Google+

Call of Duty: Black Ops super review

Back to Article

132 comments

  • Ilyere - November 9, 2010 1:54 p.m.

    I wasn't expecting a 9 from you as I was reading this. I'll give this some time and see how the multiplayer pans out before considering this.
  • lovinmyps3 - November 9, 2010 1:31 p.m.

    Bias! How much did Sony pay you?! I know it's on their system too but I'm sure they paid you to give it a 9! Really? A 9?! You might as well give it a 4! It's just cause you're English and your mad tha Price isn't in it! Biased! Seriously though, I'll probably pick this up when I have the money. I figured the campaign wouldn't be quite as good as MW2 but I just hope the multiplayer is more balanced than MW2. Good review Nathan.
  • db1331 - November 9, 2010 1:14 p.m.

    Really? You are going to gripe about how this game copied a snow level from MW2? That's like complaining about how Microsoft copied motion control party games from Sony.
  • NightCrawler_358 - November 9, 2010 1:13 p.m.

    I might get it eventually for zombies. also i think that Treyarch makes funner multiplayer maps, because i realized that the only call of duty games i play online are 3, and Waw.
  • CARDYKEV - November 9, 2010 1:11 p.m.

    Man i can't wait for something like Crysis 2 to come and blow this out of the water
  • Bloodstorm - November 9, 2010 12:54 p.m.

    Never will I buy a CoD again after MW2. All the reviews gave it extremely high scores and it turned out to be the worst game I've ever owned and the only one I've ever traded back (I like to hang onto my games). I just don't believe in any way shape or form that this game is good, and once again reviewers are reviewing on hype and adrenalin instead of the games actual merit. Tell me what you think about it in a month or two and then I will possibly believe you, but I'm sure this will eventually just be the same, unbalanced crapfest that MW2 turned out to be, and to some extent, CoD4. But, this is simply because MW2 burned me really bad. Really bad.
  • tareq - November 9, 2010 12:46 p.m.

    >SO YOU MEAN TO TELL ME THIS PRODUCT, NAY THIS MASTERPIECE OF MODERN MAN, IS ONLY THE SAME WITH NHL 2011 INSTEAD OF MASSIVELY BETTER WHICH IS ACTUALLY KIND OF HARD TO SAY CONSIDERING THEY'RE TWO COMPLETE DIFFERENT GAMES BUT HEY WHATEVER ANGER TIME AND STUFF! I lol'd so hard But yes this review is spot on
  • scatpack - November 9, 2010 12:20 p.m.

    Im getting this for sure. Ive always liked the cod games made by treyarch more then infinity ward for some reason.
  • bluscorp - November 9, 2010 12:07 p.m.

    @howetzer - Your the biggest pr!ck of them all by the looks of things for calling a person retarded.
  • bluscorp - November 9, 2010 12:03 p.m.

    @Sebastian16 @iamarobot @austinthebookworm @ampatent @garnsr @frozenimplosion Classic fanboy comments lol dont like it, dont buy it pr!ckz lol @nathenirvine - Great review Nate. Is there going to be a online marathon for Black Ops? If so, i might have to get this before Christmas.
  • SausageLozenge - November 9, 2010 12:01 p.m.

    People have already began to find exploits in the multiplayer. I think I'll stick with BC2 and Reach. @deputy Halo is a trend setter, obviously not the only one, but a trend setter none the less. Unless you live in a vacuum your going to compare games in the same genre to one another.
  • Howetzer - November 9, 2010 11:57 a.m.

    @ ninjaemperor Looks like the only good observation I read during this whole article/comments. Reveiwer...this game is not about the single player, Im not saying they should not have to deliver us a great single player game, but I think its absolute retardation to think that that's what anyone who plays this game is going to care about in a week or less...its the multiplayer stupid! I dont see how this multiplayer could be any worse than MW2 so I think you will see people liking this game much more in the end, but time will tell of course.
  • Pyrovizard - November 9, 2010 11:54 a.m.

    im not to worried about the campaign, i didn't pour 23 days into MW2's campaign, the multiplayer looks pretty balanced from the youtube videos's i've seen but then again that was the hardcore people who get it before launch day, time will tell if noobtubes and camping will ruin this game
  • ninjaemperor - November 9, 2010 11:40 a.m.

    Am i the only one that noticed nathan just broke the fuck barrier?
  • deputy326 - November 9, 2010 11:24 a.m.

    You know, I'm so damn sick and tired of everyone placing a game next to Halo..*** MSG TO ALL HALO FAN BOYS*** We all know that nothing can stand up to your "Master".. But Please, Give us all a break. If anything is overdone, been there done that or just plain stupid it is the Halo franchise. We all know that the Covenant came and messed things up and blah blah blah. GIVE IT A REST. It's a game and it will always be. There will be games that are better than Halo there will even be facebook games that are better than Halo, Plain and simple!
  • FrozenImplosion - November 9, 2010 11:15 a.m.

    @Sebastian16 More like massive bleh. Honestly, they ought to stop cranking these out so often and maybe they'd come up with more original ideas. On the up side though, the CoD players will be leaving the Halo Reach community at last :D
  • MrAnthonyDR - November 9, 2010 11:09 a.m.

    Sold! I'll be picking it up on the way home from work.
  • Daedazrael - November 9, 2010 9:40 a.m.

    Also, I forgot to ask in my first post, is that a 'The Room' reference on the second page?! If so, kudos.
  • Daedazrael - November 9, 2010 9:37 a.m.

    So which is the better Cold War themed game, Black Ops or Snake Eater? Also is that Snake looking fellow (I believe you said his name was Woods) voiced by David Hayter? If not then I believe heads must be cracked. Many, many heads.
  • Ruoivas - November 9, 2010 9:36 a.m.

    Well if anything that's less a spelling error and more a grammar error. I'm only mildly interested in this game, but that's more cause I'm poor at the moment and can't buy it immediately, so I have to tone it down D:

Showing 101-120 of 132 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: Nov 09 2010 - PC, PS3, Xbox 360, Wii, DS (US)
Nov 09 2010 - PC, PS3, Xbox 360, Wii, DS (UK)
Available Platforms: PC, PS3, Xbox 360, Wii, DS
Genre: Shooter
Published by: Activision
Developed by: n-Space, Treyarch
Franchise: Call of Duty
ESRB Rating:
Mature: Blood and Gore, Intense Violence, Language
PEGI Rating:
18+