Google+

Castle Crashers - Xbox Live Arcade review

Decent
AT A GLANCE
  • Beautiful, unique look
  • Amusing, quirky style
  • Four-player co-op
  • Repeats the same tricks
  • Exorbitant price
  • Feels vague and lightweight

Once again The Behemoth prove that the finer details of game design escape them. Before you run off to your favourite forums to talk about this MASSIVE INJUSTICE (all in caps) and tell everyone what jerks we are, just wait one moment: even though Castle Crashers is a good game – it’s just not a game that in any way justifies the production length or the utterly stupefying degree of hype.



Essentially Golden Axe given an Alien Hominid paint job, Castle Crashers is a stat-grinding, loot-finding heaven for up to four players. The magnificent presentation may fool you into thinking The Behemoth has crafted a well-polished gem, but the flashy exterior masks a thoroughly flimsy game making the exorbitant price hard to swallow. It repeats the same tricks over multiple stages, dishes out the same cheap baddies over and over, and feels vague and lightweight throughout. When all’s well the humorous side-scroller’s four-player co-op is a joy, but as a solo adventure the grinding and looting adds little to the wafer-thin gameplay.

Sep 23, 2008

More Info

Release date: Aug 27 2008 - Xbox 360
Aug 31 2010 - PS3 (US)
Aug 27 2008 - Xbox 360
Nov 03 2010 - PS3 (UK)
Available Platforms: Xbox 360, PS3
Genre: Action
Published by: The Behemoth
Developed by: The Behemoth
ESRB Rating:
Teen: Blood and Gore, Cartoon Violence, Crude Humor
PEGI Rating:
16+: Violence

We Recommend By ZergNet

24 comments

  • DaGreenFungus - July 24, 2011 12:44 p.m.

    A SIX!!!??? WTF Matthew! Me and my friends have spend hundreds of hours on this masterpiece of a game damn you and your petty reviewing prowess!
  • EricGirasole - February 3, 2011 12:33 p.m.

    Hey guy's if you read who wrote it you would shut up with this excessive fanboy-trolling 6 is Harsh but GR didnt give it a 6 . 13 Euro for 40 weapon's 20+ Character's and 4 player Online-Offline Co-Op?oh and the HUGE story Line Did anyone complain about Costume Quest 14 bucks for ... 3 ? level's that were all the same thing . And it's not really repetitive it's a different experience every level....
  • clones - January 23, 2011 6:40 p.m.

    Well I don't think this is a fair score for CC but I don't think it matters I mean just look at the sales of this game
  • Marcinko192 - December 7, 2009 2:06 p.m.

    This review is horse shit!
  • fionnoh - October 2, 2008 7:31 p.m.

    you're just jealous because you dont have friends to play it with so you lash out with the review. i played this over in my friends house (dont own an xbox myself) and it was good fun. it is more of a multiplayer game and i think you reviewed it from a solo perspective only. you dont feel the tricks being repeated with the enemies (i had to be better than joe, it was a matter of pride dammit!) or the vague and lightweightedness because its not really suppossed to be that depthful. as for the price, i wouldnt know.
  • Akiira - September 28, 2008 3:54 a.m.

    so much hate over a review, i didnt kno the internet was such a serious buisness.
  • Defguru7777 - September 24, 2008 11:13 p.m.

    Seriously Gamesradar? You really just did that? And what's with the two-sentance review? Take a fucking writing class!!!
  • Schuultz - September 23, 2008 11:01 p.m.

    wow, that's a bit harsh... I would've given it at least a 7 - it's obvious it's meant as more of a multiplayer game than single player. Sure it's not the deepest game, but it never claims that. I had a blast playing with my brother and/or friends through the (respectably long) campaign. And isn't that what's the most important thing in the end? The deepest and most polished game can be bad if it just doesn't make a lot of fun - and fun is something that Castle Crashers sure doesn't lack
  • GamesRadarBrettElston - October 11, 2008 2:32 a.m.

    Whoa! I just saw this review. I completely disagree, this deserves an 8. Played the livin' daylights outta Castle Crashers.
  • xxBIONICxKiller - October 1, 2008 6:31 p.m.

    this game is actually pretty fun.
  • CaptCommy - September 25, 2008 1:54 p.m.

    While personally I probably woulda scored it a bit higher, I still respect GamesRadar for giving us their honest opinion instead of just giving high marks to a game they're 'expected' to. Kudos.
  • Elbo444 - September 24, 2008 2:01 a.m.

    i would have scored this a little bit higher, but this review does have some truth to it, one thing i'll add is that this IS and xbox live arcade game, so depth isn't exactly to be expected here, it's not like this is the next elder scrolls
  • jojo13jojo233 - September 24, 2008 12:33 a.m.

    okay i officially quit looking at gamesradar you guys dont know what fun is first only giving mgs4 a nin out of ten thats sick now giving castle crashers a six a SIX what are you guys thinking
  • kcroc95 - August 10, 2009 1:24 a.m.

    if castle crashers is so dull and repetitive, why is it in your top 7 games of 2008 that you cant stop playing?? real harsh too
  • blobby383 - July 21, 2009 9:47 p.m.

    I agree with pretty much evry1 here. Although it may not be a good game singleplayer i think it is a great game for multiplayer. I nvr thot it wuz evr repetitive and i thot it that the humor wuz actually very funny. This game deserves a bettr rating.
  • Coolbeans69 - May 18, 2009 6:40 a.m.

    Wtf? The review was only like 3/4s of a page long. This is about what it deserves. I would also add that the way the fighting sequences are designed, it's hard to tell when ur right in front of the enemy or if ur off by a bit. The crappy part is when u fight an enemy u have to be right in front of it. That always throws me off when my friends and i are playing and we fight over the princess
  • Wilman - May 4, 2009 3:19 a.m.

    That truthfully pisses me off... that's bullshit
  • minimaxi - April 21, 2009 8:10 a.m.

    easy guys not all reviewers are our beloved GamesRadar resident staff case in point this one, whose opinion strays too far from most GR frequent visitors I think. After months of day dreaming I finally bought this game. Luvin it, shame I only have 2 controllers.
  • shockolate - February 4, 2009 12:53 a.m.

    hahahaha, holy shit
  • Marioninja1 - February 3, 2009 7:49 p.m.

    This is the first time I'm gonna bitch about a GR review but...REALLY? This seems like it's made for more than one player to play like Left 4 Dead, which you generously scored, and look at the $20 Penny arcade (costing more) which you scored generously too

Showing 1-20 of 24 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.