Google+

Dead Space Extraction review

AT A GLANCE
  • One of a kind movie-like experience
  • Spectacular visuals and audio
  • Someone really trying to make a solid Wii game
  • Shooting aspects do get repetitive
  • Not much incentive for replays
  • Two-player misses the mark

But what a ride!

In case our main point was obscured by those complaints, we’re saying this: Extraction is a hell of a trip exactly once. It’s kind of pricey to pay $50 for a game that’s best played alone and only one time, but consider it a true interactive movie (at around 6-7 hours), and that’s a deal. Especially if you feel inclined to play again and experience all over again these unlucky people slowly losing their minds and suffering absolute misery throughout the game. It’s an awesomely compelling downer.


Above: Kind of like Cloverfield 

Post-game, you can watch the motion comic or try out the challenge rooms (more shooting, obviously), which are nice extras but pale next to the nut-busting pandemonium that permeates the single-player adventure.


Is it better than…

Resident Evil: Umbrella Chronicles? Hell yes. Both flesh out their respective franchise’s backstory, but Extraction comes off as a genuine addition, not a stiffly recycled zombie parade. Gunplay, pacing and plot are all better.




House of the Dead: Overkill? Yes and no. Both have outstanding presentations and feel cooler and slicker than most other rail shooters, though Overkill lacks the “OMG” appeal. However, it is a better two-player experience and lends to repeated playthroughs. Choose this for more straightforward shooting.


Ghost Squad? Well yeah. These couldn’t be further apart in terms of production values, though in Squad’s defense it’s an arcade port meant to offer nothing more than guiltless blasting. Fun, but not deep at all.





Just for you, Metacritic!

The action may always be on a pre-set path, but like any good rollercoaster, Dead Space Extraction gets your heart racing and adrenaline pounding even though you have no control. A far more interesting and emotional take on the light gun scene.

More Info

Release date: Sep 29 2009 - Wii (US)
Available Platforms: Wii, PS3
Genre: Action
Published by: Electronic Arts
Developed by: Visceral Games
Franchise: Dead Space
ESRB Rating:
Mature: Blood and Gore, Intense Violence, Strong Language
PEGI Rating:
18+

19 comments

  • allthegoodnameswheretaken - September 25, 2009 5:29 p.m.

    Looks cool.Does anyone thinks this justifies buying a Wii?
  • Xtapolapopotamus - September 25, 2009 6:09 p.m.

    I'm quite impressed. Of course the visuals don't match up with the PS3 or 360, but watching that video on the first page made it seem like that didn't matter. It was just as visceral and flinch-inducing, and the sequence where he had to cut off his arm... Damn. Great review Mr. Elston.
  • destroyerofall - September 25, 2009 6:28 p.m.

    Does it justify a Wii purchase? Ehhh... I've had buyer's remorse since I finished Twilight Princess. I liked Dead Space on PS3, but my waggling days r DONE. Pass.
  • richtaur - September 25, 2009 6:55 p.m.

    "Ya got a basement, kid?" Nice words, Brett! I find 8 to be acceptable.
  • ndstrialzmbi - September 25, 2009 7:09 p.m.

    Tha only games tht wuld justify gettin a wii r mario galaxy, mad world n no more heroes
  • Usgo - September 25, 2009 8:33 p.m.

    shit now i have to but it.
  • Riodoku - September 25, 2009 9:26 p.m.

    Looks good...it's dissapointing that it's only good one time through though. I would buy it, but I still need to buy the original for PC...maybe I will this month.
  • kyichi - September 25, 2009 9:59 p.m.

    this game looks great.now i'm pissed that my wii got fucked up by some 7 year old who broke in my room.
  • Bronzus - September 25, 2009 10:47 p.m.

    If you were buying it second-hand; sure!
  • Conman93 - September 25, 2009 11:24 p.m.

    OMG!! U cut off ur own arm!! Cool! This looks really good Im torn between this and resi darkside chronicles. Guess ill wait for the review of that before buying this
  • TheWebSwinger - September 26, 2009 3:09 a.m.

    Could not be less interested in this game. I'm not trying to be a hater, I just found Dead Space to be aping Bioshock and RE4 a little too hard for my taste. And at this point in my gaming career, I'm pretty weary of getting invested in intricate, corporate approved, franchise-spawning plots.
  • bamb0o-stick - September 26, 2009 5:23 a.m.

    Am i the only who found that violence clip hilarious with the scenes out of context like that? This review has piqued my interest. Good time to dust off the old Wii.
  • legory - September 26, 2009 6:34 a.m.

    Am I the only one surprised that this got a higher score than a Halo game? reCAPTCHA: dithered 33-year-old. Is that a sign?
  • Frexerik - September 26, 2009 2:01 p.m.

    @legory this is on the wii, halo is on the 360. you cant compare them with each other..
  • Romination - September 27, 2009 4:23 p.m.

    i'm adding a plus 1 to this score for myself because i love me some lightgun shooters. i can play house ofthe dead for. ever. and this is even more violent and visceral, so yes
  • oryandymackie - September 28, 2009 3:27 p.m.

    I always wanted one of these for the 360. As GamesRadar puts it, like an "interactive movie". I like the shaky camera too.
  • ultimatum7 - September 29, 2009 11:24 p.m.

    worth a couple rents, but because of the "no replay value," i think id regret ACTULY buying it.
  • Bobbety - September 30, 2009 11:13 p.m.

    Why does the TDar UK article link here instead?
  • Metroidhunter32 - October 15, 2009 10:47 p.m.

    I'm really torn on this one. On one hand it looks awsome. On the other I hate rail shooters, but havn't played any quality ones. Probally gonna pick it up but not anytime soon.

Showing 1-19 of 19 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000