10:15 p.m.

    I agree with understudybass.So,apparently,Bioshock and GTA 4 are the 2 best games ever.Bullshit.Fable 2.That one name is enough.(Yay,acorns!xD)But I suppose Oblivion got a 10.But Gamesradar have gone mainstream.Yathzee Croshaw is the only man left in the world with the balls to say no.No to Societies.No to Mass Effect.No to GTA 4 even!Not outright noes all of them,but he's the only one who points out the flaws the community complains about.All critics care about is meaningless glitches no-one will ever notice.They find it impossible to believe that any game can go above incredible.But,like in GTA,it's the little things.If I'm able to chop off branches of trees to make haste in my escape from enemies or predatory animals (I think they've been confirmed in an update) and then use my hanglider to dive off a cliff before falling into the lush green canopy below.The monents of flying and seeing the sun shine on the jungle.The beautifully rendered sea lapping at the shore.Getting into the speedboat while seeing my foes make desperate last attempts driven by advanced AI.These things are what matter,not some technical bugs or slight,one-off,completely minor,SINGLE,flaw.
  • mrkniceguy - October 24, 2008 2:13 p.m.

    I love it so far. The review is honest and true. I'm coming for you Jackle!
  • xtuxbulldog - October 24, 2008 8:38 a.m.

    OMG!!!!!! im getting this today wooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo
  • Bant - October 22, 2008 1:44 a.m.

    EPIC EPIC EPIC WIN! Farcry 2 is going to be epic!!! I just need to make 60 dollars ohhh RIGHT NOW!
  • ELpork - October 21, 2008 10:02 a.m.

    Fire goooooood
  • octagons - October 19, 2008 1:32 a.m.

    does anyone know if you can remove limbs from your enemy's or is there just blood?
  • FriendlyFire - October 18, 2008 11:50 p.m.

    This is definitely getting a nice spot into my library, but on the PC thank you! And reading your review, why give it a 9? Your biggest gripe is that it's hard, but then you complain games are too dumbed down nowadays... You say the health recovery system is cumbersome, yet many complain about self-regenerating health at all... If this gets a 9 for being hard, then Mega Man 9 should get a 4 for being excruciatingly hard, no? :P Just sayin', great review nonetheless and I'm getting this game no matter what.
  • ender707 - October 18, 2008 7:27 p.m.

    Hopefully this review did not have special rules, like making no mention of certain issues like frame rates and stuff. Also, there is no mention of the "Bonus Content" you are supposed to get for pre-ordering it at Gamestop. Overall, I am glad to see that the game was not "Dumbed Down for console players" like Instincts was because I pre-ordered for my 360. That game was terrible (especially since I maintain a powerful PC to play games on and played Far Cry on it first).
  • statuslegendary - October 18, 2008 6:54 p.m.

    how the fuck are we supposed to play all the ridiculously sweet games coming out!? Each one warrants weeks if not months of attention and there are 5 or 6 coming out all within weeks of each other. Meh Goodbye social life.
  • leon0123 - October 18, 2008 4:15 p.m.

    cant wait for the 21st.
  • Fluxnard - October 18, 2008 12:55 p.m.

    That's pretty sick. This game was under my radar for the longest time, but no more.
  • Devilworld - October 18, 2008 12:47 p.m.

    in my honest opinion this is the closest to date, that us console owners will get to having a game that might come on par with the PC crysis.?. i guess the fact is its runnin a similar engine to crysis is what helps it out if im not mistaken, now only the wait till friday :(, too god dang far away !
  • Jason.Darksavior - October 18, 2008 8:57 a.m.

    Graphics look A+! The game also looks like it offers great gameplay! Cant wait till I get my hands on it!
  • purpleshirt - October 18, 2008 3:27 a.m.

    man it'll be so fun just running around the country side does not sound like f.c.p.i. which is good cause i really hate this game
  • tayls - October 17, 2008 11:29 p.m.

    Heh...niggles.
  • Marioninja1 - October 17, 2008 10:30 p.m.

    Happy no one said "First!!!w00t!!!!!!!!!" That's annoying as hell, and after reading this review I might check out this game...

Showing 21-40 of 52 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: Oct 21 2008 - Xbox 360, PC, PS3 (US)
Oct 24 2008 - Xbox 360, PC, PS3 (UK)
Available Platforms: Xbox 360, PC, PS3
Genre: Shooter
Published by: Ubisoft
Developed by: Ubisoft
Franchise: Far Cry
ESRB Rating:
Mature: Blood, Drug Reference, Intense Violence, Sexual Themes, Strong Language
PEGI Rating:
18+

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.