Google+

Dante's Inferno review

Back to Article

47 comments

  • Dexsus - February 5, 2010 4:53 p.m.

    Btw everyone, you might want to check who wrote this review before you comment.
  • mattdark - February 5, 2010 7:23 a.m.

    Very linear? Predictable battle spots? Just like God of War then. Cant say I agree with this review, as it sounds something along the lines of, 'Of its just doing the same stuff as god of war, so its not as good'
  • ASilentCircus - February 5, 2010 7:12 a.m.

    Funny that you criticize the game for the 'invisible barriers' when I distinctley remember playing Bayonetta 2 weeks ago with the same thing happening very frequently in the game yet it got a great review. And how can you be offended by gore and mutilation and question whether you want to keep playing it when you're a video game reviewer. It's a video game that takes place in HELL, what did you expect from it? Unicorns and lolipops with leprachauns that you follow around to get the golden treasures? Go play Pokemon or somethin, it's DIGITAL POLYGONS they aren't REAL, it's like telling a little kid about monsters in the closet...it's okay Matthew, they aren't real, mommy's here for you.
  • Nodoudt - February 4, 2010 10:33 p.m.

    It almost sounds like GR is trying to shoot Inferno down so that GOW3 won't have any (decent, mind you) competition. -__-" And really? No Super Review? Considering that YOU guys were the ones who got us all excited for this. reCaptcha: the watering
  • Nanook - February 4, 2010 9:01 p.m.

    I never comment on these things ever - and I know I'm just adding to the fire, but felt compelled - "depressing atmosphere"? Really?
  • JAMD2506 - February 4, 2010 8:52 p.m.

    i would have never gussed hell to be a depressing place to be. i was hoping for dancing unicorns
  • gilgamesh310 - February 4, 2010 3:58 p.m.

    Well well, I wasn't expecting that. I knew it would never be as good as god of war but I thought it would at least come a close second. The idea that they put monsters that are only meant to be in certain circles everywhere is rediculous. There's definatley no need to get this now especially with bioshock 2 out in the same month and me having already seen the animated film of dante's inferno
  • overton13 - February 4, 2010 3:13 p.m.

    depressing atmosphere :) i should hope so i mean hell isnt going to be rainbows and sunshine
  • ELpork - February 4, 2010 12:12 p.m.

    Sorry for bringing this up, but hell will have a Depressing atmosphere.... because its hell and all that.
  • SumCallMeTalent - February 4, 2010 7:27 a.m.

    ugh no mention of game length? and if God of War 3 gets a 10 i will go ballistic lol
  • Tyboy - February 4, 2010 5:47 a.m.

    Does this not warrant a super review?
  • DLSemen - February 4, 2010 3:43 a.m.

    no Super Review? what the hell?
  • theschwartzb - February 4, 2010 3:35 a.m.

    Ever since God of War came out, I had wanted to play it and its sequels, I just couldn't afford to buy a playstation for just a couple games. So, I was ecstatic when I first heard about a game being made that was similar to God of War, but also available on the 360. Now this review kinda pissed me off in that it's clear that Visceral didn't want to make something on par with God of War, they just wanted to make some money without having to put too much effort into a "new game". Thanks Visceral.
  • Estacado - February 4, 2010 2:53 a.m.

    Maybe Gamesradar wants a Happy Hell =D
  • boxcar44 - February 4, 2010 2:02 a.m.

    @ friendlyfire: True, but i just cant take reviewers seriously anymore..and sadly not even gamesradar, i went back and looked at the dead space review after reading this and in there pros and cons they had this.. under there "You'll love.." category "Near-perfect RE4 clone " then in "You'll hate.." category "Shamelessly steals ideas" how come something "youll love" be a near perfect RE4 clone, when something "youll hate" is stealing ideas...i dont get it, arent they just contradicting themselves? anyways, im still picking up the game, loved the demo and cant wait to pick it up
  • Dexsus - February 4, 2010 1:47 a.m.

    Lets see, waste my money on an average GoW clone or wait 3 more days after this releases and get the epic Bioshock 2. Choices choices..... ReCaptcha: to resound
  • FriendlyFire - February 4, 2010 1:08 a.m.

    @boxcar44: Being a clone doesn't automatically mean it's as good as what it (attempts to) emulates. Apparently it's a good clone, but it's not on the same level. Which, sadly, doesn't really surprise me. Dante's Inferno seems to be a paradoxical tale of bright, shining moments wasted in a dull bland sea of averageness and wrong decisions. Even the marketing campaign reflected that.
  • boxcar44 - February 4, 2010 12:09 a.m.

    and also..you put as the Cons: "depressing atmosphere" haha your in HELL people what did you expect?
  • boxcar44 - February 4, 2010 12:06 a.m.

    "Dante’s Inferno isn’t just a 3D action game with uncanny similarities to God of War. It’s a clone, to the point where we’re stunned Sony’s lawyers haven’t been called in for a chat" and it gets a 7/10. i guarentee when GoW3 hits youll praise it.
  • matt588 - February 3, 2010 11:56 p.m.

    another game that I was excited about but you guys killed my buzz on. I was excited about bioshock 2 but it doesn't have Ken Levine, bayonetta looks good but I recently beat DMC4, and tatsunoko vs capcom seems fun but I don't have a classic controller(and a recent trip to my local costco revealed they didn't have it, so it's either too new or too unknown). and yes, I enjoy the drama

Showing 21-40 of 47 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: Feb 09 2010 - Xbox 360, PS3 (US)
Feb 12 2010 - Xbox 360, PS3 (UK)
Available Platforms: Xbox 360, PS3, PSP
Genre: Action
Published by: Electronic Arts
Developed by: A2M, Visceral Games
ESRB Rating:
Mature: Blood and Gore, Intense Violence, Nudity, Sexual Themes
PEGI Rating:
18+