Google+

Call of Duty: Black Ops 2 review

Excellent
Back to Article

96 comments

  • db1331 - November 13, 2012 5:38 a.m.

    "This game was reviewed on Xbox 360 at a review event" I read about the review event on another site. Wasn't it something like 3 days at a luxury resort? Do you feel like that experience had any bearing on your enjoyment of the game, or do you feel you were able to remain objective? I'm not trying to troll or be an asshole, I'm just genuinely curious.
  • Tate_Steinlage - November 13, 2012 11:28 a.m.

    I think that's a great question, but I believe professional reviewers, especially from sites like GamesRadar, are already accustomed to "nice" treatment from developers (I mean, developers aren't going to be jerks when selling a game to the masses). This type, though maybe more luxurious than what other devs/publishers would do, shouldn't surprise them and shouldn't sway their decision/outlook on a game. From playing the game for several hours now, I can see where this score is coming from and I respect that. But again, I think that's an appropriate question to ask.
  • db1331 - November 13, 2012 11:43 a.m.

    I'm sure the game IS great. I liked Treyarch's last 2 outings. I'm just wondering if the reviewer thinks he would have scored it the same if he was playing it on a normal TV at the office vs a giant 3D TV while being pampered at a luxury resort.
  • GR_SophiaTong - November 13, 2012 11:50 a.m.

    Review events are held in locations (near us in SF or elsewhere) where the publishers can set up multiplayer matches between outlets so they'll get a chance to play against each other. Reviewers are usually in a single room on your own to play through the campaign. I don't think that for any of us, playing in another location affects how we feel about the game. I also don't think most of these events are being held anywhere particularly special, usually a hotel ballroom that can host a lot of tvs/machines, and then individual rooms for single player.
  • db1331 - November 13, 2012 12:01 p.m.

    Thanks Sophia. I do hope that reviewers would be able to see through the obvious bribery and just tell it like it is. At the same time though, it doesn't even need to be said that if a site WERE to give the game a bad review, they wouldn't be invited back again the following year. It's just a sleazy practice, same as coupling pre-order bonuses with review embargoes.
  • MidianGTX - November 13, 2012 6:10 a.m.

    I usually find myself agreeing with more or less every review GamesRadar put out, but this one is just so at odds with everything else I'm reading about BLOPS 2 that I just can't bring myself to go and buy the game.
  • Viron - November 13, 2012 6:22 a.m.

    Well if Black Cops 2 is really this good it'll be a nice relief after the massive pile of garbage that was Halo 4.
  • BladedFalcon - November 13, 2012 6:41 a.m.

    Huh... Color me impressed. Still not planning to buy it though, but perhaps a rental would be in order.
  • BaraChat - November 13, 2012 7:54 a.m.

    Not entirely convinced. It will have to wait.
  • Z-man427 - November 13, 2012 8:17 a.m.

    6 hour single player? Maybe worth a rent to me.
  • larkan - November 13, 2012 8:18 a.m.

    This will actually be the first CoD game I've not purchased since the original Modern Warfare. Why? Simple, I only have 3 total hours into MW3, and I picked it up on launch day. That's saying something about how burnt out I am on arcade style FPS games that lack substance and have an abundance of cheap shot kills. Maybe I'll pick it up on a Steam sale if friends do the same, but I only had one other friend buy MW3, and we got pretty bored really quick.
  • zombi3grim - November 13, 2012 3:47 p.m.

    So you must have missed the part where this game is developed by a different team. You also must not have read the review and saw the myriad changes that have been put into place.
  • obviouslyadouche - November 13, 2012 4:40 p.m.

    The "myriad of changes" won't mean a thing when people realize what the most powerful setup is and only use that.
  • zombi3grim - November 13, 2012 8:44 p.m.

    There is no "most powerful setup." CoD has always been built around counters. There is a counter for everything. If you cant FIND the counter, your not looking hard enough. Especially when you have a pick 10 system, hardly anyone is going to use the same setup. There will be THOUSANDS of different set ups, people with all weapons, people with all perks, people with a little of both. People with just one weapon and one perk and maybe some grenades. I think your judging this game way too fast and way too harshly. Give it time and dont take it too seriously. Its just a game, have fun with it.
  • avantguardian - November 13, 2012 10:47 p.m.

    you're on a roll here grim. good shit.
  • zombi3grim - November 14, 2012 5:14 a.m.

    Im just sick of people spouting the same old tired shit about CoD being the same when Treyarch clearly went way out of their way with this one to make sure it wasnt.
  • awesomesauce - November 14, 2012 10:32 p.m.

    I feel you man. I've only liked the Treyarch COD's (I know I'm a little biased) But this one really tops the cake especially after INfinty kind of messed up MW3 (in my opinion) cause the game felt the same. But unfortantly this game is going to get a lot of hate just for the fact that COD is in the name. B
  • xx_CaPTiiN_SpAiiN_zz - November 14, 2012 1:09 a.m.

    i have to agree with your comment here because unfortunately this is bound to happen with games like cod. i personally pick wierd setups because I like to play for fun and in cool ways. not much we can do
  • MidianGTX - November 14, 2012 1:21 p.m.

    Yeah, the team that is oft accused of being the worse of the two. Also, myriad? Zombies is still a dull wave-after-wave affair and the "Pick 10" system is just a rearranging of the same thing we've seen for ages.
  • zombi3grim - November 14, 2012 1:42 p.m.

    Um, Treyarch is regarded by alot as being the BETTER of the two. People loved Black Ops and World at War. MW2 and MW3 not so much. Zombies SURVIVAL mode is still a wave affair. However, there are two additional modes, one of which is transit and that is an adventure mode where you solve puzzles and explore the world. So your wrong on that. Secondly, your not going to see an end to perks, streaks, or loadouts. Its what makes CoD CoD. But there are fresh takes on it. Your wanting to CoD to turn into something its not instead of just enjoying it for what it is.
  • avramce - November 13, 2012 9:14 a.m.

    Those that haven't jumped the gun and bought it yet, ToysRUs has a buy 2 for $90 deal going on. Good if you and a friend want to pick it up for $45 a head
  • xx_CaPTiiN_SpAiiN_zz - November 13, 2012 9:33 a.m.

    probably the best game to come out this year judging by the ones that have already came out. great graphics good story and great multiplayer lots more in it this time a round. really good game treyarch you guys restored the faith that infinity ward destroyed whhen they tried to take over your franchise with mw3. i would reccommend this game to anyone even somebody who only likes board games or rpgs. thanks for reading

Showing 21-40 of 96 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: Nov 13 2012 - Xbox 360, PS3, PC
Nov 18 2012 - Wii U (US)
Available Platforms: Xbox 360, PS3, PC, Wii U
Genre: Shooter
Published by: Activision
Developed by: Treyarch
Franchise: Call of Duty
ESRB Rating:
Mature: Blood and Gore, Intense Violence, Strong Language, Suggestive Themes, Use of Drugs

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.