Google+

Demon's Souls review

Excellent
Back to Article

28 comments

  • ZStephan - January 6, 2010 6:06 p.m.

    First of all id like to say i dont care if im bumpin these comments ^^. Secondly, this game appeals to me like a dream because of: 1. RPG! i LOVE upgrading weapons, leveling up, training skills and all it involves. 2. Straight action FTW! No crappy Turn-fighting, just slice'n dice 3. Tight controls! I hate games that get you killed just because it interpreted you wrong. 4.It looks GREAT period. 5.Probably one of the most important factors, the toughness. There arent alot of games that actually challenge my skills, sure i dont own everyone at say, CoD, but im still number 1 in a lot of matches. By the way, there probably are alot of tough games, just don't come across many.
  • venomman01 - November 28, 2009 7:06 p.m.

    The PS3 needs more games like this!
  • CH3BURASHKA - October 19, 2009 5:38 a.m.

    I don't get why "I'll hate" that it's not a typical JRPG. I think, by definition, the person who picks this up (knowingly) will be happy it's not a typical JRPG, and the unknowing ones... well, they can either like it or fuck themselves.
  • CH3BURASHKA - October 16, 2009 4:09 a.m.

    The thing that makes me so infatuated in this game is that, unlike every other game made since the first Half-Life, you are a simple human being; not a superhero with wicked cool powers, but a dude with a shield and sword. The concept of being rewarded for skill as opposed to the number of bullets you can shoot in the shortest time possible is very alluring. Sony's relaunch of their PS3 as the Slim is about to get an onslaught of excellent, console-defining games, this being just the first.
  • Boomon - October 12, 2009 6:52 a.m.

    This game isn't "extremely difficult" per se; rather, it "doesn't hold you hand when you mess up". It expects you to learn from your mistakes to become the true hero of the realm. It expects you to make rational decisions based on that world and common sense. I agree that carrying around an 8-foot sword all the time would be pretty neat in a video game, but can you swing it quickly, move quickly with it in tow, do anything with it in narrow stone passageways, and do magicians really need that type of weapon? I'm glad this game is getting the recognition it deserves; just goes to show you that a good game doesn't require millions of dollars of advertising and marketing to get be appreciated in the gaming world.
  • ricono - October 11, 2009 12:57 a.m.

    i want to get this game so bad but its almost impossible to find and its starting to get annoying
  • saminseattle - September 27, 2009 9:49 p.m.

    Just payed off my copy of the Deluxe Edition :D
  • Tazz57 - September 25, 2009 3:49 a.m.

    sweet love hard games ..... im g2 get it 4 shur
  • rekof - September 23, 2009 9:09 a.m.

    great review ! thanx for info guys will check it out !!
  • mertor3190 - September 23, 2009 8:01 a.m.

    Never really paid attention to this game, but it sounds amazing. Finally another good HARDCORE game for hardcore gamers. Definetly will give it a try
  • michaelmcc827 - September 23, 2009 2:43 a.m.

    yes, while they may be awesome, they didn't write the review...but still.
  • Frexerik - September 22, 2009 3:10 p.m.

    "This is a real crap in your coffee" comments like this is why i love gamesradar, and the game sound tempting! nice review, thanks!
  • number1hitjam - September 22, 2009 1:55 a.m.

    ps3's coming back!
  • H2A2I00 - September 22, 2009 12:59 a.m.

    so many good ps3 games so little money life is so unfair :D
  • Caio - September 22, 2009 12:14 a.m.

    Sounds great. Now if only I had a PS3...
  • crumbdunky - September 21, 2009 11:38 p.m.

    Brandon-To me it's just as hard as any Contra game-just in a different way. DS is as much a test of figuring things out as it is memorizing enemy AI patterns(like in Contra)and both games, surprisingly so in DS's case, need split second timing and accuracy. So while it's not quite as much about the hand/eye stuff as Contra games it's stil got a lot of that in there with the added thinking challenges it brings to the table. Whereas Contra(4 especially, imo) will make you frustrated and feel stupid for finally doing something after trying twenty times(because you knew what you should be doing and just couldn't manage for ages) DS is more rewarding and you feel good when you finally figure out the way to beat a boss as it's nit always immediately plain what you need to be doing at all-the hints from others who've died at various points and left online messages is a great help(apparently-when I played most of this the only people online were Japanese!)and a clever idea too. I think more people would like this game than will ever try it-put off by the legendary difficulty they hear so much about-thing isbecause it's so rewarding it's still addictive and isn't as annoying as when you fail at Battle Toads or Mega Man because when you eventually succeed in something you'll feel like you really did it yourself-that you earned it rather than just managed to leap through the right hoops for the devs. This is a pretty good review and I'm just sad it's so hard that my mate cannot finish his copy as it's stopping me from lending it to finish myself! Why no EU release? We love it hard over here Atlas/Sony other prospective EU pubs! Still, having played around a thrid of this magnificent Zelda for big boys and girls I'm still prepared to import the US version if I have to. Well worth a 9/10 from what I've played(and a third of this game is a loooong time with all the mistakes you'll make! So, yes, it's hard but it's great, rewarding and unlike anything else you're likely to come across on any console for the foreseeable future and in my book it's a must play. A killer app for those of a sadomasochistic bent who also enjoy niche action rpgs!
  • forza - September 21, 2009 11:29 p.m.

    3 weeks from release and a review! Well it was 4 weeks before release for Uncharted 2. Why not review Bioshock 2 while your at it. Or wait review Blur it was pushed back until 2010. WTF This game is too frustrating to be a 9. No amount of sugar coated graphics can mask the real problem with this game.
  • Corsair89 - September 21, 2009 10:56 p.m.

    If I pick this up, it'll be in 2010. Too much good stuff coming for the rest of '09 to buy. reCapcha: futurum slow-paced
  • GoldenMe - September 21, 2009 10:50 p.m.

    @cyberninja- Now you're just trolling. Ban this filth.
  • Cyberninja - September 21, 2009 10:25 p.m.

    sounds like great fun for the whole family

Showing 1-20 of 28 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Available Platforms: PS3
Genre: Role Playing
Published by: Atlus
Developed by: From Software
ESRB Rating:
Mature: Blood, Violence

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.