Google+

Dead Rising: Chop Til You Drop review

AT A GLANCE
  • Awesome premise
  • Creative ways to kill
  • Creepy in a special way
  • Not nearly enough zombies
  • Annoying small enemies
  • Limited weapons and exploration

The original Xbox 360 version was a race against the clock, with a tight time limit that made it impossible to see the entire thing on a single play-through. Plenty of gamers were turned off by the difficulty level but the Wii version is much more forgiving. The missions are much the same but you simply select one from a menu every time you return to the safehouse. After rescuing some survivors you’re graded based on time taken and the number of casualties, then you can move on to the next set of missions.

There’s a limited selection of items knocking around the mall, which you can pick up and whack zombies with in the unlikely event you run out of bullets.  Some items are pretty funny – the petrol-powered auger drill that skewers zombies and spins them till their limbs fly off is a highlight. Still, the appeal of a lawnmower frenzy is tempered by sparse zombie population and the way they fade out within seconds, leaving behind Resident Evil 4-style ammo boxes.

Bikes and skateboards allow for faster travel in open areas, but there are few places where they’re really useful. Most of the indoor scenes are small and confined to just one or two paths, plus those infernal poodles are able to keep pace with you. As soon as you stop, you get bitten. The lack of freedom or incentive to explore reduces Dead Rising to little more than a simple shoot-’em-up and not a particularly competent one at that. Targeting headshots on mostly stationary zombies is extremely easy with the Wii remote, so you can easily clear an entire screenful of them in next to no time (as long as you’re not being harassed by animals). After depopulating an area it’s not uncommon to see zombies reappearing, as if shooting them only served to delete them from the digital world for a brief period.

Forget that it’s a pale imitation of a decent 360 game. This just isn’t up to much in its own right, technical limitations or otherwise.

Feb 24, 2009

More Info

Release date: Feb 24 2009 - Wii (US)
Feb 27 2009 - Wii (UK)
Available Platforms: Wii
Genre: Action
Published by: Capcom
Developed by: Capcom
ESRB Rating:
Mature: Blood and Gore, Intense Violence, Language
PEGI Rating:
18+

18 comments

  • Grenade - February 25, 2009 2:36 a.m.

    Probably the least surprising thing ever.
  • GoldenMe - February 25, 2009 4:30 a.m.

    And once again, the Wii gets another shabby port. This gaming age is starting to get old.
  • Necromance - February 25, 2009 4:58 a.m.

    MadWorld has a much better chance of being great.
  • Romination - February 25, 2009 3:36 p.m.

    I had a few hopes for this... until i saw the poodle. Then I cried myself to sleep and ordered my friends to cry themselves to sleep as well.
  • grounder07 - February 25, 2009 8:45 p.m.

    are you guys all alright in the head? this is the exact thing wii needed. I personally love this game
  • Defguru7777 - February 26, 2009 2:50 a.m.

    Why the hell is Cletus selling guns to Frank?
  • RebornKusabi - February 26, 2009 7:56 p.m.

    Maybe he got bored of getting killed by my Megabuster?
  • m_gamer234 - March 14, 2009 4:48 a.m.

    HAH HA HA.... FRank doesnt even have a camera around his neck in this game...HAAH HA HAAAA...lol this game is terrible...ha ha ha...funny stuff. they sure did half ass it on the wii.
  • riodoku79 - February 25, 2009 1:03 a.m.

    this makes me very sadface :(
  • Gahmah - February 25, 2009 1:39 a.m.

    one of my friends actually wants to buy this game... sigh.... TIME TO BUY A SWEATER
  • Gameguy151 - February 25, 2009 4:16 p.m.

    for some reasen, when you described the most annoying enemies, i instantly thought of the infection flood and drones from Halo...
  • Ashb1988 - March 1, 2009 12:33 a.m.

    What really needed doing was to keep dead rising on the 360 and never to have been brought to the wii as it does not have the power to run games like that in a satisfactory way instead they should have gone createin there own idea of dead rising instead of ripin off a terrible remake of a game that has never grown old on the 360!!! And whats with the over the shoulder view it.
  • nny1001 - March 3, 2009 3:23 a.m.

    This game isn't so terrible. I actually went out and bought it and so far i am really enjoying it. Of course the graphics are dumbed down to about a regular xbox level. thats what was going to happen anyways. i dont understand why people are complaining so much. give them some credit for bringing a more interactive game for the wii. this is something that needed to happen just like the resident evil series. so if you have a wii... buck up and head down to your local rental store and rent it at least. it will give you entertainment beyond just a few days. just remember the old resident evil item menus... same deal.
  • key0blade - March 6, 2009 12:31 p.m.

    Well, atleast I get to save some money for something important...
  • m_gamer234 - March 10, 2009 12:24 a.m.

    wait wait wait wait wait......Why the Hell is Cletus selling guns to frank!!!??? WTF. This game must suck! Gah! Doesn't even make since.
  • iheartmonkeyz - August 16, 2009 10:20 p.m.

    well...this is a dissapointment...
  • dorak123 - September 4, 2009 6:22 p.m.

    he does have a camera just that it in his hand... eh the games ok could of been more difficult though
  • linkganon - February 16, 2010 12:03 a.m.

    i'd buy this if it goes on sale for maybe 30 dollars or less, otherwise, i'll save up for a PS3.

Showing 1-18 of 18 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000