Google+

Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 3 review

Excellent
Back to Article

183 comments

  • c1nd3rcell - November 9, 2011 3:46 p.m.

    I buy games to enjoy their singleplayer, multiplayer rarely gets my respect. However, I can't stand the suspense of saying goodbye to Price and Soap, so I will be buying this one, maybe by the end of the month.
  • zd24 - November 9, 2011 4:07 p.m.

    cod 4 is the best xbox game ever, no matter what they do the new ones will never be as good
  • alienkid771 - November 9, 2011 6:08 p.m.

    To everyone bitching about people bitching, comment sections are meant for opinions, no just everyone mindless agreeing with everything the writer says,
  • BladedFalcon - November 9, 2011 6:55 p.m.

    Complaining isn't the problem at all. it's the way a lot of people say it, and make it sound like they are either flaming trolls, mindless fanboys, or that they knew the ultimate truth for everything concerning this universe. Disagreeing and creating discussion is perfectly fine, hell, that often what I aim to do. But it's pretty jarring when some people just go for the hyperboles and extremes.
  • avantguardian - November 9, 2011 8:19 p.m.

    it's sad that, given what is possibly the greatest modern discovery (teh internets), people just seem unable to rise above the lowest common denominator. all of this power to communicate, and bring like-minded people closer is just lost in a sea of insecurity and immaturity. it just becomes a faceless bitchfest. as if people have nothing better to do than just justify their shaky choices and metaphysics by slamming the choices/ideas of others. keep it up bladedfalcon, there are those of us that have got your back.
  • TheVoid - November 9, 2011 10:51 p.m.

    Here here!
  • mothbanquet - November 10, 2011 6:17 a.m.

    Agreed.
  • TURbo - November 9, 2011 10:24 p.m.

    MW3 is not just a $60 map pack. There's spec ops, and single player. To the people that say single player campaigns doesn't matter, never went months without an internet connection.
  • farsided - November 10, 2011 2:03 a.m.

    In that case, why the hell would you pay 60 bucks for a 6 hour gray scale michael bay film when Rage is out?
  • Yarok - November 10, 2011 9:46 p.m.

    Hey, I hear Deus Ex is $10 on Steam and Human Revolution is $50. Bam! hundreds of hours gone.
  • mothbanquet - November 10, 2011 6:34 a.m.

    Well, I'm actually surprised that IW could pull out enough stops to differentiate this one from its predecessors. Personally, I don't think they will ever be able to top CoD4's campaign. Though I'll still admit it was solid and fun, the wild, OTT nature of the second game was a big disappointment for me when I got it on release compared to 4's sober, believable story. I won't be getting this right away but considering CoD's legacy of providing a polished SP experience it'll definitely be on my list once the price comes down. Til then I have BF3 for multiplayer. This was a good review and I consider the score fair. If BF3 stuck to its own roots when providing a single player campaign instead of trying to copy CoD like-for-like then I'm sure it could have achieved a 9 too but, alas, it didn't. I can already see that some people here seem to think that one aspect of a game is enough to give it a 9 but it really, really isn't. I agreed completely with the BF3 review and I'm sure I'll agree with this when I play it. Well done Charlie, and ignore the rabid, foaming fanboy responses. They shame all of us.
  • TheCardist - November 10, 2011 9:30 a.m.

    I decided before this one was released that it probably wasn't for me. I've been burnt out on CoD style gameplay for awhile now. Knowing that I went ahead and bought it anyway and it was essentially MW2 in a new costume. They took out of the things I really enjoyed about Black Ops and went back to the exact MW2 formula. I know a lot of people enjoy this game, though I simply view it as a glorified expansion pack. It simply wasn't for me as I wanted new gameplay and a whole new experience. Sadly it feels all too familiar for me, which I suppose would have been great if I wasn't already burnt out on how COD played. I can't say I'm too terribly bitter about spending $60 on this since I turned around the day I bought it and sold it for $50. It was merely a purchase to hold my attention until Skyrims release... :)
  • TheVoid - November 10, 2011 3:47 p.m.

    Greetings! I am an annoying troll that can't appreciate anyone's opinion (other than my own) and I have an incredibly difficult time when it comes to judging how various aspects of a game review factor against my own personal preferences. Nice to meet you! Rather, I'm far more comfortable using words like "bias", "boycott" and "sellout" entirely out of context, if not resorting to juvenille slurs tossed recklessly towards the reviewer and all who have a differing opinion. Watch me go! And I love to SCREAM AS OFTEN AS I CAN TO CONVEY MY DEEP-ROOTED FRUSTRATION, which probably stems more from external influencers (i.e. my upbringing, social ineptness, etc) than anything reflected on this website. As such I also have a tendency to cling FEVERISHLY to the review's final score and/or the comparisons made to other games despite those clearly being nothing more than soft points of reference. Of course it would be best if I just never looked at those dang numbers and simply read the review and digested it on it's own merits (while possibly occassionally offering a well-thought-out response if I felt strongly enough to do so), but sadly I will never learn. By now it should be clear that I am typically hard-pressed to engage in civil discussion and will often react quite defensively if called out on it. So for your sake and the sake of the other readers it would be best if you just ignored me completely. Thanks and farewell!
  • Thequestion 121 - November 10, 2011 7:48 p.m.

    Fantastic review!
  • BladedFalcon - November 11, 2011 11:01 a.m.

    You sir, deserve a prize. Sadly, most trolls will probably never read this, but still.
  • UcryinLikeaBitch - November 12, 2011 6:12 p.m.

    Add comment not Add Novel
  • dinesh-nandakumar - November 12, 2011 9:42 p.m.

    so is it better than BF3?
  • The Wrath of Cratos - November 14, 2011 1:36 a.m.

    I am a HUGE fan of the MW series so I guess I am biased for the B3 fanboys but I dont care.One of the biggest complaints against the MW games is the unrealistic and out right stupid plot.I find it rather amusing from the perspective of a person outside of the US and a Eastern European who knows a lot about the russian culture and the mind set of russian people in general.I can t wait to have the money to buy MW3 and Charlie great review and keep up the good work.
  • The Wrath of Cratos - November 14, 2011 1:52 a.m.

    Yes I know that my English is quite rusty but I didn t use it for about 5 or 6 years.

Showing 161-180 of 183 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Available Platforms: Xbox 360, Wii, PC, PS3
Genre: Shooter
Published by: Activision
Franchise: Call of Duty
ESRB Rating:
Mature: Blood and Gore, Drug Reference, Intense Violence, Strong Language

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.