Google+

Fallout 3 review

Excellent
Back to Article

86 comments

  • maxx1 - October 28, 2008 10:57 p.m.

    I never buy games anymore, so it's a rent for me...
  • Elbo444 - October 28, 2008 11:17 p.m.

    lol why is everyone so mad about this getting a 9? 9 is really good, and it's not like the game getting a 9 will make the game worse, it's just the reviewers opinion, which you chose to see by reading this review, so STFU! and btw he did say why it's a 9 and not a 10, all you have to do is read the "you'll hate" section, it made sense to me
  • octagons - October 29, 2008 1:31 a.m.

    i must say i am curios has to how it is a masterpiece but still only gets a nine? not that a nine is bad but still masterpieces usually get tens.
  • birdofprey - October 29, 2008 2:52 a.m.

    @Octagons...Read the Review Much
  • Thequestion 121 - October 29, 2008 8:22 p.m.

    Oh, man i can't wait to play this game!! A 9 out of 10 is still a buy for me, no matter if it deserves a 10 or not. 18th!
  • AFLAC6969jr - October 30, 2008 8:48 a.m.

    this game is cool...like tacobell...
  • infinite doo - October 31, 2008 1:39 a.m.

    WTF!? You gave Halo 3 a 10, but Fallout 3, Dead Space, Fable II, and Far Cry only get 9's? You guys need to get your priorities straight. I love my 360 and (almost) all the games on there, but if I lit Halo 3 on fire, set it on someone's porch, and rang the doorbell they'd stomp it out and be like "Aww, I got Halo 3 on my new italian loafers! Curse you darn kids!!!"
  • TEBBIOS - October 31, 2008 1:27 p.m.

    Never mind fallout, Bring out more free roam FPS, RPG, car games. You know, how about we have a concoxtion of genres once in a while.
  • raptorboy - November 1, 2008 1:44 a.m.

    I agree with the 9 I guess, It would definatly be a 10 if you could custimize and or create your own armor out of Items and animals that you find throughout the game, kinda like Monster hunters. The game does rock, It rocks hard core. I love it and will play it for a while to come.
  • TyrannosaurusAlan - November 1, 2008 2 a.m.

    What's so great about this game? An 8/10 at the very most
  • crimson_soulreaper305 - November 1, 2008 8:58 p.m.

    biggest buulsh*t ever!! it gets a 9 when rock muthafu**in band gets 10!! yall bi*ches must be hopped up on lsd or sumthin
  • SeraphicDragon - November 3, 2008 2:34 a.m.

    This review is right, but I don't agree to the unsatifying side quests. I believe it would have gotten a 10 out of 10 from this site, but I guess the unexpected... LIKE THE SIDE QUESTS. Oh well.
  • SandroTheMaster - November 5, 2008 5:29 a.m.

    The problem is that 10 out of 10 isn't for the perfect game, but for a game that makes you overlook its shortcomings because it's strong points make you daze. That said, I prefer PCGamer 100% style where a game CAN'T reach 100% and you know it is a masterpiece from 90% and up. Also, I get just mad that games like Halo 3 and Guitar (fuck this game is boring as hell, I'll listem to a CD instead) Hero 2 get 10 when they have very serious shortcomings and Fallout 3 gets a 9 when the things that'll bother you in it are only noticeble when you try finding them. Pretty much, for me the criticism for Fallout 3 are: Radiant AI is still very experimental: It is an incredible AI, but like 3D looked like shit in its first attempts Radiant AI acts like a retarded baby at times. Fortunately it acts proper most of it. Torsos don't get damaged: Really minor, but it bothers me that everything from a body is turned into mush and the torso stands there impecable. At least a ribcage burst would make me perfectly happy. Voice acting is quirky: but way better than in Oblivion and very good for game standards, considering the fuckload of people (and everyone talks) in it. Dogmeat should learn to stop dashing for the people you're throwing granades at: it is annoying. At least your companions have very decent AI overall, even standing far away AND sneaking when you do so. Oh, but mostly I hope people stop disappearing and killing themselves in an early patch: because fiddling with console commands to get them back really packs a punch againt gameplay.
  • SandroTheMaster - November 5, 2008 5:44 a.m.

    Oh yeah, and I'd like that diplomacy had a bigger role in the game. Even in the originals you couldn't do nothing in a random encounter with raiders, but that was then. I'd love to be able to talk some sense into (or confuse with words) any inteligent being that bumps into me at the Capital Wasteland. After all, if raiders form groups and know how to use computers it bears to reason they'd hear out someone with a "proposition" to make, especially if you're a fine example of your gender (has high charisma) and the band leader is of the opposite sex. At the very least I think that an option to accept (or even offer) surrender should be in order (having the last crippled merc start to limp away begging "please don't kill me" only to look back and attack you after a while is a bit outputting).
  • volrath46656 - November 6, 2008 11 p.m.

    Level cap of 20? F you too, Bethesda - you spoiled us with Oblivion This game still kicks major ass though
  • SumthinSacred - November 9, 2008 8 p.m.

    Cannot wait to play this, unfortunately for me i have to wait until x-mas to play this, or anything else that's new, still got my not-so-old reliable ps3 and CoD4 tho so i'll live =D.
  • piccolodevilking - November 15, 2008 2:19 a.m.

    first
  • jmtinfinitet - November 27, 2008 1:14 p.m.

    In my opinion a 10, i seriously do not know how gta4 has a 10 and this has a 9 but hey i dont get paid to review games so i wouldnt know. Gta4 is a paper weight in my house dont know about anyone else.
  • Monkeylink - November 30, 2008 10:54 p.m.

    Bethesda I only bow 10/10
  • SanFranCyco420 - December 2, 2008 5:28 a.m.

    How Come oblivion got a 10 and fallout 3 which is better got a 9??

Showing 61-80 of 86 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: Oct 28 2008 - PC, Xbox 360, PS3 (US)
Available Platforms: PC, Xbox 360, PS3
Genre: Role Playing
Published by: Bethesda
Developed by: Bethesda
ESRB Rating:
Mature: Blood and Gore, Intense Violence, Sexual Themes, Strong Language, Use of Drugs
PEGI Rating:
Rating Pending

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.