Google+

Counter-Strike: Global Offensive review

Decent
Back to Article

36 comments

  • MostAnticipated - August 28, 2012 12:01 a.m.

    This review makes a lot of sense for the PC community. It is just another update to CS lie Source was. As for the console crowd its great to have any type of CS. I even played it a lot on the original xbox so I've been missing this game for a minute. Glad to see it back.
  • MostAnticipated - August 28, 2012 12:03 a.m.

    This review makes a lot of sense for the PC community. It is just another update to CS lie Source was. As for the console crowd its great to have any type of CS. I even played it a lot on the original xbox so I've been missing this game for a minute. Glad to see it back.
  • MostAnticipated - August 28, 2012 12:04 a.m.

    This review makes a lot of sense for the PC community. It is just another update to CS lie Source was. As for the console crowd its great to have any type of CS. I even played it a lot on the original xbox so I've been missing this game for a minute. Glad to see it back.
  • RaZmataZ - August 28, 2012 1:18 a.m.

    "The steep learning curve for newcomers" It's a ridiculous reason to lower the score. The weapons course and the option to play offline with bots enable a player to get used to the game modes and controls before they jump in online. I agree, for the majority of newcomers to Counter-Strike, playing online will be incredibly difficult for them. When Source came out, I played it for a while and then moved to 1.6. I was finishing maps with scores of 1:9 (K:D), but I continued playing and finally got good enough to switch those numbers around on occasions. Nowadays, too many gamers have this mentality that if they can't "own" from the get go, they give up and bash the game. Part of the fun should be to improve your skills in the game. You should at least feel some sort of accomplishment then. In Call of Duty 4 onwards, you can just jump into it and end the game with decent stats - It's unlikely that you'll do that in any Counter-Strike game. Neither game should be knocked with the direction that they take though. It shouldn't be considered bad that a game requires you to actually learn it before you can become a good player.
  • UKGNZoidberg1974 - August 28, 2012 1:37 a.m.

    All three things put in the "You'll Hate" section are positives for me. I'm playing in on the 360 and loving every minute. Having the offline bots acts like a training exercise for newcomers with the different levels of difficulty. My only gripe about it is the way the game automatically fills out teams with bots when I set up private matches with friends. I used to have some fantastic 2 v 2 games on the PC version with my mates. Definitely a 5/5 from me.
  • amagasakiseb - August 28, 2012 3:09 a.m.

    Dark Souls had a steep learning curve and so did Ninja Gaiden but they didn't get a 3 out of 5 did they?
  • ObliqueZombie - August 28, 2012 4:08 a.m.

    I don't the steep learning curve is what hurt the game's score. You should've read the review, not just the score.
  • jonp1985 - August 28, 2012 3:55 a.m.

    I'd assume the "steep learning curve" comment applies to people who are new to the game when coming up against people who've played it for over a decade. It has a community of skilled players which would make it very unwelcoming for anyone new and unfamiliar with it. I understand you see a similar thing with DOTA.
  • ObliqueZombie - August 28, 2012 4:11 a.m.

    This'll give me a reason to finally play a Counter Strike game for a good length of time. I never had the means to actually play one, so this is pretty awesome to read. The gripes about the same-ness will probably only be a plus for me.
  • talleyXIV - August 28, 2012 1:28 p.m.

    A learning curve is not something to dog on a game about. How is that fair? Just because a game is too hard online does not mean it deserves a lower score, that is some bullshit. "OH THIS IS HARD ONLINE, 6!" Fucking ridiculous reviewing. It's like someone who has never played a game trying a game and failing, they get angry and call the game shit. And that is some pretty unprofessional writing.
  • drake-wayne - August 28, 2012 4:44 p.m.

    This game looks cool. I just got a M4 like in the game http://www.airsplat.com/airsoft-video-games.htm and they have a bunch of other guns from different games.
  • BobsYurUncle - August 28, 2012 11:30 p.m.

    "but offers few reasons to move over from the previous versions." GR should review call of duty map packs. I'd be curious to see how they would stack up against CS GO seeing as how they cost the same.
  • rrffg-rfgh - January 16, 2013 6:36 a.m.

    Plizz key
  • Racingcar69 - February 7, 2014 1:52 p.m.

    As an owner of Counter Strike: Global Offensive and Counter Strike: Source, this review has led me straight to the sign up page as to comment on how bad of a job the reviewer has done. The main attraction of Counter Strike: Global Offensive is how the developers have put emphasis on making each kill extremely rewarding. Compared to most modern shooters that makes kills a matter of luck and who shoots first, Global Offensive has truly made itself the needle in the haystack of the first person shooting market. I completely disagree on how the review pointed out the 'steep learning curve' in a negative manner, as this was one of the things that attracted me most about the Counter Strike series. The reward for killing someone or smart plays have drawn me closer to the community as I regularly check on videos of how to improve and steam community pages. As a website that has rated the repetitive and non rewarding 'Call of Duty: Ghosts' a 4 out of 5; I don't find this website completely reliable for my gaming resource.

Showing 21-36 of 36 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: Aug 21 2012 - PS3, Xbox 360, PC (US)
Available Platforms: PS3, Xbox 360, PC
Genre: Shooter
Published by: Valve
Developed by: Hidden Path Entertainment, Valve
ESRB Rating:
Mature: Blood, Intense Violence

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.