Destiny 2's going offline for 4 hours on October 3 so Bungie can squash some Guardian-killing bugs

TODO alt text

Eyes on the clock, Guardians. Destiny 2 will be going offline at 8am PDT / 4pm BST on October 3 so that Bungie can deploy hotfix 1.0.3.1. These hotfix updates have been a regular part of the Destiny 2 experience since launch, and likely will continue to be so for some time, if not indefinitely.

So what's going into the biggest sci-fi quasi-MMO first-person shooter this side of Io, and when can you log back on to continue your quest across the stars? Here's a bit of a breakdown:

Maintenance begins at 8am PDT / 4pm BST
Players will no longer be able to sign in to Destiny 2

Players will be removed from all activities at 9am PDT / 5pm BST
Bungie suggests players complete Raid and Nightfall activities way ahead of time so you don't get booted mid-fight

Maintenance expected to complete at 12pm PDT / 8pm BST
Bungie notes that players may encounter the Destiny Server Queue when attempting to sign in after maintenance

As for what hotfix 1.0.3.1 actually does, here are the notes straight from the studio:

Fixed an issue in which players could lose access to the Veteran’s Transmat Effect by deleting characters.

Fixed an issue in which clan engrams would grant Trials of the Nine and Raid rewards at only 10 Power .

Fixed an issue in which progress for the Exotic Quest Step "His Highness's Seal" was not incrementing properly. Quest progress will still increment by 1, but the Quest Step now only requires 10 Seals to be collected.

Fixed an issue in which Raid milestones would not show for some players after the weekly reset (This didn’t affect any Raid rewards).

Fixed issues in which players could enter a state where they are continuously killed or unable to resurrect if encounter complete and failure events occurred simultaneously.

While I can't say I've ever encountered any of the above, I'm sure it's frustrating for those who have - particularly anyone who got caught in that last glitch, which sounds like the Destiny 2 version of Purgatory. Ouch.

Anyway, be sure to mark your calendars and get your activities for the week done ahead of maintenance and everything should be fine.