Google+

Crysis 3 review

Solid
Back to Article

30 comments

  • Ladykilljoy - April 29, 2013 1:54 p.m.

    Power drains too fast....but I love the fact tht we can use Alien Weapons......Though I love using Bow, Ceph Plasma Destroyer, Jaw, Scar, and Typhoon....I haven't finished the game but I sure do miss Gould :(
  • MetroidPrimeRib - February 20, 2013 3:27 p.m.

    http://www merriam-webster.com/dictionary/generic
  • winner2 - February 19, 2013 7:43 p.m.

    I think I'll pick it up, I can't resist. Crysis is just too much fun to me. I don't need a complex story, well fleshed out characters, plot twists, or tons of innovation. I just need that suit and that bow. I want to see prophet get put in a brawler super smash bros style too. But on a side note, I think they should have changed the look of the suit somehow, the design and pattern of the striations and such. It looks kind of ugly here.
  • talleyXIV - February 19, 2013 4:36 p.m.

    These games are literally the most beautiful pieces of boredom ever. The game feels like an engine for something else, all the enemies are cardboard, and even the cool suit seemed stale in its features. Never been a big fan, just another case of style over substance being mediocre.
  • ObliqueZombie - February 19, 2013 12:32 p.m.

    Will you guys happen to review this on the PC? The Crytek engine seems more friendly on there. Also, how does the bow feel compared to, say Far Cry 3's? That was the most fun I've had with a weapon in ages.
  • GR_LorenzoVeloria - February 19, 2013 3:17 p.m.

    We won't be doing a separate review for the PC version. The bow was definitely my favorite weapon in the game, and it does a few things differently than Far Cry's.
  • winner2 - February 19, 2013 7:40 p.m.

    Is it as hard to make long shots with as Far Cry's, as difficult to master in general? Because making those 100+ meter shots always made me feel like Apollo and that was nice.
  • Bloodstorm - February 20, 2013 6:39 a.m.

    But it was so satisfying when you made a long shot with it. I used it almost exclusively, and after a while, I was arching arrows from sniping distances and taking guys out. So much fun. Couldn't get enough of that bow.
  • Bloodstorm - February 19, 2013 8:01 a.m.

    I want a Crysis game like Far Cry 3. A big, open world, preferably somewhere with a lot of jungle, and an overwhelming presence of bad dudes to toy with in the Nanosuit. Tack on a minimalist story if you must, but just let me kill dudes like a human Predator.
  • patbateman17 - February 19, 2013 8:52 a.m.

    I agree. After all the hype (probably just about PC settings) I bought Crysis 1 on PSN, played it for about 2.5 hours and was just bored. I've already put over 20 hours into Far Cry 3 and might be on the 4th story mission :) but maxed out all my crafting items. Far Cry 3 is what I wanted Crysis 1 to be - I just want a sandbox game where I can get a freaking SILENCED sniper rifle, compound bow and just snipe guys from the bushes without them ever finding me. I'm absolutely hooked on clearing all Outposts w/o being detected. God I love Far Cry 3 :)
  • Bloodstorm - February 19, 2013 9:53 a.m.

    And Crysis 1 is the biggest sandbox in the series IMO, well, can't speak on 3 because I don't have it. The Nanosuit was more interesting in Crysis 1, and you could get those 'predator lurking in the bushes' type moments in some of the later levels, when they really started to get quite large, and before the game takes a big right turn into alien-ville. Crysis 2 did have some really fun weapons, but the urban environment made the actual area you have to use them in very dull. I love jungle type environments, because they give you a sense of not knowing what is lurking in the bushes.
  • FOZ - February 19, 2013 10:14 a.m.

    The PC version plays differently. Crysis doesn't give you a silenced sniper rifle, you're supposed to make one out of the SCAR. And then compensate for the crazy sway. And actually learn to play the game as something other than Call of Duty.
  • patbateman17 - February 19, 2013 12:50 p.m.

    Not sure if that was a trolling dig...I actually hate CoD games.
  • greg-hakes - February 19, 2013 9:38 p.m.

    O my God, You just played Crysis 3 in your Head....
  • BladedFalcon - February 19, 2013 7:57 a.m.

    Another shooter that doesn't really offer anything different overall, specially in the single player side of things. Pass.
  • ObliqueZombie - February 19, 2013 8:27 a.m.

    Now now, on PC where the engine is friendliest, this game is a blast. Well, at least the first one. But I'll agree it's bland enough to not warrant a full purchase. It's basically a good game to test out a sweet nano suit.
  • FOZ - February 19, 2013 10:14 a.m.

    Have you played any of the previous games?
  • BladedFalcon - February 19, 2013 11:48 a.m.

    Not really, but I don't need to play them to know taht I wouldn't get any particular enjoyment out of them. See, I don't deny they are probably very good games... but without a distinct setting, or complex storyline to set it apart, it still feels like another pretty FPS to me. And this late in this generation, I just have a very heavy FPS fatigue in general. Only FPS I played last year was Far Cry 3, and only because of the praise in the character of Vaaz, and the free roaming jungle. So again, it's not really a bash against the game itself, but without a compelling narrative, or a unique gameplay hook, I just don't feel like playing yet another FPS.
  • FOZ - February 19, 2013 12:01 p.m.

    Crysis DOES have a unique gameplay hook. It's not all foliage, sun beams, and water effects. You have to play Crysis, or at least find some particularly good videos of it, to understand why it's different and great. Crysis 2 less so, but its combat and effects are still far more impactful than any other FPS floating around right now.
  • BladedFalcon - February 19, 2013 12:42 p.m.

    *shrugs* if you can't even properly define what that hook is, it's going to be hard for me to even care. All I can see is that you have a cool suit that gives you powers like stealth and stuff, there may be more to it, but still feels very much like most other FPSs in the market to me, only prettier.

Showing 1-20 of 30 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Available Platforms: PS3, Xbox 360, PC
Genre: Shooter
Published by: Electronic Arts
Developed by: Crytek
Franchise: Crysis
ESRB Rating:
Rating Pending

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.